0

The first stone building on the place where the Laval’s house stands now was built in the 1720s

The first stone building on the place where the Laval’s house stands now, belonged to Alexander Menshikov, the first governor of St. Petersburg and was built in the 1720s. After Menshikov fell into disgrace, the house became the property of the vice-chancellor A.I. Osterman, and in the end of the XVIII century to the G.A. Stroganov. The house was rebuilt by the architect A. Voronikhin for G.A. Stroganov. Voronikhin was the first Russian architect who started to use lion statues in his compositions. As decorations there are two laying lions near the main entrance, nicknamed "philosophers" for the peaceful expression of their snouts. Countess A.G. Laval bought the house in 1800. The house was rebuilt again by architect J. Thomas de Thomon in the Empire style for her. 
In former times Laval’s house was one of the most popular literary and musical salons. Interiors in Laval's house were decorated like in a museum where were collected unique antique sculptures, Etruscan vases, Egyptian rarities and paintings. All this luxury has attracted a huge number of guests. Among them were famous artists and writers, diplomats and musicians. Laval's daughter became the wife of Prince Trubetskoy and she was among wives of the Decembrists, who went to Siberia with their husbands. 
 
Laval’s house was very popular in St. Petersburg in 1820s. Countess Laval’s literary salon visited such famous people as Alexander Pushkin, Ivan Krylov, Vasily Zhukovsky, Mikhail Lermontov. On February 16, 1840 at Laval’s ball Mikhail Lermontov quarreled with Ernest de Barant, the quarrel ended with the duel and the expulsion of the poet from St. Petersburg.
 
There is no museum in Laval’s house. Sometimes various travel companies organize excursions to Laval’s house.

«Lions guard the city» route

Many statues of lions have become part of urban traditions. Try your luck, make a wish touching you like most.

3 h
  • Address: House of Laval on Angliyskaya Embarkment
  • Working time: Round table
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Дом Лавалей на Английской набережной

0

Первая каменная постройка на месте, где сейчас стоит дом, получивший название Дома Лавалей, была построена ещё в 1720-х годах

Первая каменная постройка на месте, где сейчас стоит дом, получивший название Дома Лавалей, по имени владельцев, придавших ему современный вид, принадлежала А. Д. Меншикову, первому губернатору Петербурга и была построена ещё в 1720-х годах. После того, как Меншиков попал в опалу, дом перешел во владение вице-канцлеру А. И. Остерману, а в конце XVIII века Г. А. Строганову. Для Строганова дом был перестроен архитектором А. Н. Воронихиным. Воронихин первым из русских зодчих и архитекторов включил в свои композиции львиные статуи. В 1800 году дом купила графиня А. Г. Лаваль. Украшением главного входа в дом стали фигуры лежащих львов, которых прозвали «философами» за умиротворенное выражение морды. Для нее дом перестраивался еще раз архитектором Ж. Тома де Томоном в стиле ампир. Таким мы и видим его сегодня.
 
В прежние времена Дом Лавалей был один из самых популярных литературных и музыкальных салонов. Свой дом Лавали превратили в подобие музея – там были собраны уникальные античные скульптуры, этрусские вазы, египетские редкости и картины. Вся эта роскошь привлекала огромное число гостей. Среди них были знаменитые художники и писатели, дипломаты и музыканты.
 
Дом Лавалей вошел в летопись культурной и общественной жизни Петербурга 1820-х годов. В литературном салоне графини Лаваль бывали А. С. Пушкин, И. А. Крылов, В. А. Жуковский, М. Ю. Лермонтов. 16 февраля 1840 года на балу у Лавалей возникла ссора М. Ю. Лермонтова с Э. Барантом, закончившаяся дуэлью и высылкой поэта из Петербурга.
 
Дочь Лавалей стала женой князя Трубецкого и была среди жен декабристов, которые последовали в Сибирь за своим супругом. 
 
В доме Лавалей музея нет. Иногда в дом Лавалей организуют экскурсии различные туристические фирмы.
 

Львы стерегут город

Попытайте счастье, загадав желание, прикоснувшись к понравившемуся Вам льву

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Английская набережная, 4
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: Выходной
    Закрыт для публичного посещения.
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще