It’s a unique icon of Mother of God which was miraculously found in Kazan after destroying fire
The icon recovered in pristine state after the great destroying fire in Kazan in 1579. The Virgin appeared to a 9-year-old girl, Matrona (she later became the nun of Kazan Virgin Monastery in Kazan), revealing the location where the icon lay hidden. She ordered the girl to dig the icon out of ashes. Later, at that very place appeared in a dream the girl found the icon, buried at the depth of one meter under a destroyed house.
In the XVII century the icon belonged to Paraskovya Fyodorovna (Tsar Ioann V Alexeevich’s widow). In 1713 the icon was brought from Moscow to Saint Petersburg by Peter the Great. Since 1738 the icon was located at the Church of the Nativity of the Mother of God on Nevsky Prospect; since 1811 was displayed in iconostasis in Kazan Cathedral, which was built on the site of the former church. At the beginning of the XX century the iconostasis was destroyed and the icon was first transported to the Church of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God. Subsequently, during the Siege of Leningrad the icon was displayed at the St. Vladimir’s Cathedral.
In July 2002 the icon was solemnly transferred to Kazan Cathedral in Saint Petersburg and displayed in its historical place in the recreated iconostasis. The Mother of God bends her head to the baby Jesus. The Christ child is painted face forward, at half length. We can only see his right hand with a blessing two-fingered sign.
Icon ‘Our Lady of Kazan’ appears to be one of the most venerated and painted icons in Russia. It is currently one of the most independent iconographic types of the Mother-of-God icons in Russia.