0

The Pill Tower is one of the poetic pavilions of the park in the pastoral and romantic style.

The Pill Tower is one of the poetic pavilions of the park in the pastoral and romantic style. Resembling the sawmill, the pavilion was a fashion statement of the time and served as a short rest place during a long walk in the park.

It was constructed by Vincenzo Brenna in 1797, on the bank of the Slavyanka river, so it shows impressively from various viewpoints. The Pill Tower is a round structure with a conical thatched roof. Its walls were painted by Pietro Gonzaga, creating an illusion of a ruined building. On one side of the tower, a rickety staircase led to the second floor.

A wooden bridge with a decorative water mill is located at the foot of the tower. The noise of the mill wheel and the water splashes complemented this rural idyll. A small summer bathhouse was located nearby as well. It is by no coincidence that the landscapes with the Pill tower were the favorite themes of the 18th-century artists.

The refined elegance of the interior of the second floor was in stark contrast with the squalid but picturesque exterior: a marble fireplace opposite to the entrance, the semi-circular sofas with painted silk upholstery standing along the walls, complete with the picturesque paintings of gallant scenes on the walls.

In 1808, Andrey Voronikhin replaced the water mill with a new Pill Tower bridge with its beautiful gentle arch over the water and cast-iron railings.

During World War II, the bridge was blown up, and the pavilion building sustained heavy damage. They were restored in the 1960-1970s.

2

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Поэтичный павильон парка в пасторально-романтическом вкусе

Пиль-башня – один из поэтичных павильонов парка в пасторально-романтическом вкусе. Внешне похожий на «пильную мельницу», павильон являлся данью моде своего времени и служил местом кратковременного отдыха во время дальней прогулки по парку.

Построенный на берегу Славянки по проекту В. Бренны в 1797 г., павильон эффектно открывается с различных видовых точек. Пиль-башня – круглая постройка с конусообразной крышей, крытой соломой. Стены ее были расписаны П. Гонзаго, создавая иллюзию полуразрушенной постройки. С одной стороны башни шаткая лестница вела на второй этаж.

У подножия башни находится деревянный мост с декоративной водяной мельницей. Шум мельничных колес и плеск воды дополняли эту сельскую идиллию. Неподалеку находилась и небольшая летняя купальня. Неслучайно, именно пейзажи с Пиль-башней были любимыми сюжетами художников XVIII в.

Контрастом с убогим, но живописным внешним видом, внутреннее убранство салона второго этажа отличалось изысканной нарядностью. Против входа – мраморный камин, вдоль стен – полукруглые диваны, обитые расписным шелком, сочетавшимся с живописными росписями на галантные сюжеты.

В 1808 г. вместо разобранной водяной мельницы А.Н. Воронихин построил новый Пильбашенный мост с красивой пологой аркой над водой и чугунными перилами.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны мост был взорван, здание павильона сильно повреждено. Они были отреставрированы в 1960-70-х гг.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, г. Павловск, Садовая ул., 20
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 452-15-36
  • Факс: +7 (812) 465-11-04
  • Сайт: www.pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Email: palace@pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 21:00
    http://www.pavlovskmuseum.ru/visitors/mode/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще