0

The Aviary is located near the Triple Lime Alley, not far from the Grand Palace.

An elegant park pavilion in the classical style, it was designed by Charles Cameron and constructed in 1782-1784. Its Russian name derives from French Volière, meaning aviary, and initially, this pavilion was designed as an aviary for songbirds: a fashion of the 18th century. To get more of the sunlight in the pavilion, its main facade faces south so the Aviary was constructed at a certain angle in relation to the Triple Lime Alley.

The Aviary comprises three architectural volumes: a central hall and two side rooms, which are united by open galleries with pairs of Doric columns and grillage stretched between them. Grillage was covered by climbing ivy and wild grapes.

One of the galleries was used for entertainment, dances, lunches and dinners, and the other was used as a huge birdcage. By the late 18th century, nightingales, robins, siskins and goldfinches, however, forest birds did not survive in the Aviary and the pavilion became just a pleasant resting place.

Southern and northern facades of the central square hall are decorated by arched two-column porticos and pediments as well as symmetrical stucco rosettes on the walls. A low domed drum rises above. There are four arched windows at the perimeter of the drum, lighting up the room. The hall is separated from the galleries by two Doric columns with the entablature. It was used as a lounge, to where one could retreat from the summer heat, whilst enjoying the fresh air and admiring the flower beds.

It was the Aviary for which Andrey Voronikhin designed the furniture in the early 19th century: sofas and armchairs that were preserved in the Museum fund. In 1807, Voronikhin partially refurbished the side rooms, filling them with the collections of antiques brought by the owners of Pavlovsk from their foreign travel of 1782: marble ash containers, small bronze sculptures, glass and ceramics items.

The Aviary is the center of the regular park Aviary area located around the Aviary pavilion in the Palace area of the Pavlovsk park. A garden games area was created around the pavilion by Cameron during the construction of the Aviary. Two floral orangeries with a garden in between originally were adjacent to the southern side of the Aviary. A clipped shrubbery Maze with a network of green corridors was created in the eastern part for the entertainment of court society. A star-shaped bosquet with swings and skittles was created behind the Maze, ending with a covered trellis gallery. The Aviary area was separated from the Triple Lime Alley by a long bosquet shaped in the form of green arcades. The arcades were cut in the lime trellises. Initially, these alleys held the ancient ash containers. In parallel with them, floral parterres were installed, decorated with marble busts of ancient philosophers and generals.

In 1793, Vincenzo Brenna constructed a wooden Theater in the place of the garden games area.

In the mid-18th century, a shaped pond was dug at the southern facade of the Aviary, replacing the orangeries. A marble statue of bathing Venus was installed at the center and flowering shrubs were planted at its banks, creating a poetic corner in the park.

In the 19th century the dilapidated Theater was demolished and in 1856 the former Cameron garden games area was turned into a gymnastics area with a high pole surrounded by a net. It was the favorite place for sports games for all Pavlovsk children.

In 1914, a Monument to Empress Maria Feodorovna was installed in the Aviary area, in the place where the theater once stood, replaced by the gymnastics area. During the Nazi occupation, the Aviary was somewhat damaged but survived. The Monument to Empress Maria Feodorovna remained in its place and the Wehrmacht officer cemetery was made in front of it.

After the World War II, the Aviary area was recreated using old designs: a bosquet with clipped lime trees, an alley with floral parterres, a green Maze, and the pond with its layout and greenery. In 2005, after the German military officers were exhumed, the area layout around the Monument to Empress Maria Feodorovna was recreated according to the design documents of the 18th century by decorator Henri François Gabriel Viollier.

2

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Павильон «Вольер» и Вольерный участок

0

Павильон, расположенный недалеко от Большого дворца у Тройной липовой аллеи

Вольер – расположен недалеко от Большого дворца у Тройной липовой аллеи. Он был построен по проекту Ч. Камерона в 1782-1784 годах и представляет собой изящный парковый павильон в классическом стиле. В переводе с французского Вольер означает Птичник и первоначально павильон строился как помещение для певчих птиц, что являлось модной тенденцией XVIII века. Для того, чтобы в павильоне было больше солнца, его главный фасад обращен к югу, и таким образом Вольер поставлен несколько под углом по отношению к Тройной липовой аллее.

Вольер состоит из трех архитектурных объемов: центрального зала и двух боковых кабинетов, которые объединены открытыми галереями с парами дорических колонн, между которыми были натянуты металлические сетки. По сеткам вились зеленые насаждения: плющ, дикий виноград.

Одна из галерей использовалась для развлечений, танцев, обедов и ужинов, другая – служила большой клеткой для птиц. В конце XVIII века здесь содержались соловьи, малиновки, чижи и щеглы, однако лесные птицы не приживались в Вольере, и павильон стал приятным местом отдыха.

Центральный квадратный зал с южного и северного фасада украшен арочными двухколонными портиками и фронтоном, а также симметрично расположенными лепными розетками на стенах. Над ним возвышается невысокий барабан с куполом. По периметру барабана расположены четыре арочных окна, которые освещают помещение. От галерей зал отделен двумя дорическими колоннами с антаблементом. Это был зал для отдыха, где, спасаясь от летнего зноя, можно было наслаждаться свежим воздухом и любоваться цветниками.

Именно для Вольера А.Н. Воронихин спроектировал в начале XIX века мебельное убранство: диваны и кресла, которые сохранились в коллекции музея. В 1807 году Воронихин частично переделывает кабинеты и в них размещаются коллекции античных предметов, которые были привезены хозяевами Павловска еще из заграничного путешествия 1782 года: мраморные пеплохранильницы, мелкая бронзовая пластика, предметы из керамики и стекла.

Вольер является центром регулярного паркового Вольерного участка, расположенного вокруг павильона Вольер в придворцовой части Павловского парка. При строительстве Вольера Камероном был создан вокруг павильона «сад с играми». К южной стороне Вольера первоначально примыкали две цветочные оранжереи с садиком между ними. В восточной части был сооружен Лабиринт из стриженого кустарника с сетью зеленых коридоров для развлечения придворного общества. За Лабиринтом размещался Боскет звездообразной планировки с качелями и кеглями, который замыкался трельяжной крытой галерей. От Тройной липовой аллеи Вольерный участок отделялся длинным боскетом в виде зеленых аркад. Аркады были выстрижены в липовых шпалерах. В этих аллеях первоначально размещались античные пеплохранильницы. Параллельно были устроены цветочные партеры с мраморными бюстами античных философов и полководцев.

В 1793 году В. Бренна на месте сада с играми построил деревянный Театр.

В середине XIX века с южного фасада Вольера вместо оранжерей был вырыт фигурный пруд и в центре пруда установлена мраморная статуя Венеры-купальщицы, Берега пруда обсадили цветущими кустарниками, создав поэтичный уголок парка.

В XIX веке за ветхостью был разобран и Театр, на месте бывшего камероновского «сада с играми» в 1856 году была устроена гимнастическая площадка с высокой мачтой, вокруг которой была натянута сетка, это было любимое место спортивных игр для всех детей Павловска.

В 1914 году на Вольерном участке, на месте, где когда-то находился театр, а позднее размещалась гимнастическая площадка, был установлен Памятник императрице Марии Федоровне. В годы фашистской оккупации Вольер сохранился в несколько поврежденном состоянии, на своем месте остался и памятник Марии Федоровне, перед которым было устроено кладбище офицеров вермахта.

После Великой Отечественной войны Вольерный участок был воссоздан заново по старым чертежам: боскет со стрижеными липами, аллея с цветочными партерами, зеленый Лабиринт, планировка и посадки вокруг пруда. В 2005 году после эксгумации останков немецких офицеров, воссоздана планировка участка около Памятника Марии Федоровны в соответствии с планировочными проектами XVIII века декоратора Ф.-Г. Виолье.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, г. Павловск, Садовая ул., 20
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 452-15-36
  • Факс: +7 (812) 465-11-04
  • Сайт: www.pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Email: palace@pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 21:00
    http://www.pavlovskmuseum.ru/visitors/mode/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #