The Paul's Mausoleum

0

The Paul's Mausoleum (original name Temple of Paul I or Monument to Paul I) was constructed in the New Sylvia park area.

New Sylvia park area, being an architectural dominant of this area.

Wishing to memorialize her lamented husband, the Dowager Empress Maria Feodorovna decided to construct an architectural monument in his honor. A competition for the best project was launched and the French expatriate Thomas de Thomon has won.

The construction lasted from 1806 to 1810. The building was designed like an ancient Roman prostyle temple. The majestic sandstone building stands atop the granite podium with wide steps. Its four-columned portico supports the pediment with the inscription “To the Benevolent Husband” on the front side and “To Paul I, Emperor and Autocrat of All the Russias. Born on September 20, 1754. Deceased on March 11, 1801” on the back side. Weeping masks are depicted in the frieze.

Tall fir trees were planted around the Mausoleum, further emphasizing the mournful nature of the building. The central facade of the Mausoleum standing over the ravine is clearly visible from the central path of the New Sylvia, but it can only be approached along a narrow path, passing the cast iron mournful gates and going around the Mausoleum, thus experiencing the entire monument.

The emotional impact the Mausoleum has on a visitor is most clearly reflected by Vasily Zhukovsky in his elegy “Slavianka”.

The temple interior is opened through the lattice door gates. A marble cenotaph is installed near the wall opposite to the entrance; it is decorated by the relief depicting the orphaned and mourning family of Paul I; the figure of the kneeling mourner in a crown is depicted at the pedestal, personifying grief-stricken Maria Feodorovna, reaching to the funeral urn. Behind the monument, there is a granite pyramid crowned by the marble medallion with the portrait of Paul I. The memorial was sculpted by Ivan Martos in 1809.

1

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Мавзолей «Супругу-благодетелю»

0

Мавзолей Павла (первоначальное название Храм Павла I или Памятник Павлу I) был сооружен по проекту Ж. Тома де Томона в парковом районе Новой Сильвии и является архитектурной доминантой района

Желая увековечить память о незабвенном своем супруге, вдовствующая императрица Мария Федоровна решила установить ему архитектурный монумент. Был объявлен конкурс на лучший проект, и победителем стал выходец из Франции Тома де Томон.

Строительство велось с 1806 по 1810 год. Здание построено в виде древнеримского храма-простиля. Величественное здание из песчаника высится на гранитном подиуме с широкими ступенями, четырехколонный портик поддерживает фронтон с надписью: «Супругу благодетелю», на противоположной стороне – слова: «Павлу I-му Императору и Самодержцу Всероссийскому. Родившемуся сентября 20-го дня 1754 года. Скончавшемуся марта 11-го дня 1801 года». Во фризе изображены плачущие маски.

Вокруг Мавзолея были посажены высокие ели, что еще более подчеркнуло траурный характер сооружения. Центральный фасад Мавзолея, поставленного над оврагом, хорошо виден с центральной дорожки Новой Сильвии, но подойти к нему можно лишь по узкой дорожке, пройдя через траурные чугунные ворота, и обогнув Мавзолей, и таким образом полностью обозрев памятник.

Эмоциональное воздействие Мавзолея на зрителя наиболее ярко отразил В.А.Жуковский в элегии «Славянка».

Через решетчатые двери-ворота открывается интерьер храма. У стены против входа располагается мраморный кенотаф: высокий пьедестал, украшенный рельефом с изображением осиротевшего и скорбящего семейства Павла I, на пьедестале коленопреклоненная плакальщица в короне – олицетворение склонившейся в скорби к урне Марии Федоровны. Монумент находится на фоне гранитной пирамиды, украшенном мраморным медальоном с портретом Павла I. Мемориальный памятник выполнен И.П. Мартосом в 1809 г.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, г. Павловск, Садовая ул., 20
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 452-15-36
  • Факс: +7 (812) 465-11-04
  • Сайт: www.pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Email: palace@pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 21:00
    http://www.pavlovskmuseum.ru/visitors/mode/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще