The Apollo Colonnade

0

The Apollo Colonnade is one of the masterpieces of park architecture of the late 18th century.

The Apollo Colonnade is one of the masterpieces of park architecture of the late 18th century. It was constructed by Charles Cameron in 1782, on the meadow of the upper plateau on the left bank of the Slavyanka river.

The colonnade was designed in the shape of the double ring of Doric columns covered by the architrave. The powerful architectural forms and gray limestone served as the material for the construction communicate the nature of genuine antiquity to it. The majestic outdoor colonnade temple full of light and air is dedicated to Apollo, a patron of sorts for Pavlovsk.

The image of the original Colonnade can be seen in the painted porcelain table in Maria Feodorovna's Boudoir.

When traveling abroad, in 1782 she wrote to Karl Küchelbecker, Pavlovsk major-domo, from Italy: “Pavlovsk Colonnade and Temple are more precious to me than all the beauties of Italy”.

In 1800, at the request of the Empress, the Apollo Colonnade was moved to the bank of the Slavyanka river, opposite to the Palace. Giacomo Quarenghi designed a cascade directed from the Colonnade to the Slavyanka river, going down over the stone slopes and violently foaming under the stone humpback bridge just at the entrance to the river. According to the ancient myth, the Colonnade was supposed to embody Mount Parnassus, where Apollo and the Muses dwelt, with the cascade embodying Castalian Spring, the source of the inspiration. Such images of the Colonnade can be seen at the Andrey Martynov's painting Raspberry Study as well as at the early 19th-century watercolors and engravings by Sylvester Shchedrin, Giacomo Quarenghi, Ivan Chesky, Andrey Ukhtomsky.

However, in 1817, during the heavy thunderstorm, the Colonnade base over the cascade was washed away, collapsing some columns and a part of the entablature. It was decided not to reconstruct the collapsed parts of the Colonnade, as nature itself has created the picturesque ruins there, thus imparting the romantic spirit to the landscape. French poet Jean Pierre Émile Dupré de Saint-Maure, after visiting Pavlovsk in 1823, wrote a poem dedicated to the Pavlovsk gardens, giving a special place to the Apollo Colonnade.

When the Apollo Colonnade was constructed, a bronze statue of Apollo Belvedere was installed at its center; later it was moved to the central circle of the Old Sylvia. A plaster copy was installed in the Colonnade, according to a rare water-color of the early 1820s. In 1826, a cast iron copy of Apollo Belvedere was made and installed in the Colonnade. Traditionally, it was painted white.

3

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Колоннада Аполлона – один из шедевров парковой архитектуры конца XVIII века

Сооружена Ч. Камероном в 1782 году на лугу верхнего плато левого берега р. Славянки.

Колоннада решена в виде двойного кольца колонн дорического ордера, перекрытых архитравом. Мощные формы архитектуры и серый цвет известняка, из которого выполнено сооружение, придают ему характер подлинной античности. Величественный, открытый храм-колоннада, полный света и воздуха, посвящен Аполлону, своеобразному покровителю Павловска.

Первоначальное изображение Колоннады можно видеть в росписи фарфорового стола в Будуаре Марии Федоровны.

Находясь в заграничном путешествии, хозяйка Павловска писала управляющему К.И. Кюхельбекеру из Италии в 1782 году: «Колоннада и Храм в Павловске мне дороже всех красот Италии».

В 1800 году по желанию императрицы Колоннада Аполлона была перенесена на берег Славянки против дворца. По проекту Д. Кваренги от Колоннады к Славянке был устроен каскад, который спускался по каменным уступам к реке и перед впадением в нее бурно пенился под горбатым каменным мостиком. В соответствии с античным мифом Колоннада должна была олицетворять гору Парнас, где обитал Аполлон и музы, а каскад – Кастальский ключ - источник вдохновения. Такие изображения Колоннады можно видеть на картине А. Мартынова (Малиновый кабинет), а также на акварелях и гравюрах начала XIX века С. Щедрина, Д. Кваренги, И. Чесского, И. Ухтомского.

Однако в 1817 году во время сильной грозы основание Колоннады над каскадом было подмыто, и несколько колонн и часть антаблемента рухнули. Было решено не трогать обрушившиеся детали Колоннады, поскольку природа как бы сама создала вид живописной руины, что придало этому пейзажу романтический характер. Французский поэт Эмиль Дюпре де Сен-Мор, побывав в Павловске, написал в 1823 году поэму, посвященную Павловским садам, где особое место уделено Колоннаде Аполлона.

При постройке Колоннады Аполлона в центре ее была установлена бронзовая статуя Аполлона Бельведерского, которая затем была перенесена на центральный круг Старой Сильвии. В Колоннаде была установлена гипсовая копия, что можно видеть на одной редкой акварели начала 1820-х годов. В 1826 году была отлита чугунная копия Аполлона Бельведерского и установлена в Колоннаде. По традиции эту чугунную статую окрашивали в белый цвет.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, г. Павловск, Садовая ул., 20
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 452-15-36
  • Факс: +7 (812) 465-11-04
  • Сайт: www.pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Email: palace@pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 21:00
    http://www.pavlovskmuseum.ru/visitors/mode/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #