The Lands End Column

0

The Lands End Column is the monument of park architecture of the late 18th century.

The Lands End Column is the monument of park architecture of the late 18th century. In 1784, a marble column designed by Charles Cameron was installed on the axis of the Triple Lime Alley at its exit to the grounds, and the entire place became known as the column square. A few years later, cast iron gates were installed, completing the design of the square. The depiction of this place can be seen on the old fan from the Museum fund.

However, such layout did not last long. At the turn of 1799/1800, architect Vincenzo Brenna creates the layout of a new Park area: the New Silvia, located on the right bank of the Slavyanka river. Brenna moved the column from the Triple Lime Alley on one of the sites near the coastal slope. This Ionic column of pink Olonets marble was named the Lands End. The name was symbolic in the spirit of the time: a reminder that Pavlovsk park ended there. The column is well-preserved and still remains at its historical place in the New Sylvia.

In 2016, major restoration works were performed, reinforcing the hill and the column itself; marble surface of the column was cleaned, lost rectangular red marble panels were replaced in the column base, and a sphere was mounted at the top of the column. The coastal landscape was expanded, allowing one to observe the column from the Pill Tower pavilion.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Памятник парковой архитектуры конца XVIII в.

Колонна «Конец света» – памятник парковой архитектуры конца XVIII века. В 1784 году по оси Тройной липовой аллеи при выходе ее на площадку была установлена по проекту Ч. Камерона мраморная колонна, а все место стали называть площадью колонны. Еще через несколько лет здесь появились чугунные ворота, которые завершили оформление площади. Изображение этого места можно увидеть на росписи старинного веера из собрания музея.

Однако такая планировка сохранялась недолго. На рубеже 1799-1800 годов архитектор В. Бренна создает планировку нового паркового района – Новой Сильвии в правобережной части реки Славянки. На одной из площадок у берегового склона Бренна устанавливает колонну, перенесенную от Тройной липовой аллеи. Эта колонна ионического ордера из розового олонецкого мрамора получила название «Конец света». Название в духе времени было символичным напоминанием, что здесь заканчивался Павловский парк. Колонна хорошо сохранилась и до сих пор находится на своем историческом месте в Новой Сильвии.

В 2016 г. были проведены большие реставрационные работы по укреплению холма и самой колонный: рассчищен мрамор колонны, восполнены утраченные прямоугольные вставки из красного мрамора в пьедестале колонны, установлен шар наверху колонны. Расширен береговой ландшафт, что позволяет хорошо обозревать колонну от павильона Пиль-башня.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, г. Павловск, Садовая ул., 20
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 452-15-36
  • Факс: +7 (812) 465-11-04
  • Сайт: www.pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Email: palace@pavlovskmuseum.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 21:00
    http://www.pavlovskmuseum.ru/visitors/mode/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #