0

A street near Chernysheskaya metro station, that runs along the Tavrichesky Garden from Kirochnaya Street to Voskresenskaya Embankment

The street appeared on the maps at the end of the XVIII century. It recieved its modern name in honor of Prince G.A. Potyomkin, a favorite of Catherine II and a famous statesman of the Catherine era.

Potemkinskaya Street connects Kirochnaya Street and Shpalernaya Street along the western border of the Tavrichesky Garden. At that time it was the outskirts of the city, where the barracks of the Cavalier Guard regiment were located. By the middle of the XIX century, luxury mansions and well-furnished tenement houses with elegant architecture had appeared in this area of the city. At the end of the XIX and beginning of the XX centuries these changes also affected Potyomkinskaya Street

In 1905, on the corner with Zakharyevskaya Street, Prussian citizen Karl Augustovich Schreiber purchased a plot of land, and architect V.I. Van der Gucht designed for him a house fusing different styles (eclecticism), the facade is decorated with caryatids, atlantes, flower garlands, vases and a sculptural composition depicting the Three Graces. One of the corners of the roof is crowned with an ornamental tower with bay windows. There were twenty richly furnished apartments in the building, that were rented to the high-ranked officers of the Cavalier Guard regiment. In Soviet times, spacious apartments were turned into communal apartments, the historical appearance of the building was lost. In the 2000s, the building underwent restoration works and in 2012 the scaffolding was removed from the facade.

Nowadays, K. A. Schreiber’s tenement building, located at Potemkinskaya Street, 3, along with the Tauride Garden and the Cavalier Guard Regiment’s manege, attracts tourists and residents of St. Petersburg.

The Red Route. February 1917

Along the streets of revolutionary Petrograd in 23 February - 3 March of 1917. Based on the contemporaries' memoirs

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, Potyomkinskaya ulitsa
  • Working time: Round table
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Улица вблизи метро «Чернышеская», идущая вдоль Таврического сада от Кирочной улицы до Воскресенской набережной

Появившись на картах в конце XVIII века, Потёмкинская улица называлась сначала Артиллерийской Поперечной, а затем Таврической. Своё современное название получила в честь князя Г.А. Потёмкина, фаворита Екатерины II и знаменитого государственного деятеля Екатерининской эпохи.

Потёмкинская улица соединяла Кирочную и Шпалерную вдоль западной границы Таврического сада. В то время это была окраина города, где находились постройки военного городка, в котором размещался Кавалергардский полк. Но уже к середине XIX века в этом районе города появились богатые особняки и хорошо обставленные доходные дома элегантной архитектуры, а в конце XIX - начале XX века эти изменения коснулись и Потёмкинской улицы.

Так, на углу с Захарьевской в 1905 году прусский подданный Карл Августович Шрейбер приобрел участок со всеми постройками, а архитектор В.И. Ван-дер-Гюхт спроектировал дом с использований разных стилей (эклектика), фасад был украшен кариатидами, атлантами, цветочными гирляндами и вазами, а угол увенчивал эркер-башня с фигурами трех граций. Внутри размещались респектабельные интерьеры двадцати квартир, которые сдавались высшим офицерским чинам Кавалергардского полка. В советское время просторные апартаменты превратили в коммунальные квартиры, исторический вид здания был утрачен. В 2000-е годы проводились работы по восстановлению, а в 2012 году с дома сняли леса.

В настоящее время доходный дом К. А. Шрейбера, расположенный по адресу Потёмкинская, 3, наряду с Таврическим садом и манежем Кавалергардского полка привлекает туристов и жителей Петербурга. 

Красный маршрут. В феврале 1917

Маршрут по улицам революционного Петрограда с 23 февраля по 3 марта 1917 на основе воспоминаний современников

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Потёмкинская улица
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #