0

The great ruler who became the autocratic prince of all Russia Saint Alexander was born on May 30th, 1220 in the city of Pereslavl-Zalessky. From an early age, Saint Alexander accompanied his father on war campaigns. In 1236, Yaroslav, leaving for Kiev, «planted» his son, Saint Alexander, to reign in Novgorod on his own.

The most difficult time in the history of Russia began: Mongol hordes marched from the east, German knights were advancing from the west. At this terrible hour, Archbishop Spiridon blessed the holy prince and his army for battle. And there was a wonderful omen: the warrior Pelguy (in Holy Baptism Philip), who was standing in the sea, saw at dawn a boat sailing on the sea, and on it the holy martyrs Boris and Gleb. And Boris said: «Brother Gleb, lead us to row, so let us help our relative Alexander». When Pelguy reported the vision to the prince who had arrived, Saint Alexander commanded not to tell anyone about the miracle, and with prayer he led an army against the Swedes. On July 15th, 1240, it won a victory, for which the people named Saint Alexander - Nevsky.

In 1241, with a lightning march, Saint Alexander returned the ancient Russian fortress of Koporye, expelling the knights. In 1242, Alexander liberated Pskov, and in the spring of 1242 he gave a decisive battle to the Teutonic Order. By his prayer, the crusaders were completely defeated.

In 1252, many Russian cities rebelled against the Tatar yoke. The very existence of Russia was threatened again. Saint Alexander had to go to the Horde again in order to ward off the punitive invasion of the Tatars from the Russian lands. Saint Alexander became the autocratic Grand Prince of all Rus: Vladimir, Kiev and Novgorod.

In 1261, through the efforts of Saint Alexander, a diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church was established in the capital of the Golden Horde. The era of the great Christianization of the pagan East has come.

On the way back from the Horde, on November 14th 1263, Saint Alexander, before reaching Vladimir, died, in Gorodets, in the Feodorovsky Monastery, completing his arduous life by accepting the schema with the name Alexy.

  • Address: St. Petersburg, nab. reki Monastyrki, 1, The Holy Trinity Cathedral of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 577-12-25, +7(812) 274-17-02
  • Site: lavra.spb.ru
  • Email: kanzlei@lavra.spb.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 06:00 - 20:00
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Великий правитель, ставший единовластным князем всей Руси

Святой Александр родился 30 мая 1220 года в г. Переславле-Залесском. С ранних лет святой Александр сопровождал в походах отца. В 1236 году Ярослав, уезжая в Киев, «посадил» своего сына, святого Александра, самостоятельно княжить в Новгороде.

Начиналось самое трудное время в истории Руси: с востока шли монгольские орды, с запада надвигались германские рыцари. В этот грозный час архиепископ Спиридон благословил святого князя и воинство его на битву. И было чудное предзнаменование: стоявший в морском дозоре воин Пелгуй (в святом Крещении Филипп) видел на рассвете ладью, плывущую по морю, и на ней святых мучеников Бориса и Глеба. И сказал Борис: «Брат Глеб, вели грести, да поможем сроднику своему Александру». Когда Пелгуй сообщил о видении прибывшему князю, святой Александр повелел никому не говорить о чуде, и с молитвою повел войско на шведов. 15 июля 1240 года оно одержало победу, за которую народ назвал святого Александра — Невским.

В 1241 году молниеносным походом святой Александр вернул древнюю русскую крепость Копорье, изгнав рыцарей. В 1242 Александр освободил Псков, а весной 1242 года дал Тевтонскому ордену решительное сражение. По его молитве крестоносцы были полностью разгромлены.

В 1252 году многие русские города восстали против татарского ига. Снова возникла угроза самому существованию Руси. Святому Александру пришлось снова ехать в Орду, чтобы отвести от русских земель карательное нашествие татар. Святой Александр стал единовластным великим князем всей Руси: Владимирским, Киевским и Новгородским.

В 1261 году стараниями святого Александра была учреждена в столице Золотой Орды епархия Русской Православной Церкви. Наступила эпоха великой христианизации языческого Востока.

На обратном пути из Орды, 14 ноября 1263 года, святой Александр, не доезжая до Владимира, в Городце, в Феодоровском монастыре умер, завершив многотрудный жизненный путь принятием схимы с именем Алексий.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, наб.р. Монастырки, д.1 Троицкий собор Александро-Невской Лавры
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 277-58-54
  • Факс: +7 (812) 274-04-09
  • Сайт: lavra.spb.ru
  • Email: office@lavra.spb.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 06:00 - 20:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #