Kazan church of the Novodevichy Convent

0

It is the first Orthodox Convent in St. Petersburg

The Kazan church was built by the architect Vasily Antonovich Kosyakov. Its grandeur resembles the Hagia Sophia in Constantinople. V. A. Kosyakov tried to create a church that would reflect the centuries-old history of Christianity, combining the Byzantine and Russian cultures.

The construction took three years and was completed in 1910. The walls of the church were faced with dark green marble, and the painting was made in the Old Russian style using the motifs of the frescoes of the Saint Therapontus Monastery. Due to the deterioration of the economic situation at the beginning of the First World War, the church remained closed and unconsecrated.

After most of the conventual buildings were transferred to the Institute of electrical engineering in the 1960s, the Church of Our Lady of Kazan was used as a mechanical workshop for several decades. In 1992, the premises of the Kazan church were transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. The first liturgy was celebrated on 15 March, on the day of the Feast of Orthodoxy.

The five-domed Kazan church is faced with light bricks. The drums of the domes are decorated with ornaments and majolica. The sculptural decoration of the facades and interior decor of the temple contains: symbolic drawings of the Evangelists, an ornament with a grape-vine and palm branches, drawings of birds in the form of a dove, peacocks and pheasants. The church is decorated with three carved wooden gilded iconostases. The Kazan church has three chapels: the central one - in the name of the Our Lady of Kazan, the left chapel - in the name of the Icon of the Mother of God, and the right chapel – in the name of St. Seraphim of Sarov.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Казанский храм Новодевичьего монастыря

0

Православный женский монастырь, первая женская обитель Санкт-Петербурга

Казанский храм был построен по проекту архитектора Василия Антоновича Косякова. Своим величием он напоминает собор святой Софии в Константинополе. В. А. Косяков пытался создать храм, который отражал бы многовековую историю христианства, соединяя в себе византийскую и русскую культуры.

Строительство шло три года и закончилось в 1910 г. Стены храмы были облицованы темно-зеленым мрамором, а роспись выполнена в древнерусском стиле с использованием мотивов фресок Ферапонтова монастыря. В связи с резким ухудшением экономического положения в начале Первой Мировой войны, храм так и оставался закрытым и неосвященным.

После того как в 1960-х гг. большая часть монастырских построек была передана ВНИИ электромашиностроения, церковь во имя Казанской иконы Божией Матери несколько десятилетий использовалась в качестве механического цеха. В 1992 г. помещение Казанского храма было передано Церкви. Первая Литургия совершена 15 марта, в день Торжества Православия.

Пятикупольный Казанский храм облицован светлым кирпичом. Барабаны куполов украшены орнаментами и майоликой. Скульптурное убранство фасадов и орнамент интерьеров храма содержит: символические изображения Евангелистов, орнамент с виноградной лозой и пальмовыми ветвями, изображение птиц в виде голубя, павлинов и фазанов. Храм украшен тремя деревянными резными иконостасами, покрытыми позолотой. Казанский храм имеет три придела: центральный - во имя Казанской иконы Божией Матери, слева — придел во имя Державной иконы Божией Матери и справа - придел преподобного Серафима Саровского.

Возрожденные храмы Петербурга

Маршрут ознакомит вас с наиболее интересными возрожденными и восстановленными храмами Санкт-Петербурга, красота которых вновь радует глаз жителей и гостей Северной столицы и вновь украшает городской пейзаж. 

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Московский пр., 100
  • Телефон: +7 (812)369-30-98
  • Сайт: www.novodev.spb.ru
  • Email: vnmpalomnik@gmail.com
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 07:00 - 19:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще