0

600-year-old icon returned to St. Petersburg from a private American collection

The icon dates from 1406 and is the oldest in the temples of St. Petersburg. The image belongs to the Novgorod icon school of the beginning of the 15th century. After the revolution, the icon was seized by the Soviet authorities, placed in Tretyakov Gallery, and then sold abroad to a private American collection. In the early 2000s the image was bought at the auction of Christie’s, and in the 300th anniversary of Saint Petersburg this icon was donated to the Holy Trinity Cathedral by Russian President Vladimir Putin.

The icon story follows an episode from the Old Testament, the story of Abraham. The Lord told him: «Go to the land I tell you and from you I will produce a great family». Abraham listened to the Lord and went, but he didn’t have any children, and he couldn’t have them any more because he was about a hundred years old. He was disappointed in the promise of God, but one day he saw three travelers in his garden. As they approached, Abraham invited them to his tent to share a meal with him. In the image of the travelers appeared the Holy Trinity itself: the Father, the Son and the Ghost Holy under the guise of angels. They promised Abraham that he would have a son. Abraham’s wife, Sarra, also in her old age, doubted that they could have children and, having heard such words from travelers, laughed. But the travelers told her: «Your son will be born and you will name him Isaac that is translated from Hebrew as «Sarra’s laughter»». And indeed, Isaac was born - the story went according to the Lord’s plan.

In theology, this story became known as «Eternal Council». Before the creation of the world, the Father, the Son, and the Ghost Holy were sort of on the council, in a conversation about the creation of the world. It is this council that is depicted on the icon - the three Angels, the three faces of the Holy Trinity that are talking about the fate of the world. Below there is the calf which Abraham has ordered travelers to stab for lunch. On the table there are the bowls which are the symbol of the Eucharistic Bowl (A bowl for Holy Communion).

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Izmajlovsky pr., 7a, Holy Living Trinity Cathedral of the Life Guards of the Izmailovsky Regiment.
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 246-07-15; +7 (812) 246-07-12
  • Site: izmsobor.ru
  • Email: izmsobor@mail.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Friday: 09:00 - 19:00
    Saturday - Sunday: 06:00 - 20:00
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

600-летняя икона, возвращенная в Петербург из частной американской коллекции 

Икона датируется 1406 г. и является древнейшей из находящихся в храмах Санкт-Петербурга. Образ принадлежит новгородской иконописной школе начала XV века. После революции икона была изъята советскими властями, помещена в Третьяковскую галерею, а затем была продана за границу, в частную американскую коллекцию. В начале 2000-х годов образ был выкуплен на аукционе Christie's, а в юбилейный год 300-летия Санкт-Петербурга эта икона была принесена в дар Свято-Троицкому Измайловскому собору президентом России Владимиром Путиным.

Сюжет иконы повествует об эпизоде из Ветхого Завета — истории Авраама. Господь сказал ему: «Иди в землю, которую я скажу тебе, и из тебя я произведу великий род». Авраам послушался, пошел, но детей у него не было, и быть уже не могло: возраст его близился к сотне лет. Он разочаровался в обещании Божьем, но однажды в своем саду он увидел трех путников. Когда они приблизились, Авраам пригласил их в свой шатер разделить с ним трапезу. В образе путников явилась Сама Святая Троица: Отец, Сын и Дух Святой под видом ангелов. Они пообещали Аврааму, что у него родится сын. Жена Авраама, Сарра, будучи тоже в преклонных годах, сомневалась, что у них могут быть дети и, услышав от путников такие слова, засмеялась. Но путники сказали ей: «Родится у тебя сын, и ты назовешь его Исаак, что переводится с древнееврейского как «смех Сарры»». И действительно, Исаак родился — история пошла по Богом задуманному плану.

В богословии этот сюжет стал называться «Предвечным советом». Перед творением мира Отец, и Сын, и Дух Святой находились как бы в совете, в собеседовании о творении мира. Именно этот совет и изображен на иконе — три Ангела, три лица Святой Троицы собеседуют о судьбе мира. Внизу находится телец, которого приказал заколоть Авраам для обеда путникам. На столе стоят чаши, которые являются символом Евхаристической чащи (чаши для Святого Причастия).  

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Измaйлoвcкий пр., 7а Собор Святой Живоначальной Троицы лейб-гвардии Измайловского полка
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 251 89 27
  • Сайт: izmsobor.ru
  • Email: izmsobor@mail.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ПТ: 09:00 - 19:00
    СБ - ВС: 06:00 - 20:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #