0

The icon with a scale representation of the Holy Face of Jesus was one of the most favorite icons of Peter the Great 

The wonderworking ‘Savior Not Made by Hands’ is located at the altar stand near the right choir place in Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral. This icon is closely connected with the life of the Russian Emperor Peter the Great. The icon was painted by famous Moscow iconographer Simeon Ushakov in 1676 for the Russian Tsar Alexey Mikhailovich. Later the icon passed from Natalia Kirillovna, the mother of the first Russian Emperor to Peter the Great. The Emperor always brought the icon along to all military campaigns. It was the very icon in front of which Peter the Great was praying during the founding of Saint Petersburg and shortly before the Battle of Poltava, the seminal event in the Russian history.

Later the wonderworking ‘Savior Not Made by Hands’ was placed in Peter the Great’s Cabin on the Petrograd Side, being precisely at the canteen. Elizaveta Petrovna, having been very devoted to religion wrote a prayer with her own hand: ‘In the name of God, the Compassionate and Merciful’. They used to read it aloud during prayer service in front of the icon. Elizabeth I also ordered in her Act by July 1, 1842 not to work on the Feast of the icon, which is celebrated on August 16. Annually, the holy procession of the Cross was held around the Peter and Paul Cathedral.

After the chapel on the Petrograd Side had been closed, the old wonderworking was moved to the Church of the Holy Trinity on Stremyannaya Street in January 1930, however, when the church was dismantled in 1936 the icon was transferred to Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral.

The icon ‘Savior Not Made by Hands’ is a unique representation of Christ. The Holy Face of Jesus is displayed flat either on the clay tablet or on the tiling. In Byzantine temples such an image of Jesus was usually displayed on the dome drum.

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Preobrazhenskaya pl., 1. Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 272-36-62
  • Site: spaso-preobr-sobor.ru
  • Email: preobr.sobor@gmail.com
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 08:00 - 20:00
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Икона с крупным изображением лика Христа, ставшая любимым образом императора Петра I

Образ Спаса Нерукотворного находится на аналое у правого клироса в Спасо-Преображенском соборе Санкт-Петербурга. Он тесно связан с жизнью императора Петра Великого и был его любимым образом. Написанный, предположительно, в 1676 году для царя Алексея Михайловича известным московским иконописцем Симоном Федоровичем Ушаковым, к царю Петру образ перешел от матери, Наталии Кирилловны, и всегда был с ним во всех походах. Именно перед этой иконой император молился при основании Петербурга, а также накануне судьбоносного для России Полтавского сражения.

Позже образ Спаса Нерукотворного был помещен в домике Петра Великого на Петроградской стороне, в столовой, обращенной в часовню Спасителя. Набожная Елизавета Петровна собственноручно написала молитву: «Господи, щедрый и милостивый», которую каждый раз читали на молебне перед иконой. Она же именным указом 1 июля 1842 года повелела: «В день празднества Нерукотворного Образа, 16 августа, казенных никаких работ не производить». Ежегодно вокруг Петропавловской крепости в день Преполовения Господня совершали крестный ход.

После закрытия часовни на Петроградской стороне, в январе 1930 года, древний образ перенесли в Свято-Троицкую церковь на Стремянной улице, а когда в 1936 году снесли и ее, — в Спасо-Преображенский собор.

Спас Нерукотворный (в переводе с греческого означает «Спаситель не руками сделанный») — особый тип изображения Христа, представляющий Его лик на плате, глиняной доске или черепице. В храмах Византии такой образ обычно изображался в барабане купола.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Преображенская площадь, д.1 Спасо-Преображенский собор
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 272-36-62
  • Сайт: spaso-preobr-sobor.ru
  • Email: preobr.sobor@gmail.com
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 08:00 - 20:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #