St. Catherine’s Swedish Church

0

Church of St. Catherine (Sankta Katarina kyrka) is a building in the neo-Romanesque style, which houses the Evangelical Lutheran parish

The history of the Swedish parish of St. Catherine begins at a time when the city of Peter the Great was not found yet. At the end of the XVII century, on the place where Okhta river flows into the Neva river, there was the Swedish town of Nyenschantz (Swedish Nyenskans, "Neva fortification"), where the Swedes had a cathedral church. The community was organized in 1640 and was originally part of the Church of Sweden. After Ingermanlandia was annexed to Russia following the results of the Northern War, the church service continued, but soon some of the inhabitants were resettled in St. Petersburg, and the parish moved to the so-called “finnish skerries” of St. Petersburg, behind the Main Pharmacy, where by 1710 the Finnish-Swedish church was opened. Meetings began in 1703 and were held in a private house by pastor Yakov Maidelin.

In 1734, Empress Anna Ioannovna presented the community with a land plot in the area of ​​modern Nevsky Prospekt, where a cross-shaped wooden church with a turret was built in the name of St. Anna, with an altar added in 1744. The following year, the Swedish and Finnish communities split. The Finnish community has remained in the same place - now there is the Finnish Church of St. Mary. The Swedes used their half of the site for creation of their own church-house. On this place a stone church for 300 people was laid, according to the design of J. M. Felten, facing the Swedish Lane. Catherine II donated 7 thousand rubles, and a small two-story building, decorated with pilasters, was consecrated in the name of the patron saint of the Empress, St. Catherine. The altar was decorated with the image of the “Crucifixion” and the predella “The Last Supper”. Jeweler N. Bergquist Sr. made a wonderful silver font in the Rococo style.

The modern church building, located next to the Consulate General of Sweden, was built nearby in 1856, when the old church became too narrow, designed by architect Carl Andersson, who was born in Stockholm, but lived and studied in St. Petersburg. It was a massive pseudo-Romanesque building with choirs containing a portal and a rosette window. Religious paintings were written by prof. Thiersch from Munich. The new church  accommodated 1,200 people. Later, an organ appeared.

In 1885, the parish consisted of 7,000 people, among them were the Finnish Swedes, Norwegians and Danes. Before the revolution, the parish had a school, two orphanages and an almshouse, but by this time it had reduced to 5200 people. The pastor was Arthur Malm. Famous parishioners were: scientists Gadolin and Oskar Backlund, jewelers C. Faberge and E. Bolin, the Nobel and Lidvall families. Here the future Finnish field marshal Mannerheim was married.

In Soviet times, the parish ceased to exist; the church  was closed and transformed into a gymnasium. Public church services resumed in part of the building in 1991. On December 15, 1991, a small community created by the descendants of former parishioners held their first service. In 2002 the church returned to full services, restoration began in 2004, and at the end of 2005 the church building was completely transferred to the parish.

A service is held every Sunday (twice a month in Swedish, the rest of Sundays - in Russian). In addition, the parish holds various cultural events.

Pastor - Eero Sepponen

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Церковь Святой Екатерины (Sankta Katarina kyrka) — здание в псевдороманском стиле, в котором располагается евангелическо-лютеранский приход

История шведского прихода Св. Екатерины начинается во времена, когда город Петра ещё не был основан. В конце XVII века у места впадения Охты в Неву стоял шведский городок Ниеншанц (швед. Nyenskans, «Невское укрепление»), где у шведов имелась кафедральная церковь. Община была организована в 1640 году и первоначально входила в состав Церкви Швеции. После того, как Ингерманландия была присоединена к России по итогам Северной войны, богослужение в этом храме продолжалось, но вскоре часть жителей была переселена в Санкт-Петербург, и приход переехал  в т. н. „финские шхеры“ Петербурга, за Главной аптекой, где к 1710 была открыта финско-шведская церковь. Собрания начались с 1703 года, их проводил в частном доме пастор Яков Майделин.

В 1734 году императрица Анна Иоанновна подарила общине участок в районе современного Невского проспекта, на котором был построен крестообразный в плане деревянный с башенкой храм во имя Святой Анны, к которому в 1744 пристроили алтарь.  В следующем году шведская и финская общины разделились. Финская община осталась на прежнем месте — сейчас там находится Финская церковь Святой Марии. Шведы на своей половине участка создали собственный молитвенный дом, на месте которого была заложена по проекту Ю. М. Фельтена каменная церковь на 300 человек, обращенная фасадом в Шведский переулок. Екатерина II пожертвовала 7 тыс. руб., и небольшое двухэтажное здание, украшенное пилястрами, было освящено во имя святой покровительницы Императрицы, Святой Екатерины. Алтарь украшали образ „Распятие“ и пределла „Тайная вечеря“. Ювелир Н. Бергквист-старший сделал для кирхи замечательную серебряную купель в стиле рококо.

Современное здание церкви, находящееся рядом с Генеральным консульством Швеции, было построено рядом в 1856 году, когда старый храм стал тесным, по проекту архитектора Карла Андерсена, который родился в Стокгольме, но жил и учился в Санкт-Петербурге. Это было массивное, с хорами, здание в псевдороманском стиле. Религиозные полотна в нем написал проф. Л. Тирш из Мюнхена. Новый храм вмещал 1200 человек. Позже в нем появился орган.

В 1885 приход насчитывал 7 000 человек, среди которых были финляндские шведы, норвежцы и датчане. Перед революцией он содержал школу, два приюта и богадельню, но к этому времени сократился до 5 200 человек. Пастором служил Артур Мальм. Известными прихожанами были: ученые Гадолин и О. Баклунд, ювелиры К. Фаберже и Э. Болин, семьи Нобель и Лидваль. Здесь венчался будущий финский фельдмаршал К. Г. Маннергейм.

В советское время приход прекратил свое существование; здание церкви было национализировано и переоборудовано в спортивный зал. После войны здание было перестроено под спортшколу.

Приход восстановил свою деятельность в исторических помещениях в начале 1990-х гг., 15 декабря 1991 созданная потомками прежних прихожан небольшая община провела первое богослужение. В 2002 здание было возвращено полностью, с 2004 началась реставрация, а в конце 2005 года здание церкви было полностью передано в распоряжение прихода.

Богослужение проводится каждое воскресенье (два раза в месяц на шведском, в остальные воскресенья - на русском языке). Кроме этого приход проводит различные культурные мероприятия.

Пастор - Ээро Сеппонен (Eero Sepponen)

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Малая Конюшенная улица, 1, угол Шведского переулка
  • Сайт: www.svenskaforeningen.spb.ru/Katarinakyrkan.html
  • Дополнительно: https://vk.com/svenskakyrka
  • Время работы:
    ПН - СБ: Выходной
    ВС: 11:00 - 14:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще