Saint Catherine's Lutheran Church

0

Saint Petersburg Local Religious Organization «Evangelical Lutheran Community of Saint Catherine»

Previously, the wooden Trinity Church of the Kabardian Regiment was situated between  Kadetskaya Line and Tuchkov Lane. Later the Astrakhan Dragoon and Keksholm regiments were located here. For them the Nikolsky Church was constructed, also a wooden one, on the site of the Trinity Church.  Soldiers and officers particularly revered the icon of Saint Catherine in this church. People often  called the church by that name: Catherine's church. 

In 1773 the church was consecrated again in honor of Saint Catherine. It  was granted to the Keksholm Regiment.

In 1809 the Church of Saint Catherine the Great Martyr burned down. All the church belongings were lost but the icon of Saint Catherine was saved. Religious believers started donating money for a new church.

In 1811 the architect Andrei Alekseevich Mikhailov II created a project of a stone church.  The temple was consecrated on   2 November  1823. This building was the most noticeable work by the architect Mikhailov II. It stands out among other buildings of Vasilievsky Island, the dome of the church can be seen from far away. The Church of Saint Catherine the Great Martyr played an important role in the life of Vasilievsky island. The main parishioners  of the Church of Saint Catherine the Great Martyr were workers of the stock exchange and the port located nearby on the Makarov embankment at the spit of Vasilievsky Island. It was visited by merchants, salesmen, scientists, artists, officials, men of arms, artisans.

Prior - pastor Anton Tikhomirov

Germans in St. Petersburg

This route will tell you more about the people, that left their homeland in order to put a great effort in building our city.

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Bolshoy prospekt of V.O., 1a
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 323-18-52
  • Site: https://stkathe.ru
  • Email: r_kano@gmx.net
  • Working time:
    Monday - Tuesday: Free
    Wednesday: 19:30 - 21:00
    Thursday - Saturday: Free
    Sunday: 13:00 - 18:00
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Евангелическо-лютеранский Храм св. Екатерины

0

Санкт-Петербургская местная религиозная организация «Евангелическо-Лютеранская община Святой Екатерины»

Ранее между Кадетской линией и Тучковым переулком находилась деревянная Троицкая церковь Кабардинского полка. Позже здесь располагались  Астраханский драгунский и Кексгольмский полки. Для них на месте Троицкой церкви возвели Никольский храм, также деревянный. Особо почитаемой иконой этого храма у солдат и офицеров была икона Святой Екатерины. Церковь стали часто называть именно этим именем.

В 1773 году церковь переосвятили в честь Святой Екатерины. Она стала принадлежать Кексгольмскому полку.

В 1809 году церковь Святой Великомученицы Екатерины сгорела. Погибла вся церковная утварь, но икону Святой Екатерины удалось спасти. Прихожане начали собирать деньги на новый храм.

В 1811 году архитектором Андреем Алексеевичем Михайловым II-м был составлен проект каменного церковного здания. Освящение храма состоялось 24 ноября 1823 года. Это здание стало самой заметной работой архитектора Михайлова II-го. Оно выделяется среди других построек Васильевского острова, купол церкви виден далеко за его пределами. Церковь Святой Великомученицы Екатерины играла важную роль в жизни василеостровцев. Основными прихожанами церкви Святой Великомученицы Екатерины были рабочие биржи и порта, располагавшийся рядом – на набережной Макарова у стрелки Васильевского острова. Её посещали купцы, торговые служащие, учёные, художники, чиновники, военные, ремесленники.

Маршрут «Святые места Васильевского острова»

Васильевский остров по праву считается самым морским в Санкт-Петербурге, поскольку имеет целых два морских порта в районе Гавани. И, хотя город изначально задумывался стать подобным городам Европы, он хранил свое православное великолепие на протяжении всей истории.

Немцы в Петербурге

Маршрут расскажет захватывающую историю в камне, о судьбах людей, сменивших родину и служивших новой Отчизне.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Большой проспект В.О., 1а
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 323-18-52
  • Сайт: www.st-kathe-orgel.city
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВТ: Выходной
    СР: 19:30 - 21:00
    ЧТ - СБ: Выходной
    ВС: 13:00 - 18:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #