Bolshoy Prospekt of Vasilievsky Island

0

Main avenue of Vasilievsky Island has appeared in 18th century, in times when there was nothing but thick forest

This street arose shortly after the construction of the Menshikov Palace on one of its shores: after settling in his new mansion, Prince A.D. Menshikov ordered a hole to be cut through which he could drive to the western edge of Preobrazhensky Island, overlooking the Baltic Sea. This glade, which cut the entire Preobrazhensky island, was called the "Great Perspective", and in the 19th century it was renamed Bolshoy Prospect.

Among the buildings of greatest historical and cultural value are the building of the first Gostiny Dvor in St. Petersburg, built on the corner of Bolshoy Prospekt and the 6th line, in which the St. Andrew Market and three churches - the Lutheran Church of St. Catherine, St. Andrew Cathedral and the Church of Three Saints now work.

The main attraction that remained on Bolshoy Prospekt from the Soviet era is the Kirov Palace of Culture, built by the architect N. Trotsky after the death of the famous politician S. M. Kirov. Next to it is one of the largest clothing markets in the city and the building of a currency exchange. In the former building of the fire department, which was operating on Bolshoy Prospekt in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, there is a fire-technical exhibition, visitors of which can get acquainted with the detailed history of fighting fires in St. Petersburg. A sculpture group has been installed next to this museum - a monument to the feat of the firefighters of Leningrad, made by the sculptor L.K. Lazarev

2

Petersburg - maritime glory

On this route you can visit places that will tell stories about Russian Navy

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, Vasilievsky Ostrov, Bolshoi prospekt
  • Working time: Round table
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Большой проспект Васильевского острова

0

Главная улица Васильевского острова появилась в начале 18 века, когда этот остров еще назвался Преображенским

Эта улица возникла вскоре после строительства на одном из его берегов Меншиковского дворца: поселившись в своем новом особняке, князь А. Д. Меншиков приказал прорубить просеку, по которой он мог бы проехать на западный край Преображенского острова, выходивший к Балтийскому морю. Эту просеку, перерезавшую весь Преображенский остров, стали называть "Большой першпективой", а в 19 веке переименовали в Большой проспект.

Среди строений наибольшую историческую и культурную ценность представляют здание первого в Санкт-Петербурге Гостиного двора, построенное на углу Большого проспекта и 6-й линии, в котором теперь работает Андреевский рынок и три храма - лютеранская церковь Святой Екатерины, Андреевский собор и церковь Трех Святителей. 

Главной достопримечательностью, оставшейся на Большом проспекте от советской эпохи, является Дворец Культуры имени Кирова, построенный архитектором Н. Троцким после смерти известного политического деятеля С. М. Кирова. Рядом с ним находится один из самых крупных в городе вещевых рынков и здание валютной биржи. В бывшем здании пожарной части, действовавшей на Большом проспекте в конце 19-начале 20 веков, работает пожарно-техническая выставка, посетители которой могут познакомиться с подробнейшей историей борьбы с пожарами в Санкт-Петербурге. Рядом с этим музеем установлена скульптурная группа - памятник подвигу пожарных Ленинграда, выполненный скульптором Л. К. Лазаревым

Петербург – морская столица

Санкт-Петербург известен как город морской славы. Вы сможете посетить места, которые связаны с историей Российского флота

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Большой проспект В.О.
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #