Blockade Ice-hole Memorial Sign ( «Days of the Siege»)

0

One of the most unusual blockade monuments is located on the accessway to Neva opposite 21, Fontanka River Embankment

The stone slab with a female profile and inscription as a symbol of resistance and courage of Leningrad citizens was opened on January 21, 2001 to commemorate the 60th Anniversary of the breakthrough of the blockade. It can be found on the accessway to Neva opposite 21, Fontanka River Embankment. The slab is made of gray granite. Sculptor - Boris Petrov, architect - Stanislav Odnovalov. The memorial sign was installed upon initiative of Petersburg's chief artist Ivan Uralov.

This monument has several names: "Days of the blockade", "Blockade ice-hole", but most popular name among locals is the Blockade Ice-hole (Blockade Polynya in Russian). Here, at the ice-hole citizens of besieged Leningrad used to take water. At the end of 1941 city's water pipe shut down due to severe frosts and frequent bombing of Vodokanal water supply enterprise.

Water was synonymous to life at those times in Leningrad.

It stands to reason, water was gained not only at this spot, but also in other rivers and canals of the city, however it is this memorial sign that has become a symbol of those tragic days in the history of Leningrad. Solemn mourning ceremonies are held here when wreaths are lowered onto water surface and memory candles are lit along the embankment.

The hero-city and the heroes citizens

This route acquaints with memorable places reminding a heroic and tragic siege of Leningrad

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, nab. reki Fontanki, 21
  • Working time: Round table
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Памятный знак «Блокадная полынья» («Дни блокады»)

0

Один из самых необычных на первый взгляд памятников блокады расположился на подступе к Неве дома №21 по набережной Фонтанки

Каменная плита  с женским профилем и надписью как символ стойкости и мужества ленинградцев была открыта 21 января 2001 года в 60-ю годовщину прорыва блокады на набережной реки Фонтанки на спуске к воде напротив дома 21. Плита изготовлена из серого  гранита. Скульптор – Борис Петров, архитектор – Станислав Одновалов. Памятный знак установили по инициативе главного художника Петербурга Ивана Уралова.

У этого памятника несколько названий: «Дни блокады», «Блокадная прорубь», но чаще всего можно услышать народное название –«Блокадная полынья». Здесь у ледяной проруби брали воду жители блокадного Ленинграда. В конце 1941г. в Ленинграде прекратил свою работу городской водопровод из-за сильных морозов и чересчур частых бомбёжек «Водоканала». 
А вода в ту пору для ленинградцев являлась синонимом жизни.
Разумеется, воду набирали не только в этом месте, но и в других реках и каналах города, однако именно этот памятный знак стал символом тех трагических дней в истории Ленинграда. Здесь проходят торжественно-траурные церемонии: в воду опускают венки, на набережной зажигают «свечи памяти».

Город-Герой и город героев

Маршрут знакомит с объектами, напоминающими о трагических и полных героизма днях обороны Ленинграда

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, наб. реки Фонтанки, 21
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #