St. Andrew's Cathedral (Cathedral of St. Andrew the Apostle)

0

St. Andrew's Cathedralhad been built in 1728 and was listed as a church in the name of St. Andrew the apostle until 1744

In 1728, a wooden church was constructed on Vasilievsky Island, at the intersection of Bolshoi Prospekt and Line 6. The alleged author of the project was D.A. Trezzini. The church was consecrated in the name of the Holy Apostle Andrew in 1732 and was intended for the celebration of the Knights of the St. Andrew Order. In 1744, the church received the status of a cathedral.

Members of the royal family and many famous personalities of that time, including M. Lomonosov and V. Trediakovsky attended the services in a new church. Another church, designed by G. Trezzini was built nearby between 1740 to 1745. The consecration took place in 1760 in the name of the Three Ecumenical Saints. The premises of the Three Saints church were mainly used for the sacristy of St. Andrew's Cathedral, the church library and the archive.

On July 4, 1761, a wooden church burned down during a thunderstorm. July 18, 1764 the fundament of a new church was laid under the direction of A. Vista. That was the church which survived to the present day. Construction was completed by 1780. The opened temple became the center of the Knights of the Order of St. Apostle Andrew. In 1786 a bell tower was built, and in 1790 a chapel. In 1797, a bas-relief was installed over the entrance depicting the Order of St. Andrew, which was carried by two angels.

In the second half of the 19th century, the “Help the Poor” society began to operate at the church, which eventually became the largest parish charity in Russia.

After the revolution, the temple fell into decay, then it was plundered and closed. The building was used as a warehouse.

In 1928, the bells were removed from the bell tower, transferred to the Peter and Paul Fortress, and subsequently remelted. Later on, the building had been rented by various institutions. During the Great Patriotic War, the facades, roof, iconostasis, and interior were damaged. In 1992, the temple was restored and returned to believers. The church of the Three Saints was also returned. To this day, the Cathedral has kept a magnificent carved wooden 17-meter gilded iconostasis of the XVIII century, one of the oldest in the city.

In 1995-1996, gilded crosses were installed on the domes of the temple. In 2001, in honor of the 300th anniversary of the founding of the Order of St. Andrew , an obelisk was erected in front of the church. In 2007, a bust of F.A. Golovin was open in the square near the church.

Church services are held every day.

Rector - Archpriest Michael Mokropolov.

Baroque monuments in St. Petersburg

This route will not only make you familiar with the baroque monuments spread all over our city, but also will disclose why baroque architecture strayed so much from the european traditions. 

3 h

St. Peterburg of Peter the Great's times

This route will help you to open little-known, but intresting facts about the city and makes you sure that many traditions from the past carry on to exist in the present life

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, 6-ya liniya V.O., 11
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 323-34-18
  • Site: andrew-sobor.ru
  • Email: hramsp@mail.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 19:00
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Андреевский собор (Собор святого Апостола Андрея Первозванного)

0

Андреевский собор был построен в 1728 году и числился церковью во имя Андрея Первозванного до 1744 года

В 1728 году на Васильевском острове, на пересечении Большого проспекта и 6 линии, был выделен земельный участок, на котором возвели деревянную церковь. Предполагаемым автором проекта был Д.А. Трезини. Церковь была освящена во имя Святого Апостола Андрея Первозванного в 1732 году и предназначалась для торжества и празднества кавалеров Андреевского ордена. В 1744 году церковь получила статус собора.

На торжественных богослужениях в церковь приходили члены царской семьи, многие известные личности того времени. В их числе М. Ломоносов и В. Тредиаковский. С 1740 по 1745 годы рядом строится другая церковь по проекту Дж. Трезини. Освящение состоялось в 1760 году во имя Трёх Святителей Вселенских. Помещения церкви Трёх Святителей использовались в основном для ризницы Андреевского собора, церковной библиотеки и архива.

4 июля 1761 года деревянный храм сгорел во время грозы. 18 июля 1764 года был заложен новый храм под руководством А. Виста. Именно он сохранился до наших дней. Строительство было завершено к 1780 году. Открывшийся храм стал центром кавалеров ордена святого Апостола Андрея Первозванного. В 1786 году была построена колокольня, а в 1790 году – часовня. В 1797 году над входом установили барельеф с изображением ордена Андрея Первозванного, которого несут два ангела.

Во второй половине XIX века при храме начало действовать «Общество вспоможения бедным», со временем ставшее крупнейшим в России приходским благотворительным обществом.

После революции храм пришёл в упадок, затем был разграблен и закрыт. Здание использовали как склад.

В 1928 году с колокольни сняли колокола, передали их в Петропавловскую крепость, а впоследствии переплавили. В дальнейшем здание арендовали различные учреждения. Во время Великой Отечественной войны пострадали фасады, крыша, иконостас, интерьер. В 1992 году храм был отреставрирован и возвращен верующим. Также была возвращена и церковь Трех святителей. До наших дней в соборе сохранился великолепный резной деревянный 17-метровый золоченый иконостас XVIII века, один из старейших в городе.

В 1995-1996 годах на купола храма установлены позолоченные кресты. В 2001 году в честь 300-летия учреждения ордена Андрея Первозванного перед храмом был установлен обелиск. В 2007 году в сквере у храма был открыт бюст Ф.А. Головина.
Богослужения в церкви проводятся каждый день. (https://www.spb-guide.ru/page_8049.htm)

Настоятель: протоиерей Михаил Мокрополов.

Святые места Васильевского острова

Васильевский остров по праву считается самым морским в Санкт-Петербурге, поскольку имеет целых два морских порта в районе Гавани. И, хотя город изначально задумывался стать подобным городам Европы, он хранил свое православное великолепие на протяжении всей истории.

Памятники барокко в Петербурге

Маршрут не только познакомит с сохранившимися памятниками этого стиля, но и раскроет секрет, почему в архитектуре Санкт-Петербурга появилось так много отличий от европейских традиций.

Петербург Петра Великого

Проходя по данному маршруту Вы откроете для себя немало интересных и малоизвестных фактов из города Петербурга времен Петра Первого, а также убедитесь, что многие традиции прошлого живы и сейчас в северной столице

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, 6-я линия В. О., 11
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 323-34-18
  • Сайт: andrew-sobor.ru
  • Email: hramsp@mail.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 19:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще