Razumovsky's Palace

0

Nowadays the Herzen Pedagogical University is located in the building

In 1739 a wooden palace for Count Reinhold Gustaw von Loewenwolde, a favourite of the Empress Anna Ioannovna, was constructed on this place according to F.B. Rastrelli's project. Nearby the homestead of his lover N.F. Lopukhina was located, so Loewenwolde chose this site. After the Empress Elizabeth Petrovna came into power, Loewenwolde was exiled and the palace was confiscated. In 1743 Elizabeth presented the palace to her former favourite A. Y. Shubin. However, Shubin, being a former favorite, considered it unsafe to stay in Saint Petersburg and left the capital.

In 1749 the site became the possession of Kirill Razumovsky, the Ukrainian hetman and the president of the Academy of Sciences. In 1760 the wooden construction was demolished due to dilapidation. The newspaper «Saint Petersburg Vedomosti» published the following announcement: «Count K. G. Razumovsky's wooden house on a stone foundation for those wishing to dismantle, transport and put it on the Krestovsky Island ... can come to the house office». In 1762, the architect A.F. Kokorinov started constructing a new stone building. By 1766 J. B. Vallin de la Mothe finished the construction. A part of the garden has been preserved in the homestead till the modern days. From the side of the Kazan street it is fenced by the lattice of the Kazan Cathedral. Razumovsky Palace was famous for its pompous balls and masquerades. 260 servants were working in the palace. On holidays the count organized alms for beggars here and this event attracted more than 2000 beggars.

In 1781 Razumovsky sold the palace to the Polish count K.P. Branitsky and left Saint Petersburg. Count Branitsky lived here until 1798 and then left Russia. The Razumovsky Palace was sold to the state for 450.000 rubles. Shortly after that the palace was granted to the Orphanage created by the order of Paul I on 2 May 1797. The Emperor's wife Maria Fyodorovna patronized it and I.I. Betskoy became its first director. The Orphanage was intended primarily for poor children: foundlings and children with disabilities. A pelican sculpture can be seen on the facades of the buildings and on the entrance arch. This symbol reflects the mission of the institution located here. In 1797 the neighbouring building was granted to the Orphanage – the house number 50 on the Moika Embankment. In 1798 the premises of the Razumovsky Palace were redesigned . In 1829-1834 a house church and a two-story hospital were built here according to the project of D. Quadri and P.S. Plavov, a third floor was attached to the hospital in 1842-1844. Side wings were reconstructed in 1831-1834. In 1837 the Orphanage was transformed into the Women's Orphan Institute (in 1885 its name was changed for the Nikolaev Orphan Institute). Its students were taught the pedagogical profession. The Imperial Women's Pedagogical Institute, the first pedagogical institute in Russia, was established here in 1903.

In 1839-1842 a new building was attached to the institute. In 1868 a monument to I. I. Betskoy created by A. Laveretsky, a copy of the work by the Danish sculptor J. Zamelgak, was erected in front of the palace. In 1918 the name of the institute was changed for the First Pedagogical Institute. Later the Second and the Third Institutes and other independent educational institutions were opened here. In 1922-1925 the Leningrad State Pedagogical Institute named after A.I. Herzen was created on their basis. In 1961 a monument to the outstanding Russian teacher K. D. Ushinsky (sculptor - V.V. Lishev) was erected in front of the main entrance. In 1991 the institute officially obtained the university status.

Aristocratic dynasties of Petersburg

The route describes the history of a famous Aristocratic dynasties and demonstrate the palaces in which they lived

3 h

Favourites of Russian emperors

Favourite were the intimate companions of Russian rulers or other important person

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, Moiki nab., 48
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: Free
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Сегодня в здании дворца располагается Педагогический Университет им. Герцена

В 1739 году на этом участке по проекту Ф. Б. Растрелли был построен деревянный дворец для графа Рейнгольда-Густава Левенвольде, приближённого императрицы Анны Иоанновны. Рядом находилась усадьба его любовницы Н. Ф. Лопухиной, потому Левенвольде и выбрал этот участок. После прихода к власти императрицы Елизаветы Петровны Левенвольде был отправлен в ссылку, а дворец перешёл в казну. В 1743 году она подарила усадьбу своему бывшему фавориту А. Я. Шубину. Однако Шубин, как бывший фаворит, посчитал для себя небезопасным находиться в Санкт-Петербурге, потому уехал из столицы.

В 1749 году участок перешёл во владение гетмана Украины и президента Академии наук Кирилла Григорьевича Разумовского. В 1760 году деревянное строение из-за ветхости было разобрано. В газете "Санкт-Петербургские ведомости" находилось следующее объявление: "Графа К. Г. Разумовского деревянный дом на каменном фундаменте желающим разобрать, перевезти и поставить на Крестовском острову... явиться могут в домовой канцелярии". В 1762 году архитектор А. Ф. Кокоринов начал строить новое каменное здание. К 1766 году работу закончил Ж. Б. Валлен-Деламот. На территории усадьбы до сего дня сохранился участок сада. Со стороны Казанской улицы его ограждает решётка Казанского собора. Дворец Разумовского был известен своими балами и маскарадами. Штат прислуги здесь насчитывал 260 человек. На праздники граф устраивал раздачу милостыни, на которую сюда собиралось до двух тысяч человек.

В 1781 году Разумовский продал свой дворец польскому графу К. П. Браницкому и уехал из Санкт-Петербурга. Граф Браницкий прожил здесь до 1798 года, после чего уехал из России. Дворец Разумовского был продан в казну за 450 000 рублей. Только что выкупленный дворец был передан Воспитательному дому, созданному по указу Павла I от 2 мая 1797 года. Покровительствовала ему жена императора Мария Фёдоровна, первым руководителем стал И. И. Бецкой. Воспитательный дом предназначался прежде всего для обездоленных детей: сирот-подкидышей, инвалидов. На фасадах зданий и на арке у входа можно видеть скульптурное изображение пеликана. Это символ, отражающий предназначение находящегося здесь учреждения. В 1797 году Воспитательному дому был передано соседнее здание - дом №50 на набережной Мойки. В 1798 году для Воспитательного дома году помещения дворца Разумовского были перепланированы. В 1829-1834 годах здесь по проекту Д. Квадри и П. С. Плавова была построена домовая церковь и двухэтажный лазаретный корпус, надстроенный в 1842-1844 годах третьим этажом. Боковые флигеля перестраивались в 1831-1834 годах.В 1837 году Воспитательный дом был преобразован в Сиротский женский институт (с 1885 года - Николаевский сиротский институт). Его воспитанницы получали профессию педагога. В 1903 году на здесь было образовано первое в России педагогическое учреждение - Императорский Женский педагогический институт.

В 1839-1842 годах для института был построен новый корпус (наб. р. Мойки, 50). В 1868 году перед ним был установлен памятник И. И. Бецкому работы А. Лаверецкого, копия работы датского скульптора Я. Замельгака. В 1918 году институт переименовали в Первый Педагогический. Затем здесь же возникли Второй и Третий институты, другие самостоятельные учебные заведения. В 1922-1925 годах на их базе был создан Ленинградский государственный педагогический институт им. А. И. Герцена. В 1961 году перед главным входом был установлен памятник выдающемуся русскому педагогу К. Д. Ушинскому (скульптор - В. В. Лишев). В 1991 году учебное заведение получило статус Университета.

Дворянские династии Петербурга

Данный маршрут позволит Вам познакомиться с историей знаменитых дворянских родов и увидеть некогда принадлежавшие им дворцы

Фавориты в Российской Империи

За спинами патриарших особ стояли люди, которые плели хитрые паутины интриг, устраивали государственные перевороты самыми изощренными способами. Их называли фаворитами императоров

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, наб. реки Мойки, 48
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ПТ: 10:00 - 18:00
    СБ - ВС: Выходной
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #