The House of Books (The Singer House)

0

The House of Books or the Singer House. The famous bookstore, one of the centers of cultural and intellectual life of the city

The six-storey Art Nouveau building with a mansard, with an area of about 7,000 m², was built in 1902-1904 by architect Pavel Syuzor for the Singer Sewing Machine Company in Russia. The project was innovative both in terms of technical performance, style and purpose. Initially, the management of the Singer company, manufacturing sewing machines, wanted to build a skyscraper, similar to the one that was being built in New York at that time: a multistory building with many offices. However, buildings in the center of Saint Petersburg could not exceed 23.5 meters up to the cornice. The architect brilliantly resolved this contradiction: he erected a dainty tower crowned with a glass globe with a diameter of 2.8 m over six floors with a mansard. It is this upwardly directed tower that creates an impression of high altitude, but at the same time, due to its light weight, it does not outshine the domes of Kazan Cathedral and the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood, towering over Nevsky Prospect.

During construction of the building, many technical innovations were introduced: for the first time in Russia a metal frame was used and a drainpipe system was woven into elements of the facade decoration. Atriums, courtyards with glass roofs, were also new to the architecture of Saint Petersburg. The building was equipped with the most advanced technologies of the time, ranging from elevators to automatic cleaning of roofs from snow. The decoration of the building features flowing organic lines and the interior is decorated with floral ornament made of hammered bronze. The facade is adorned with sculptures by Amandus Adamson, symbolizing progress and the sewing industry - the main business dimension of the Singer company.

Until 1917 the building belonged to the Singer company. During the First World War the first floor of the building housed the US Embassy. Since December 1919, there was a Petrograd publishing house (Leningrad publishing house since 1938), and in the 1920s and 30s – other publishing houses were located here. Book trade was also conducted, and since 1938 to the present time it houses the most famous Saint Petersburg bookstore – the House of Books.

The peculiarity of the building constantly attracts admiring views of tourists and city residents, and the evening illumination of the glass dome on the roof leaves no one indifferent, giving it a special charm.

An important highlight of the building is a roof with a well equipped viewing point facing the breathtaking Nevsky Prospect, the Kazan Cathedral, the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood and the Griboedov Canal.

Along Nevsky prospekt to the Admiralty

Nevsky prospekt is the main street of St. Petersburg and the most famous and beautiful sights are situated here

Germans in St. Petersburg

This route will tell you more about the people, that left their homeland in order to put a great effort in building our city.

  • Address: Saint Petersburg, Nevsky pr., 28
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 448-23-57
  • Site: www.spbdk.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 00:00
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more
# # # #

Дом Книги (Дом Зингера)

0

Дом Книги или Дом Зингера. Знаменитый книжный магазин, один из центров культурной и интеллектуальной жизни города

Шестиэтажное с мансардой здание в стиле модерн, площадью около 7000 м² было построено в 1902-1904 гг. по проекту архитектора Павла Сюзора для «Акционерной компании Зингер в России». Проект был новаторским и по техническому исполнению, и по стилю, и по назначению. Первоначально руководство компании «Зингер», производящей швейные машины, хотело построить небоскрёб, подобный тому, что в это время строился компанией в Нью-Йорке: многоэтажное здание со множеством офисов. Однако здания в центре Санкт-Петербурга не могли превышать 23,5 метров до карниза. Архитектор блестяще разрешил это противоречие: над шестью этажами с мансардой он возвёл изящную башню, увенчанную стеклянным глобусом, диаметр которого достигал 2,8 м. Именно эта устремлённая ввысь башня и создаёт впечатление высотности, но при этом, благодаря своей лёгкости, не затмевает куполов Казанского Собора и Спаса на Крови, возвышающихся над Невским проспектом.

При строительстве здания был введён ряд технических новшеств: впервые в России был применён металлический каркас, система водосточных труб была вплетена в элементы отделки фасада. Новыми в архитектуре Санкт-Петербурга стали также атриумы: крытые стеклянной крышей внутренние дворы. Здание было оснащено самыми передовыми технологиями того времени, начиная от лифтов и заканчивая автоматической очисткой крыш от снега, и оформлено в стиле модерн. В отделке здания использованы текучие, «органические» линии, интерьер украшен растительным орнаментом из кованой бронзы. На фасаде установлены скульптуры А. Г. Адамсона, символизирующие прогресс и швейную индустрию – основной профиль деятельности компании «Зингер».

До 1917 года здание принадлежало компании «Зингер». В годы Первой мировой войны на первом этаже здания находилось посольство США. С декабря 1919 года в здании располагался «Петрогосиздат» (с 1938 «Лениздат»), а в 1920-е-30-е годы и другие издательства, также велась книжная торговля, а с 1938 года до настоящего времени располагается самый знаменитый петербургский книжный магазин «Дом книги».

Необычность здания  постоянно притягивает к нему восхищенные взгляды туристов и жителей города, а вечерняя подсветка стеклянного купола на крыше никого не оставляет равнодушными, придавая ему особый шарм.

Важной изюминкой здания является крыша, на которой находится оборудованная смотровая площадка с захватывающим дух видом на Невский проспект, Казанский Собор, Спас на Крови и канал Грибоедова.

Вдоль Невского проспекта к Адмиралтейству

Обзорная экскурсия по главной парадной улице города, самые знаменитые и красивые памятники архитектуры расположены здесь

Немцы в Петербурге

Маршрут расскажет захватывающую историю в камне, о судьбах людей, сменивших родину и служивших новой Отчизне.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Невский проспект, 28
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 448-23-57
  • Сайт: www.spbdk.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 00:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще