Novo-Peterhofsky Bridge

0

Novo-Peterhofsky Bridge is a bridge over the Obvodny Canal in Lermontovsky Avenue of Saint Petersburg. It connects Lermontovsky Avenue to Baltic Railway Station square

The first wooden three-span bridge was built in this place in 1857. The crossing served for the passage from Novo-Peterhofsky (now Lermontovsky) avenue to the Baltic Railway station which was opened in the same year.

At the opening the bridge got the name Novo-Peterhofsky. In 1860 it was renamed as Stiglitsky - after the court banker Baron A.L. Stiglitz, who invested in the construction of the Baltic Railway, Baltic Railway Station and the bridge itself. In 1914, the year of the centenary of the birth of M. Y. Lermontov, Novo-Peterhofsky prospekt became known as Lermontovsky. So the bridge became Lermontovsky too, but this name did not hold. Since 1916 the bridge was called Novo-Peterhofsky again.

In 1931-1932, due to the planned construction of tram tracks on Lermontovsky prospekt, a single-span reinforced concrete bridge was built on the site of the wooden bridge. The authors were the engineers O. E. Bugaev, N. E. Yermolaev, M. I. Zhdanov and the architect K. M. Dmitriev. The architectural design was made with the participation of the chief architect of Leningrad L. A. Ilyin. The project was advised by the renowned engineer and bridge scientist G. P. Pereerius.

In 1960 the bridge’s iron railing which had not very pleasant view was replaced by an artistic cast-iron lattice designed by I. N. Benoit. The new railing became the decoration of the previously unremarkable bridge.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Ново-Петергофский мост - мост через Обводный канал в створе Лермонтовского проспекта Санкт-Петербурга. Соединяет Лермонтовский проспект с площадью Балтийского вокзала

Первый деревянный трехпролетный мост был сооружен в этом месте в 1857 году. Переправа служила для проезда от Ново-Петергофского (ныне Лермонтовского) проспекта к открытому в том же году Балтийскому вокзалу.

При открытии мост получил название Ново-Петергофский. В 1860 году его переименовали в Штиглицкий — по имени придворного банкира барона А.Л. Штиглица, который инвестировал средства в строительство Балтийской железной дороги, Балтийского вокзала и моста. В 1914 году, в год столетия со дня рождения М. Ю. Лермонтова, Ново-Петергофский проспект стал называться Лермонтовским. Лермонтовским стал и  мост. Но это название не прижилось. С 1916 года мост снова стал называться Ново-Петергофским.

В 1931-1932 годах в связи с намечавшейся прокладкой трамвайных путей по Лермонтовскому проспекту на месте деревянного моста построили однопролетный железобетонный. Авторами выступили инженеры О. Е. Бугаева, Н. Е. Ермолаев, М. И. Жданов, а также архитектор К. М. Дмитриев. Архитектурное оформление было выполнено при участии главного архитектора Ленинграда Л. А. Ильина. Консультантом проекта выступил известный инженер и ученый-мостостроитель Г. П. Передерий.

В 1960 году  не отличавшиеся художественными качествами перила моста из пруткового железа были заменены художественными чугунными решётками по проекту И. Н. Бенуа. Новые перила стали украшением ранее ничем не примечательного моста.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще