Green Bridge

0

The Green (Police) Bridge connects Kazansky and 2-nd Admiralteisky islands across the River Moyka in the Central district of St. Petersburg.

The first wooden swing bridge across the Moyka River in line of Nevsky Prospekt was built in 1717-1718. In 1735, during the reconstruction, the bridge was painted green, and that's where its first name - Green - came from.

In 1768 it got another name - "the Police bridge", because the city police department was located right next to it (later that building was occupied by the royal court hospital). Since 1777, the general chief of police N. Chicherin lived near the bridge.

Also in 1777 on the site of the old bridge the three-span beam system bridge on stone counterforts with wooden superstructure was erected.

In 1806-1808 architect William Hastie built a new cast iron bridge on the site of the old wooden one (it was the first cast-iron bridge in St. Petersburg). The project was so successful that it has been approved as a model project for all the bridges over Moyka. Due to the fact that the bridges are located close to each other and apparently looked very similar, the citizens got confused quite often. To avoid confusion, the bridges were painted different colors and named accordingly: the Green Bridge, the Red Bridge, the Blue Bridge and the Yellow Bridge (now the Pevchesky Bridge).

Currently, the main street of the city - Nevsky Prospect - passes through the Green Bridge. Close to the bridge Razumovsky palace is located (the Russian State Pedagogical University n.a. Alexander Herzen), as well as the General Staff building and M. Ruadze’s tenement building and assembly hall.

  • Working time: Round table
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Зелёный (Полицейский) мост соединяет между собой Казанский и 2-й Адмиралтейский острова через реку Мойку в Центральном районе Санкт-Петербурга

Первый деревянный разводной мост через реку Мойку в створе Невского проспекта был построен в 1717–1718 годах. В 1735 году во время перестойки мост был выкрашен в зелёный цвет, благодаря чему получил своё первое название — Зелёный.

В 1768 появилось другое название — «Полицейский», из-за находившегося рядом управления городской полиции (позже этот дом занимал Придворный госпиталь). С 1777 года недалеко от моста жил петербургский генерал-полицмейстер Н. И. Чичерин.

В  том же 1777 году на месте старого моста был выстроен трёхпролётный мост балочной системы на каменных опорах с деревянными пролётными строениями.

В 1806—1808 годах архитектор Вильям Гесте построил на месте деревянного моста новый, чугунный (первый чугунный мост в Петербурге). Проект моста был настолько удачен, что был утверждён как типовой проект для мостов через Мойку. Впоследствии все цветные мосты Санкт-Петербурга проходили через реку Мойку. Из-за того, что мосты находились близко друг к другу и внешне были очень похожи, жители города их часто путали. Чтобы не создавать путаницы, мосты были покрашены в разные цвета и соответственно названы: Зелёный, Красный, Синий и Жёлтый (в настоящее время Певческий мост). 

В настоящее время через Зеленый мост проходит главная магистраль города - Невский проспект. Недалеко от моста расположены дворец Разумовского (Российский государственный педагогический университет им. А. И. Герцена) , здание Главного штаба, а также Доходный дом и зал собраний М. Ф. Руадзе.

 

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Зеленый мост
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще