Voskresensky Novodevichy Convent

0

Active Ortodox Convent

It is the first Orthodox Convent of the St. Petersburg eparchy of the Russian Orthodox Church. Initially the monastery was located in the area of Smolny Cathedral in the Summer palace of the empress Elizabeth Petrovna. Catherine the Great had established a school for the maidens from noble families there, which was then transformed into Smolny institute. By 1797 some nuns were taken into other convents, and in 1827 Voskresensky Novodevichy Convent was closed. In 1845 the emperor Nikolay I signed the decree about the renewal of the Convent. Later, in the autumn of 1848 the Convent was transferred closer to the Moscow triumphal arch, where it is nowadays. The last time of the abolishment of the Convent in 1937, but since 1995 it became active again, and so up to the present days.

The Novodevichy Convent has recently become a place of worship the well-known Sacred objects from Athos, which were brought to St. Petersburg. On could see the multikilometer lines along Moskovsky Avenue even to Obvodny Canal : people went to venerate the relics of Saint Defenders. From 20 Ocober to 24 October 2011 the Holy Belt of the Virgin was kept in the convent, and in January,2014 the Holy Gifts of Magi were brought to St. Petersburg from  the Monastery of Agios Pavlos. Besides, in the Kazan church the worshippers can always see the "shuitsa" (the left hand) of Saint Iaoann Damaskin.

On the gravestone of one of the graves of the Voskresensky cemetery, located near the Convent (not far from the entrance) there is Jesus Christ's bronze statue. It is a tomb of the spouse of the general Alexey Vershinin - Anna Vershinina. They say, that Vershinina was anxious about her family's destiny, she was afraid that their family grave will be forgotten. And once, Anna heard a voice of Christ in a dream: "Buy a place for your family grave  in advance  and put my bronze image there. Then each passerby will pray near it and will remember you". Since then the worshippers regard the statue as wonder-working.

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Moskovsky Prospect, 100/2
  • Phone Number: +7 (812) 252-37-59
  • Site: www.novodev.spb.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 17:00
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Воскресенский Новодевичий монастырь

0

Действующий православный женский монастырь

Первый Павославный женский монастырь Санкт-Петербургской епархии Русской Церкви. Изначально обитель находилась в районе Смольного собора в летнем дворце императрицы Елизаветы Петровны. При Екатерине II было учреждено училище для воспитания девиц из дворянских семей, которое затем переросло в Смольный институт. К 1797 году часть монахинь перешла в другие обители, в 1827 году Воскресенский Новодевичий монастырь был закрыт. В 1845 году император Николай I подписал указ о возобновлении Новодевичьего монастыря. Осенью 1848 года обитель была перенесена ближе к Московским триумфальным воротам где находится и поныне. Последний раз монастырь был упразднен в 1937 году, но с 1995 года он вновь стал дейсвующим, коим является и по настоящее время.

Именно Новодевичий Монастырь в последние годы стал местом поклонения знаменитым афонским святныям, привозимым в Санкт-Петербург. Многокилометровые очереди тянулись вдоль Московского проспекта до самого Обводного канала: люди шли прикоснуться к мощам святых заступников. С 20 по 24 октября 2011 года в монастыре пребывал Пояс Богородицы из греческого монастыря Ватопед,а с  14 января 2014 года в монастырь доставли Дары Волхвов из афонского монастыря святого Павла. Кроме того, в Казанском храме постоянно находится ковфежец с шуицей (левой рукой) преподобного Иаоанна Дамаскина.

На надгробии одной из могил Воскресенского кладбища при монастыре (недалеко от входа) находится бронзовая статуя Иисуса Христа. Это могила супруги генерала Алексея Вершинина - Анны Вершининой. Рассказывают о том, Вершинину тревожила судьба семьи, она боялась, что их семейная могила будет заброшена. И вот однажды генеральша услышала во сне слова самого Христа: "Купите заранее место на кладбище и поставьте Мое бронзовое изображение. Тогда каждый прохожий помолится и вспомнит о вас". С тех пор верующие почитают это изображение Господа как чудотворное.          

Михаил Александрович Врубель

Русский художник рубежа XIX—XX веков, работавший практически во всех видах и жанрах изобразительного искусства: живописи, графике, декоративной скульптуре и театральном искусстве.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Московский проспект, 100
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 252-37-59
  • Сайт: www.novodev.spb.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 17:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще