St. Nicholas Naval Cathedral in Kronstadt

0

The last and largest of the naval cathedrals of the Russian Empire

The Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas is the last and largest of the naval cathedrals of the Russian Empire. It was built in Kronstadt in 1903-1913 upon the project of V.A. Kosyakov in Neo-Byzantine style. The stauropegial status of the cathedral indicates its direct subordination to the patriarch. Since May 2013, it has been considered the main temple of the Russian Navy.

The construction was initiated by the commander of the Kronstadt port, Vice Admiral N.I. Kaznakov. The requirement for the preparation of the design was that the height of the dome would allow the cathedral to serve as a guidemark seen from the sea, and the cross of the church would be the first thing that caught the eye of the sailor. In 1907, the temple was completed and the interior decoration began. The cost of the construction amounted to 1,876,000 rubles. The consecration of the cathedral took place on June 23, 1913 in the royal presence.

St. Nicholas Cathedral was conceived as a church monument to all perished sailors. Using images and Christian symbols, the Naval Cathedral proclaimed the idea of ​​raising military service to the rank of a spiritual endeavor, emphasizing its inextricability with moral purity. The idea of sanctity of patriotism was expressed in the commemoration of the dead soldiers and the installation of memorial plaques inside the church - the symbol of the Kingdom of God - with the soldiers’ names and an indication of the circumstances of their death.

Inside the cathedral were black and white marble plaques. The black ones carried the names of naval officers who died in battle or were killed in the line of duty. The white plaques, located inside the altar, had the names of clergymen who served on naval vessels and died at sea. Relics associated with the history of ships and naval crews, as well as evidence of the sailors’ feats were collected in the sacristy. This was the only temple in Russia that every sailor could rightfully consider his own.

In 1929, after closing, the cathedral was converted into a cinema named after Maxim Gorky. The gilding was washed off the domes, the gilded parts of the icons were ripped off, the marble iconostasis was dismantled, the mosaic icons and murals were plastered over, relics from the gallery of naval glory as well as all church property were taken from the cathedral.

The first liturgy in 75 years took place on December 19, 2005. The consecration of the cathedral took place on May 28, 2013, when the temple celebrated its 100th anniversary.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Никольский морской собор в Кронштадте

0

Последний и самый крупный из морских соборов Российской Империи

Морской собор святителя Николая Чудотворца — последний и самый крупный из морских соборов Российской империи. Построен в 1903-1913 гг. в Кронштадте по неовизантийскому проекту В. А. Косякова. Ставропигиальный статус собора указывает на его прямое подчинение патриарху. С мая 2013 г. считается основным храмом Военно-морского флота России.

Инициатором строительства стал командир Кронштадтского порта вице-адмирал Н.И.Казнаков. Условием для составления проекта было то, чтобы высота купола позволила собору служить ориентиром с моря, а крест морского храма был первым, что бросалось в глаза мореплавателю. В 1907 г. храм был готов, началась внутренняя отделка. Стоимость строительства собора составила 1 876 000 рублей. Освящение собора состоялось 23 июня 1913 г. в Высочайшем присутствии.

Морской Николаевский собор был задуман как храм-памятник всем когда-либо погибшим морякам. Языком образов и христианских символов Морской собор провозглашал идею возведения воинского служения в ранг духовного подвига, подчеркивая неразрывность его с нравственной чистотой. Идея освещения патриотизма выражалась в поименном поминовении умерших воинов и установке в пространстве храма – образа Царства Божия – памятных досок с их именами и указанием на обстоятельства гибели.

Внутри были расположены черные и белые мраморные доски. Черные — с именами офицеров морского ведомства, погибших в боях и при исполнении своего служебного долга. На белых мраморных досках, расположенных в алтаре, были запечатлены имена священнослужителей, служивших на военно-морских судах и погибших в море. В ризнице-музее собирались реликвии, связанные с историей кораблей, флотских экипажей, свидетельства подвигов моряков. Это единственный в России храм, который каждый моряк мог по праву считать своим.

В 1929 г., после закрытия, собор был переоборудован в кинотеатр имени Максима Горького. С куполов смыли позолоту, отломали позолоченные части икон, демонтировали мраморный иконостас, замазали штукатуркой мозаичные иконы, росписи, реликвии из галереи военно-морской славы и всё церковное имущество из храма забрали.

Первая за 75 лет литургия состоялась 19 декабря 2005 г. Великое освящение собора состоялось 28 мая 2013 г., когда храм отмечал своё 100-летие.

Возрожденные храмы Петербурга

Маршрут ознакомит вас с наиболее интересными возрожденными и восстановленными храмами Санкт-Петербурга, красота которых вновь радует глаз жителей и гостей Северной столицы и вновь украшает городской пейзаж. 

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Кронштадт, Якорная площадь, 1
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 311-42-80
  • Сайт: www.kronshtadt-pravoslavny.ru/svyatiny/hrami/nikolevsky
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 10:00 - 18:00
    Храм открыт: 09:30-18:00 Каждый день в 10.00 и в 18.00 проводятся богослужения
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще