0

The monastery was founded by John of Kronstadt in honor of John Rylsky in the early XX century 

The building was built in 1900-1902 by the architect Nikonov. The lower Church was consecrated in honor of St. John of Rila (Rylskiy), the heavenly patron of the Dear Father, and the upper Cathedral-in honor of the Twelve Apostles. The abbess of the monastery was the spiritual daughter of Fr. John, hegumeness Angelina (Sergieva) (1867-1927).

From the very beginning, father John had been especially concerned about the improvement of the new monastery. Even during the life of the Priest, his works and prayers, the monastery had reached its peak. The monastery attracted worshippers with its statutory services and the touching singing of the sisters. Fr.John liked to call himself "the Builder of the John’s monastery by the grace of God". Here were his chambers, where he stayed during a visit to the Northern capital. Here was also built a temple-tomb, in which, according to the will of the Father, he was buried on December 22, 1908. The tomb was consecrated in the name of the prophet Elijah and Queen Theodora, the heavenly patrons of Fr. John.

By 1917, the monastery had 350 sisters. The sisters did almost everything they needed themselves. The monastery had its own subsidiary farm, workshops, and hospital. Charitable assistance was provided to those in need, and there was a shelter for orphans. During World War I, the monastery opened an infirmary for wounded soldiers and officers.

After the arrival of the new government, the monastery was closed in 1923, all the property was taken out and looted, and the building was transferred to the management of more than 20 different organizations. In the following years, almost all of the sisters were arrested and sent to prisons and camps.

In 1989, the monastery began to return to the Russian Orthodox Church. In the 70 years that have passed since the monastery was closed, the building has fallen into a severe decline. The temples and all the rooms were rebuilt. It took several years of intensive repair and restoration work to return the monastery to its original appearance.

Simultaneously with the restoration of the walls, the revival of monastic life began. After the consecration of the upper Church by his ever-Memorable Patriarch Alexy II of Moscow and All Russia on July 13, 1991, services are held daily at the monastery. Gradually, the work of monastic workshops is being adjusted. In the Church-tomb of St. John of Kronstadt a small Museum dedicated to him and the history of the monastery was created. The monastery has a free Sunday school. In 1992, the monastery was granted the status of a stauropegion and since then it has been under the direct authority of his Holiness the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia.

Petersburg patron saints

This route will get you acquainted with patron saints of St.Petersburg – Alexander Nevsky, Xenia the Blessed, John of Kronshradt

4 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, nab. reki Karpovki, 45
  • Phone Number: +7(812 )234-24-27; 8 (812) 234-60-95, 8 (812) 234-28-65
  • Site: imonspb.ru
  • Email: i.monn@yandex.ru
  • Working time: Round table
    John of Rilachedule of services - http://imonspb.ru/monastery/raspisanie/ The monastery is open to the public from 8.00 am until the end of the evening service (approximately 19.30) Services are held daily
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Свято-Иоанновский Монастырь

0

Монастырь был основан Иоанном Кронштадтским в честь Иоанна Рыльского в начале XX века

Здание было построено в 1900-1902 гг. по проекту архитектора Никонова. Нижний храм освящен в честь преподобного Иоанна Рыльского, небесного покровителя Дорогого Батюшки, верхний собор — в честь Двенадцати Апостолов. Настоятельницей обители была духовная дочь о. Иоанна, игумения Ангелина (Сергиева) (1867-1927).

С самого начала отец Иоанн особенно заботился о благоустроении новой обители. Еще при жизни Батюшки, его трудами и молитвами монастырь достиг своего расцвета. Обитель привлекала богомольцев своими уставными службами, умилительным пением сестер-певчих. Сам о. Иоанн любил называть себя «Божией милостью строитель Иоанновского монастыря». Здесь располагались его покои, в которых он останавливался во время посещения Северной столицы. Здесь же был устроен храм-усыпальница, в котором по завещанию Батюшки он и был похоронен 22 декабря 1908 года. Усыпальница была освящена во имя пророка Илии и царицы Феодоры, небесных покровителей родителей о. Иоанна.

К 1917 году в монастыре проживало 350 сестер. Практически все необходимое сестры делали сами. Обитель имела свое подсобное хозяйство, мастерские, больницу. Оказывалась благотворительная помощь нуждающимся, действовал приют для сирот. Во время I Мировой войны в монастыре был открыт лазарет для раненых солдат и офицеров.

После прихода новой власти монастырь был закрыт в 1923 году, все имущество было вывезено и разграблено, а здание передано в ведение более 20 различным организаций. В последующие годы почти все сестры подверглись арестам и были сосланы в тюрьмы и лагеря.

В 1989 году началось возвращение монастыря Русской Православной Церкви. За 70 лет, прошедшие после закрытия обители, здание пришло в сильный упадок. Храмы и все помещения были перестроены. Потребовалось несколько лет интенсивных ремонтно-восстановительных работ для того, чтобы возвратит монастырю его первоначальный облик.

Одновременно с восстановлением стен началось возрождение монашеской жизни. После того, как 13 июля 1991 года Приснопамятный Святейший Патриарх Московский и Всея Руси Алексий II совершил освящение верхнего храма, в обители ежедневно совершаются службы. Постепенно налаживается работа монастырских мастерских. В храме-усыпальнице св. прав. Иоанна Кронштадтского создан небольшой музей посвященный ему и истории монастыря. При обители действует бесплатная воскресная школа. В 1992 год монастырь получил статус ставропигиального и с того момента находится в непосредственном подчинении Святейшего Патриарха Московского и Всея Руси.

Небесные покровители Петербурга

Вы узнаете о небесных покровителях Петербурга: Александре Невском, Ксении Петербургской, Иоанне Кронштадтском

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, набережная реки Карповки, 45
  • Телефон: +7(812 )234-24-27
  • Сайт: imonspb.ru
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
    Расписание богослужений - http://imonspb.ru/monastery/raspisanie/
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #