Church of the Holy Great Martyr Panteleimon

0

The history of the Panteleimon Church originates from the chapel at the particular shipyard on Fontanka

A wooden temple was built on the site of the chapel in 1722. September 2, 1722 the solemn consecration of the temple in the name of the holy great martyr and healer Panteleimon took place. Emperor Peter I conceived this church as a temple-monument to the Russian fleet, which had won two magnificent naval victories at that time - at Gangut on July 27, 1714 and at Grengam on July 27, 1720.

The name of the church came from the fact that both of these victories were won on the day of St. Panteleimon. The street starting at the church was also called Panteleimonovskaya (now Pestel Street). In 1734, during the reign of Anna Ioannovna, a new stone church was laid next to the wooden church.

Construction work under the leadership of N. Schumacher ended in 1739. Often authorship is attributed to Ivan Korobov, since he introduced quite a lot of amendments to Schumacher's initial draft. The solemn consecration of the new temple took place on July 27, 1739.

On June 15, 1935, the Panteleimon Church was closed, and the building itself began to be used as a grain warehouse, then as a textile workshop. In the 50s of the 20th century, memorial plaques were restored. In 1981, the Panteleimon Church building housed a branch of the Museum of the History of Leningrad Gangut Glory.

Finally, in 1994, the building was transferred to the St. Petersburg Diocese, restoration of church premises was carried out. The architecture of the church is characteristic of the first half of the 18th century: pilasters of the Doric order on the facades, a figured arched pediment above the location of the altar, a high faceted dome on an octagonal drum and a bell tower with a spire.

Baroque monuments in St. Petersburg

This route will not only make you familiar with the baroque monuments spread all over our city, but also will disclose why baroque architecture strayed so much from the european traditions. 

3 h

St. Peterburg of Peter the Great's times

This route will help you to open little-known, but intresting facts about the city and makes you sure that many traditions from the past carry on to exist in the present life

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, ul. Pestelya, 2-a
  • Phone Number: +7(812)579-30-12
  • Site: https://vk.com/club64939694
  • Working time: Round table
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Церковь во имя Святого Великомученика Пантелеймона

0

История церкви берет свое начало с  часовни партикулярной верфи на Фонтанке

История Пантелеймоновской церкви ведет свое начало от часовни при партикулярной верфи на Фонтанке. На месте часовни в 1722 году был построен деревянный храм. 2 сентября 1722 года состоялось торжественное освящение храма во имя святого великомученика и целителя Пантелеймона. Император Петр I задумывал эту церковь как храм-памятник русскому флоту, одержавшему к тому времени две великолепные морские победы – при Гангуте 27 июля 1714 года и при Гренгаме 27 июля 1720 года. 
Название церкви произошло оттого, что обе эти победы были одержаны в день Святого Пантелеймона. Улицу, начинающуюся у церкви, также назвали Пантелеймоновской (ныне улица Пестеля). В 1734 году, во время правления Анны Иоанновны рядом с деревянной церковью был заложен новый каменный храм. 
Строительные работы под руководством Н. Шумахера закончились в 1739 году. Часто авторство приписывается Ивану Коробову, поскольку он внес достаточно много поправок в первоначальный проект Шумахера. Торжественное освящение нового храма состоялось 27 июля 1739 года. 
15 июня 1935 года Пантелеймоновская церковь была закрыта, а само здание стало использоваться под склад зерна, затем  - как текстильный цех. В 50-е годы XX века мемориальные доски были отреставрированы. В 1981 году в здании Пантелеймоновской церкви разместился филиал музея истории Ленинграда Гангутская слава.
Наконец, в 1994 году здание было передано Санкт-Петербургской епархии, проведена реставрация церковных помещений. Архитектура церкви является характерной для первой половины XVIII века: пилястры дорического ордера на фасадах, фигурный лучковый фронтон над местом расположения алтаря, высокий граненый купол на восьмигранном барабане и колокольня со шпилем.

Памятники барокко в Петербурге

Маршрут не только познакомит с сохранившимися памятниками этого стиля, но и раскроет секрет, почему в архитектуре Санкт-Петербурга появилось так много отличий от европейских традиций.

Петербург Петра Великого

Проходя по данному маршруту Вы откроете для себя немало интересных и малоизвестных фактов из города Петербурга времен Петра Первого, а также убедитесь, что многие традиции прошлого живы и сейчас в северной столице

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, ул. Пестеля, д. 2-а
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще