His Majesty’s Feodorovskiy Cathedral (Pushkin)

0

An Orthodox church in the St. Petersburg’s suburban town of Pushkin near the Fermskiy Park

The idea of building a 17th century style architectural complex “Feodorovskiy gorodok” (Feodorovskiy township) on barracks’ territory arose in the middle of the first decade of the 1900s. A regimental temple was to become the central dominant of the complex. In 1909, His Majesty personally condescended to indicate and measure with steps the place of the future church in a clearing adjacent to Tsarskoye Selo Park.

Pokrovskiy V.A. was appointed as the architect of the church and took the Cathedral of the Annunciation of Moscow Kremlin in its most ancient form, without subsequent alterations and extensions of the 16th century as a foundation for his new design. Nicholas II and Alexandra Fedorovna provided the core funding for the construction of the cathedral (150,000 rubles). The final cost of construction amounted to 1 million 150 thousand rubles. This sum, in addition to the aforementioned contribution of the imperial family, was raised by voluntary donations from merchants and industrialists. The ceremonial consecration of the new cathedral took place on September 2, 1912 in the presence of the imperial family and was performed by the Protopresbyter of the military and naval clergy Georgiy Shavelskiy.

The main part of the church is of a four-pillar cubic, cross-domed system. The uniform wall planes are broken by slightly prominent shoulder blades, a light arcature belt and stucco Russian coats of arms on the tsar's porch. The façades are decorated with mosaic panels made in the workshop of the Russian mosaic artist V. A. Frolov.

His Majesty’s Feodorovskiy Cathedral (rus. Feodorovskiy Gosudarev sobor) was considered the regimental temple of His Imperial Majesty's Own Consolidated Infantry Regiment, and was also "the parish of the Emperor’s family". During their stay in Tsarskoye Selo, the emperor's family visited the church on holidays and Sundays.

On June 13, 1933, the church was closed by the decision of the Leningrad Executive Committee. The Church’s property was divided among several museums. The mosaics were painted over. The upper church was adapted for a cinema, the screen was located in the altar’s place. The lower church was used as a Film and Photodocuments archive and warehouse. During the Great Patriotic War, the building suffered heavy damage under the shelling and bombing. The walls of the northern and western façades were ruined, roof trusses were damaged, and the main dome was destroyed. The staircase of the main entrance was dismantled. The archive in the church was destroyed by fire.

In the spring of 1991, Feodorovskiy Cathedral was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. In the same year, in one of the Tsarskoye Selo parks, the Feodorov Icon of the Mother of God was miraculously found and became one of the revered relics of the cathedral. In 1992, religious services began in the lower, and in 1996 in the upper church.

In 1995, Feodorovskiy Cathedral was included in the list of objects of historical and cultural heritage as a monument of architecture of federal significance.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Феодоровский Государев собор в Пушкине

0

Православный храм в пригороде Санкт-Петербурга городе Пушкине у Фермского парка

В середине 1900-х годов возникла идея строительства на территории казарм архитектурного комплекса в стиле XVII века под названием «Феодоровский городок». Центральной доминантой должен был стать полковой храм. В конце 1908 года император Николай II лично указал и отмерил шагами место для постройки постоянного храма.

Архитектором стал В. А. Покровский, который взял за основу Благовещенский собор Московского Кремля в его древнейшем виде, без последующих переделок и пристроек XVI века. Основные средства для постройки собора (150 000 рублей) предоставили Николай II и Александра Фёдоровна. Эту сумму, кроме указанного вклада императорской семьи, составили добровольные пожертвования купечества и промышленников. Торжественное освящение нового собора состоялось 2 сентября 1912 года в присутствии императорской семьи и было совершено протопресвитером военного и морского духовенства Георгием Шавельским.

Основной объём храма четырёхстолпный кубический, крестово-купольной системы. Однообразные плоскости стен нарушаются слегка выделяющимся лопатками, лёгким аркатурным поясом и лепными российскими гербами на царском крыльце. Фасады украшены мозаичными панно, изготовленными в мастерской русского художника-мозаичиста В. А. Фролова.

Феодоровский Государев собор считался полковым храмом Сводного пехотного полка и Собственного его императорского величества конвоя, а также был «приходом семьи императора». Во время пребывания в Царском Селе семья императора посещала храм в праздничные и воскресные дни.

13 июня 1933 года было принято решение Леноблисполкома о закрытии храма. Церковное имущество было поделено между несколькими музеями. Мозаика была закрашена. Верхний храм был приспособлен под кинозал, экран располагался на месте алтаря. В нижнем  был устроен архив кинофотодокументов и склад киноплёнки. В Великую Отечественную войну здание сильно пострадало от обстрелов. Были сильно разрушены стены северного и западного фасадов, повреждены перекрытия кровли, уничтожен главный купол. Лестница главного входа была разобрана. Архив, находившийся в храме, сгорел.

Весной 1991 года Феодоровский собор был передан Русской Православной Церкви. В том же году в одном из царскосельских парков была чудесным образом обретена Феодоровская икона Божьей Матери, ставшая одной из почитаемых святынь собора. В 1992 году начались богослужения в нижней, а в 1996 году — в верхней церквях.

В 1995 году Фёдоровский собор был включен в число объектов исторического и культурного наследия как памятник архитектуры федерального значения. 

Возрожденные храмы Петербурга

Маршрут ознакомит вас с наиболее интересными возрожденными и восстановленными храмами Санкт-Петербурга, красота которых вновь радует глаз жителей и гостей Северной столицы и вновь украшает городской пейзаж. 

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Пушкин, Академический проспект, 34
  • Телефон: +7(812) 466-61-69
  • Email: archimandrit@mail.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 18:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #