0

Saint Sampson's Cathedral in St. Petersburg is one of the few architectural monuments of the first half of the XVIII century that have survived to this day

The church in the name of St. Sampson was laid by Peter I to honour a military victory. Such a tradition could already be seen during the laying and consecration of the church in the name of great martyr, Saint Pantaleon. Exactly on the day in his memory on July 27 (Julian Calendar), Peter I managed to win two victories in the Great Northern War: the Battle of Gangut on July 27, 1714 and the Battle of Grengam on July 27, 1720.

On the day of commemoration of St. Sampson the Hospitable, June 27, 1709, there also was a significant military victory that decided the outcome of the Great Northern War: Russian troops inflicted a crushing defeat upon the Swedish army in the Battle of Poltava.

In celebration of this, Emperor Peter I ordered the construction of a church near the Vyborg road, which led towards the territories of the Swedish king. At first, it was a small wooden church, consecrated in 1710. The church was rebuilt into a cathedral in 1728-1740. A part of the reconstruction funds was donated by a Yaroslavl merchant I.A. Lapshin, but the funding wasn’t sufficient and the cathedral had to be completed at the state treasury’s expense. The cathedral was completed only under the reign of Empress Anna Ivanovna.

The cathedral and the bell tower were erected in 1740. The cathedral’s architect is P.A. Trezzini, the architect of the bell tower is unknown. The cathedral is a one-storey building on a quarried stone strip foundation made of copestone base plate (rus. Leschad’, a tile or a flagstone, chipped into layers and used as brick for flat floors), with limestone basement and brick walls. The height of the building is 8.2 m (26.9 ft) at the eaves and 35.1 m (115.2 ft) at the dome’s cross. The closely arranged bulbous domes of the cathedral are on a single drum in the centre of the roof. The bell tower is divided into three storeys. The lower storey has two side extensions, thanks to which it is visibly wider than the upper ones. There is an arched opening and driveway in the middle of the lower storey, paved with copestone slabs. The second and third storeys are decorated with the Tuscan order pilasters. In the niche of the second storey, instead of belfries, there are decorative “false windows” on each side. The belfry with a bell of the XVIII century is in the niche of the third storey. Each face of the third storey ends with a triangular pediment. The bell tower ends with an octagonal marquee with false windows, the marquee is crowned with an onion bulb with a cross.

The chapel was built by A.P. Aplaksin in 1909 in the style of the Elizabethan Baroque modeled after F.B. Rastrelli’s works, which makes it noticeably different from the cathedral and the bell tower.

In 1711, a cemetery was built near the Saint Sampson’s Church, where various people of art were buried, works of which largely determined the look of St. Petersburg. Among them were architects D. Trezzini, A. Schlüter, J.-B. Leblon, G. Mattarnovi, sculptor K.B. Rastrelli, painters L. Caravac and S. Torelli. Presently, the cemetery is no longer there and there is Sampsonievsky skver (in Soviet times, the Karl Marx park) in its stead. Only the mass grave of A. Volynsky, A. Khrushchov and I. Eropkin remains, of the people executed in 1740 on charges of conspiracy against Biron. In 1885 at the place of their burial, a monument was erected by order of Empress Catherine II, designed by the sculptor A. Opekushin and architect M. Shurupov.

In 1933, all bells were removed, with the exception of the main one, which was damaged as a result of a shell hit on February 10, 1942. In 1938, the cathedral was closed, after which there was a ready-made dress shop there.

After the war, the cathedral with all its property was transferred to the Library of the Academy of Sciences, and was used as books and stationery storage, and later was transferred to the Wholesale and procurement base of Lengorunivermag (Leningrad City Department Store). Archival documents confirm that the destroyed roof of the cathedral was restored only in 1957.

In 2000, the cathedral was opened, not as a cathedral but rather as a museum. It received the status of a state museum-monument. The Church was allowed to hold services on Saturdays and Sundays, and during the Twelve Great Feasts and Holidays.

After a long break, on May 21, 2002, on the day in memory of the Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian, in whose honour one of the chapels of the cathedral was consecrated, the first Divine Liturgy was served by the rector of the church, Archpriest John Malinin. The director of the Cathedral at that time was Nikolai Viktorovich Nagorsky.

Since 2010, daily services are held at Saint Sampson's Cathedral. In 2017, the cathedral transferred under jurisdiction of the Russian Orthodox Church. The rector of the cathedral is Archimandrite Seraphim (Shkred’).

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Bol'shoy Sampsoniyevskiy pr., 41
  • Phone Number: +7 (921) 180-46-67;+7 (921) 447-67-30
  • Site: sampsony.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 08:00 - 19:00
    Religious services schedule: Services in the cathedral are performed daily Monday to Friday at 10:00 - Divine Liturgy On Saturday at 10:00 - Divine Liturgy, at 17:00 - the All-Night Vigil On Sunday at 10:00 - Divine Liturgy, at 17:00 - Akathist Evening services on weekdays are performed on the eve of the holidays at 17:00 The Sacraments of Baptism and Wedding also take place in the cathedral
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Сампсониевский собор в Петербурге – один из немногих памятников архитектуры первой половины XVIII века, сохранившихся до наших дней

Храм во имя Св. Сампсония заложен Петром I в честь воинской победы. Эта традиция уже наблюдалась при закладке и освящении церкви Св. великомученика Пантелеимона. Именно в день его памяти 27 июля (ст.ст.) Петру I удалось одержать две победы в Северной войне – при Гангуте 27 июля 1714 г. и Гренгаме 27 июля 1720 г. 

В день празднования памяти св. Сампсония Странноприимца – 27 июня 1709 года, также произошла значительная военная победа, решившая исход Северной войны – русские войска нанесли сокрушительное поражение шведской армии в битве под Полтавой. 

В ознаменование этого Император Петр I распорядился построить церковь возле Выборгской дороги, ведущей в сторону владений шведского короля. Поначалу это была маленькая деревянная церковь, освящена в 1710 г. Перестройка церкви в собор велась в 1728-1740 годах. Часть средств пожертвовал ярославский купец И.А. Лапшин, но средств не хватило и собор достраивали за казённый счёт. Окончен собор был только при императрице Анне Иоанновне. 

Собор и колокольня возведены в 1740 году. Архитектор собора – П.А. Трезини, архитектор колокольни неизвестен. Собор представляет собой одноэтажное сооружение на ленточном бутовом фундаменте из лещадной плиты, с известняковым цоколем и кирпичными стенами. Высота здания до карниза – 8,2 м; до креста купола – 35,1 м. Луковичные купола собора, тесно скомпонованные на одном барабане, находятся в центре крыши. Колокольня разделена на три яруса. Нижний ярус имеет две боковых пристройки, из-за этого он становится шире других двух верхних. В середине яруса имеется арочный проём и проезд, вымощенный лещадными плитами. Второй и третий ярусы украшены пилястрами тосканского ордера. В нише второго яруса вместо звонниц на каждой грани находятся декоративные "глухие окна". В нише третьего яруса располагается звонница с колоколом XVIII века. Каждая из граней третьего яруса заканчивается треугольным фронтоном. Колокольню завершает восьмигранный шатёр с ложными окнами, шатёр увенчан луковичной маковкой с крестом. 

Часовня построена в 1909 году в стиле елизаветинского барокко по образцу Ф.Б. Растрелли, который заметно отличается от собора и колокольни, архитектор – А.П. Аплаксин. 

В 1711 году возле Сампсониевского храма устроили кладбище, на котором были похоронены люди искусства, чьи произведения во многом определили облик Санкт-Петербурга. Среди них – зодчие Д. Трезини, А. Шлютер, Ж.-Б. Леблон, Г. Маттарнови, скульптор К.Б. Растрелли, живописцы Л. Каравак и С. Торелли. Ныне кладбище утрачено – на его месте – Сампсониевский сквер (в советское время – парк им. Карла Маркса). Из захоронений осталась лишь братская могила А. Волынского, А. Хрущова и И. Еропкина, казненных в 1740 году по обвинению в заговоре против Бирона. В 1885 году, по указу императрицы Екатерины II, на месте их захоронения был поставлен памятник, созданный по проекту скульптора А. Опекушина и архитектора М. Шурупова. 

В 1933 году с него были сняты все колокола, за исключением главного, повреждённого в результате попадания снаряда 10 февраля 1942 года. В 1938 году собор был закрыт, после чего там размещался магазин готового платья. 

После войны собор со всем имуществом был передан Библиотеке Академии наук, использовался для хранения книг и канцелярских товаров, а позже был передан Оптово-закупочной базе Ленгорунивермага. Архивные документы подтверждают, что разрушенная крыша собора была восстановлена только в 1957 году. 

В 2000 году собор был открыт, но не как собор, а как музей. Он получил статус государственного музея-памятника. По субботам и воскресеньям, и в двунадесятые праздники в храме разрешили проводить богослужения. 

После большого перерыва, 21 мая 2002 года в день памяти святого апостола и евангелиста Иоанна Богослова, во имя честь которого освящён один из приделов собора, настоятелем храма протоиереем Иоанном Малининым была отслужена первая Божественная Литургия. Директором Собора в это время был Николай Викторович Нагорский. 
С 2010 года в Сампсониевском Соборе проводятся ежедневные богослужения. 
В 2017 году собор передан в управление Русской Православной Церкви. 
Настоятелем собора является архимандрит Серафим (Шкредь).

Расписание богослужений

Службы в соборе совершаются ежедневно. 
С понедельника по пятницу в 10:00 – Божественная Литургия.
В субботу в 10:00 Божественная Литургия, в 17:00 – Всенощное бдение.
В воскресенье в 10:00 Божественная Литургия, в 17:00 Акафист 
Вечерние богослужения в будние дни совершаются накануне праздников в 17:00 
В соборе также совершаются таинства Крещения и Венчания.

Маршрут «Храмы Выборгской стороны – возрождение традиций»

Пешеходный маршрут знакомит экскурсантов с достопримечательностями Выборгской стороны, делая при этом акцент на истории храмов Большого Сампсониевского и Лесного проспектов.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Большой Сампсониевский проспект, 41
  • Телефон: +7 (931) 223-80-83
  • Сайт: sampsony.ru
  • Дополнительно: +7 (921) 447-67-30; https://vk.com/sampsonysobor
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 10:00 - 18:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #