Cossack Cathedral of the Holy Cross Exaltation

0

​The cathedral was named Cossack because Cossacks living in Saint Petersburg and belonging to the Saint Petersburg Cossack community "Nevskaya stanitsa" had meals and served in it

The Orthodox church in honor of the holiday of the  Holy Cross Exaltation is one of the oldest churches in Saint Petersburg. Initially it was built in 1718 as a small church in the name of the holiday of the Nativity of John the Baptist. In 1731 the church burned down and a chapel was built on its place, which later became a church with the Nikolsky parish used by the Life Guards Kirasirsky regiment since 1743. Being built from old materials, the temple did not last long and by 1748 it was rebuilt into a new stone church in the name  of the Holy Cross Exaltation and the Life-Giving Cross of the Lord. In this form the temple existed for about 100 years. It was decided to rebuild the temple again since it started to need repair during this time. In 1848-1851 the  Church of the Holy  Exaltation  was reconstructed in the Baroque style according to the project of Yegor Ivanovich Dimmert,  Stasov's student.

Not only  residents of the Ligovsky district prayed in the renovated church, but also Cossacks who served in the capital's Life Guards Cossack and Ataman regiments and did not have their own church at that time (the barracks of these regiments were located along the Obvodny Chanel). The return of the Cossack guard from campaigns was  always marked by service in the Church of the Holy Cross Exaltation or the Tikhvin Church.

The Church of the Exaltation was closed in 1938 and was supposed to be demolished. But later the Leningrad department of the «Soyuzkinoprokat» organization requested the Leningrad Union to grant them this building. The building was given to «Soyuzkinoprokat» for using it as a movie storage. The redevelopment,  erection of new capital crosscut walls and ceilings disfigured the interior. According to available data, five priests had served served in  the church were shot in 1937-1938.

The renaissance of the temple began when the entire complex was given back to the Russian Orthodox Church in 1991. The Church of the Exaltation officially became a cathedral in 2000.

A bust of Nicholas II was set at the altar wall of the Cathedral of the Holy Cross Exaltation in 2002.

The restoration of the architectural complex of the cathedral funded by the city government started in 2008: the bell tower of the cathedral was restored, the domes were gilded and the restoration of the roof  started in 2014.

Cossacks actively participate in restoration works: they quickly removed the concrete ceilings and partitions from the internal part, the cathedral is being prepared  for services.

The complex of the Cossack Cathedral of the Holy Cross Exaltation consists of three churches:

  • Cathedral of the Holy Cross Exaltation;
  • Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God;
  • Cyril and Methodius Church (located in the bell tower).

Liturgies are held in the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God, but the church is open to prayers only during services, the rest of the time the Cathedral of the Holy Cross Exaltation is open.

  • Address: St. Petersburg, Ligovsky pr., 128
  • Phone Number: +78127640808
  • Site: krest-sobor.ru
  • Email: Krestsobor@yandex.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 20:00
    None
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Крестовоздвиженский Казачий Собор

0

Собор назван Казачим, потому что в нем окормляются и несут службу казаки, живущие в Петербурге и состоящие в Санкт-Петербургском казачьем землячестве «Невская станица»

 

Православный храм в честь праздника Воздвижения Креста Господня является одним из старейших храмов Санкт-Петербурга. Перваначально построен в 1718 году как небольшая церковь во имя праздника рождества Иоанна Предтечи. В 1731 году церковь сгорела и на ее месте была построена сначала часовня, которая впоследствии переросла в церковь с Никольским приходом, которым с 1743 г. пользовался лейб-гвардии Кирасирский полк. Будучи построенным из старых материалов, храм просуществовал недолго и к 1748 году был перестроен в новую каменную церковь  во имя Воздвижения Честнаго и Животворящего Креста Господня. В таком виде храм просущестововал около 100 лет. Т.к. за это время он стал нуждаться в ремонте, было принято решение перестроить храм заново. В 1848-1851 годах Крестовоздвиженская церковь была перестроена в стиле барокко по проекту Егора Ивановича Диммерта, ученика Стасова. 

В обновленных храмах молились не только жители Лиговой стороны,  но в том числе и казаки, служившие в столичных Лейб-Гвардии Казачьем и Атаманском полках и не имевшие в ту пору собственного храма (казармы этих полков располагались вдоль Обводного канала). Возвращение казачьей гвардии из походов всегда знаменовалось службой в Крестовоздвиженской или Тихвинской церквях.

Крестовоздвиженская церковь была закрыта в 1938 году и предполагалась к сносу. Но позже ленинградское отделение объединения «Союзкинопрокат» ходатайствовало в Ленсовет о предоставлении им здания церкви. Здание было передано «Союзкинопрокату» под фильмохранилище. Интерьер был искажен и обезображен перепланировкой, возведением новых капитальных поперечных стен и перекрытий. По имеющимся сведениям, в 1937-1938 гг. были расстреляны пятеро из священнослужителей Крестовоздвиженского храма.

Возрождение храма началось с возвращения всего комплекса Русской Православной Церкви в 1991 году. С 2000 года Крестовоздвиженская церковь имеет статус собора.

У алтарной стены Крестовоздвиженского собора в 2002 году установлен бюст Николая II.

С 2008 года за счёт средств городского бюджета идёт реставрация архитектурного комплекса собора: отреставрирована колокольня собора, позолочены купола, в 2014 году начались работы по реставрации кровли собора. 

Активное участие в восстановительных работах принимают казаки: за короткое время они освободили внутреннее пространство собора от бетонных перекрытий и перегородок, ведутся работы по подготовке собора к совершению богослужений. 

В комплекс прихода Крестовоздвиженского казачьего собора входят три храма:

- Крестовоздвиженский собор,
- Церковь во имя Тихвинской иконы Божией Матери,
- Церковь Кирилла и Мефодия (расположена в  колокольне).

Богослужения совершаются в церкви во имя Тихвинской иконы Божией Матери, церковь открыта для посещения прихожанами только во время проведения богослужений, в остальное время открыт Крестовоздвиженский собор.

 

 

Священный дух казачества

Маршрут представляет петербуржцам и гостям города в исторической перспективе события, памятники и персоналии, отражающие неразрывную связь казачества с православной верой

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Лиговский проспект, 128
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 572 40 63
  • Сайт: krest-sobor.ru
  • Email: Krestsobor@yandex.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 13:00, 14:00 - 20:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще
# # # #