The church of Our Lady of Lourdes

0

Roman Catholic Church in St. Petersburg

Before the revolution in the capital lived 3 700 French Catholics, who prayed, as a rule, in the St. Catherine Church on Nevsky. At the French Embassy in 1860 appeared the idea of a separate temple for both, and at the same time architect N. Benois created a project for the building in the Gothic style. However, only in October, 1898, Ambassador count Montebello managed, through the Russo-French rapprochement, to achieve the Highest resolution on the construction of the Roman Catholic Church. First for him, took Manezhnaya square, but because of the protests of the Orthodox Church and the public in the summer of 1900 was bought for 67 thousands rubles a site away from the city center, in the Kovensky lane. Here, in the same year, the project of architect O. I. Thibault-Brignoles, member of the community, was built a small temporary parish Church made of wood.

At the request of Father Superior A. Kuni, academician L.N. Benoit composed in 1902 a project of a three-nave basilica in the Romanesque style with a separate high bell tower. According to this project, which was distinguished by its picturesque composition, the building was laid on June 23, 1903 in the presence of Ambassador Count Montebello. It was built on donations and lottery income. First of all, a crypt with a temporary overlap was built, which allowed to immediately begin the service. Now this is the lower hall of the church.

The French company Batignol donated a lot of Finnish granite left from the construction of the Trinity Bridge to the community, and the Black Sea plant - cement, which ultimately led to a change in the initial project. In 1908, L.N. Benois and his student M.M. Peretyatkovich drew up a new version, offering instead of the naves a hall covered with reinforced concrete vault and a facade lined with coarse-crushed granite, which gave the building a modern-style appearance. The amended draft required reapproval.  Legal difficulties arised and were overcome  trough intervention of the French embassy. Peretyatkovich himself supervised the construction, the main contractor was an experienced engineer S. N. Smirnov, the construction was performed by the partnership “Reinforced Concrete”. On a 30-meter bell tower hung a bell cast at the factory of K. Orlov. Bowls for holy water were made from sea shells.

The consecration of the church in the name of the French Mother of God (Notre Dame de France) was performed on November 22, 1909 by Bishop Jan Tseplyak in the presence of members of the diplomatic corps and government officials.

Inside the church was decorated with adjacent Gothic columns. The altarpiece “Jeanne d’Arc - Defender of France” was painted in 1916 by the famous artist and academician E. K. Lipgart (in 1957 the image was replaced by the painting “Handing the keys to Apostle Peter” by Zakharov).

Here were held last rites of representatives of the Benoit family and many Petersburgers of French descent. The community before the revolution totaled 1 500 parishioners.

The feast day is celebrated on February 11, earlier it was celebrated on August 15, the day of the Assumption.

The superior of 1907–1935 was the Dominican pater Jean Amoudru. Until August 1941, services were conducted by Father Clovis Florun, who was expelled from the USSR after breaking relations with France.

The church did not function in 1922–1923, but then did not close (because it was still assigned to the French embassy) and for a long time was the only active Catholic church in Leningrad. In these years, mainly Poles prayed in it.

During the blockade, services ceased and only in the autumn of 1945 resumed. Since that time, the temple has the name of Our Lady of Lourdes. In 1997, the interior was decorated with stained glass windows with biblical scenes made by I. Baykova.

1

Roman and Gothic style in St. Petersburg

This route acquaints with Roman and Gothic architecture in St. Petersburg

3 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, Kovensky per., 7
  • Phone Number: +7 (911) 962-25-63
  • Site: www.kovensky.ru
  • Working time:
    Monday - Sunday: 09:00 - 18:00
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Церковь Лурдской Божией Матери

0

Римско-католическая церковь в городе Санкт-Петербурге

Перед революцией в столице жило 3700 французов-католиков, которые молились, как правило, в Екатерининской церкви на Невском. Во французском посольстве уже в 1860 возник замысел отдельного храма для соотечественников, и тогда же арх. Н. Л. Бенуа создал проект здания в готическом стиле. Однако лишь в октябре 1898 послу гр. Монтебелло удалось, благодаря русско-французскому сближению, добиться Высочайшего разрешения на строительство французами собственного костела. Сперва для него отвели Манежную площадь, но из-за протестов Православной Церкви и общественности летом 1900 был куплен за 67 тыс. руб. участок подальше от центра, в Kовенском переулке. Здесь, в том же году, по проекту арх. О. И. Тибо-Бриньоль, члена общины, из дерева была выстроена небольшая временная приходская церковь. 
По просьбе настоятеля патера А. Кюни акад. Л. Н. Бенуа сочинил в 1902 проект трехнефной базилики в романском стиле с отдельной высокой башней-колокольней. По этому проекту, отличавшемуся живописной композицией, здание 23 июня 1903 и было заложено в присутствии посла гр. Монтебелло. Оно возводилось на пожертвования и доходы от лотереи. Прежде всего была выстроена крипта с временным перекрытием, что позволило сразу начать богослужение. Теперь это нижний зал костела. 
Французская фирма Батиньоль пожертвовала общине много финского гранита, оставшегося от постройки Троицкого моста, а Черноморский завод – цемент, что, в конечном итоге, привело к изменению первоначального проекта. В 1908 Л. Н. Бенуа и его ученик М. М. Перетяткович составили новый вариант, предложив вместо нефов зал, перекрытый железобетонным сводом, и фасад, облицованный грубоколотым гранитом, что придало зданию облик в стиле модерн. Измененный проект потребовал повторного утверждения, при этом возникли юридические трудности, преодоленные благодаря вмешательству французского посольства. Строительством руководил сам Перетяткович, главным подрядчиком был опытный инженер С. Н. Смирнов, конструкции исполнило товарищество „Железобетон“. На 30-метровой колокольне повесили колокол, отлитый на заводе К. Орлова. Чаши для святой воды были сделаны из морских раковин. 
Освящение костела во имя Французской Божией Матери (Notre Dame de France) произвел 22 ноября 1909 епископ Ян Цепляк в присутствии членов дипкорпуса и представителей власти. 
Внутри костел был оформлен прилегающими готическими колоннами. Запрестольный образ „Жанна д’Арк – защитница Франции“ написал в 1916 известный художник-академист Э. К. Липгарт (в 1957 образ заменили картиной „Вручение ключей ап. Петру“ Захарова). В храме хранятся частицы Креста Господня и некоторые святыни, переданные после закрытия собора св. Екатерины. 
В этой церкви отпевали представителей семьи Бенуа и многих петербуржцев французского происхождения. Община перед революцией насчитывала 1500 прихожан. 
Престольный праздник сегодня отмечается 11 февраля, ранее отмечался 15 августа, в день Успения. 
Настоятелем в 1907–1935 состоял патер-доминиканец Жан Амудрю. До августа 1941 богослужения вел о. Кловис Флоран, высланный из СССР после разрыва отношений с Францией. 
Церковь не действовала в 1922–1923, но затем не закрывалась (ибо по-прежнему была приписана к французскому посольству) и долгое время была единственной действующей католической церковью в Ленинграде. В ней в эти годы молились главным образом поляки. 
Во время блокады богослужения прекратились и только осенью 1945 возобновились. С этого времени храм носит имя Лурдской Божией Матери. В 1997 интерьер украсили витражи на библейские сюжеты, изготовленные И. Байковой. 

Романские и готические мотивы в архитектуре Петербурга

Маршрут знакомит с самыми выдающимся образцами романской и готической архитектуры

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Ковенский переулок, 7
  • Телефон: +7(812) 272-50-02
  • Сайт: www.kovensky.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 09:00 - 18:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще