Church of the Holy Resurrection

0

The temple of the Armenian Apostolic Church at the Smolenskoye Armenian Cemetery

The first Armenians appeared in Saint Petersburg as early as in the times of Peter I. Until 1791 they were all buried in Armenian heterodox cemetery, however as late as 1791 by Catherine II’s decree there was a separate Armenian cemetery opened. At the same time, on the 4th of May 1791 there was the Surb Arutyun (Holy Resurrection) Church founded in the cemetery.

The construction of the temple was initiated and funded by the head of the Armenian community of Saint Petersburg Ivan Lazarevich Lazarev. In 1791 his only son Artemy died in the Russo-Swedish War and the church was originally built as a family vault. The consecration of the church took place in 1793.

The project of the church is believed to be by Y.M. Felten who also built other Armenian churches of Saint Petersburg (Surb Katarine Church) and Moscow (the Exaltation of the Holy Cross Church).

The construction is by architects E.T. Sokolov, A. Porto and S.P. Bernikov. In 1901 under the project of architect Alexander Kochetov there was a church house built nearby which facades are decorated with carved ornaments resembling Armenian architecture.

In 1994 in front of the façade of the church there was set a carved khachkar by Yerevan sculptor A. Ovsepyan.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Церковь Святого Воскресения

0

Храм Армянской Апостольской церкви на Смоленском армянском кладбище

Первые армяне появились в Петербурге ещё при Петре I. До 1791 года всех их хоронили на Смоленском иноверческом кладбище, однако уже в 1791 году, по указу императрицы Екатерины II, открылось отдельное армянское кладбище. Одновременно, 4 мая 1791 года на кладбище была заложена церковь Сурб Арутюн (Святого Воскресения).

Храм строился по инициативе и на средства главы армянской общины Петербурга Ивана Лазаревича Лазарева. В 1791 году на русско-шведской войне погиб его единственный сын Артемий, и церковь первоначально строилась в качестве семейной усыпальницы. Освящение состоялось в 1793 году.

Проект церкви приписывают архитектору Фельтену, который также строил армянские церкви в Петербурге (церковь Сурб Катарине) и Москве (Крестовоздвиженская). Строили храм архитекторы Е. Т. Соколов, А. Порто и С. П. Берников.

В 1901 году по проекту архитектора Александра Кочетова рядом был построен церковный дом, фасады которого украшены резными орнаментами с мотивами армянского зодчества.

Перед фасадом церкви в 1994 году установлен резной хачкар работы ереванского скульптора А. Овсепяна.

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, наб. реки Смоленки, 27
  • Телефон: +7(812) 350-53-01
  • Сайт: armenian-church.org
  • Email: arm_church_spb@mail.ru
  • Время работы:
    ПН - ВС: 10:00 - 17:00
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще