0

A historic building constructed in classical style

The building constructed after the project of G.Quarenghi in 1804-1807 for His Imperial Highness Life Guard Mounted regiment. The Manege was deemed for training and for the gala rides of the regiment. 

The main façade is accompanied with the statues made by an Italian sculptor P.Triscorni. These are the copies of Dioscuri – the twin-brothers Castor and Pollux. The originals are situated in front of the Quirinal palace in Rome.

Inside there is a large hall for training. The main entrance was decorated as “a gallery for ladies and noble gentlemen”; the premises for the staff were on the other side of the hall. 

In the Soviet period the Manege was used as a garage for the NKVD troops. For this purpose the building was reconstructed by making an additional floor. Since 1967 the halls serve as the Central exhibit hall “Manege”.

During a long time there was a legend telling about a tunnel connecting the Winter Palace and the Horse Guards Manege. The tunnel was high enough for a rider to pass.

The smaller hall of “Manege” is a branch of the Central exhibit hall. It is located in the centre of St.Petersburg (Nab. Kan. Griboyedova, 103). The smaller hall is a popular place for performances, workshops and chamber exhibits.   

Historical Сenter route

This route will introduce you to the most significant sights of the center of Saint Petersburg

2 h
  • Address: St. Petersburg, Konnogvardeysky Boulevard, 2
  • Working time: Round table
To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

Историческое здание в стиле классицизма

Построено в 1804-07 гг. для выучки и парадных выездов Конного полка Лейб-гвардии Его Величества по проекту Дж. Кваренги.

Главный фасад дополнен скульптурами итальянского мастера П. Трискорни — уменьшенные копии фигур братьев-близнецов Диоскуров, Кастора и Полидевка (оригиналы расположены у Квиринальского дворца в Риме). 

Внутреннее помещение манежа было занято большим и лаконично оформленным залом для упражнений всадников. У главного входа была устроена «галерея для дам и знатных господ», а с другой стороны находились помещения для обслуживающего персонала.

В советское время в манеже располагался  автомобильный гараж войск НКВД (для этого здание пришлось перестроить, добавив второй этаж). С 1967 года в здании размещается центральный выставочный зал «Манеж».

Долгое время существовала легенда, что между Зимним дворцом и Конногвардейским манежем был прорыт высокий туннель, по которому можно было проехать верхом на лошади. 

Малый зал "Манежа" - филиал Центрального выставочного зала, расположенный в центре Петербурга по адресу: Набережная канала Грибоедова, 103, стал популярной площадкой для проведения мастер-классов, перформансов и камерных выставок.

По центру города

Маршрут ознакомит вас с главными городскими достопримечательностями, расположенными в центре Санкт-Петербурга

  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Конногвардейский бульвар, 2
  • Время работы: Круглосуточно
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще