Saint-Petersburg&Cinematography

This tourist route includes major places of Soviet and Russian movie industry. 

  • temples and cathedrals 1 ,
  • points of interest 6 ,
  • railway stations 1 ,
  • streets 2 ,
  • palaces 1 ,
  • museums 1 ,
  • monuments 2
18 km, 792 m
«Lenfilm» film studio

«Lenfilm» film studio

Saint Petersburg, Kamennoostrovskiy prospect, 10-12

“Lenfilm” (for “Leningrad film studio”) is the oldest film company in Russia, it was founded in 1914. Here the most famous films of Soviet and Russian cinema were shot: "Chapaev", "Striped Voyage", "The Amphibian Man", "Yaroslavna, the Queen of France", and many others. On the site of the film studio the “Aquarium” Garden was located, where the first films of that time were shown, including the "Arrival of a Train" by Lumière brothers. The film company was created on the grounds of the Department of Military Cinema of the Skobelev Committee, aimed to support the veterans in the beginning of the 20th century, and several small private studios. The name "Lenfilm" was given to the studio in 1934.

1

Vyborgskaya storona is the historic district of Saint Petersburg dominated by industrial architecture. It happened so that Saint Petersburg was shown in the feature films only after the Russian  Revolution of 1917. Until that time, mainly documentary films were shot in the city streets. Even the "Queen of Spades" by Protazanov was filmed completely under artificial light in the studio in 1916. But when the time came for a new hero, he naturally went straight from the streets in worker's outskirts. These were the characters of the film "Fragment of an Empire" by F. Ermler and, of course, of the trilogy about Maxim: "Youth of Maxim", "The Return of Maxim" and "The Vyborg Side" by G. Kozintsev and L. Trauberg.

1 km, 464 m
2
Petrovskaya embankment

Petrovskaya embankment

St. Petersburg, Petrovskaya naberezhnaya

Petrovskaya naberezhnaya (Petrovskaya embankment) is a curious symbiosis of architectural treatment that reflects history of Saint Petersburg from its foundation to our days. The first residential building in the city, the Cabin of Peter the Great, is located side by side to the monumental House of Admirals of the Baltic Fleet, which was built in 1940, and the House of Political Prisoners, which is an example of Leningrad Constructivism style. The ensemble of the embankment is decorated by the palace of the Grand Duke Nikolai Nikolayevich, by mysterious Chinese Lions "Chi Tza" and a sculpture of Naiad by a famous sculptor Anikushin. The embankment seems to reflect the whole truth about the city life in its constant development. That is why this place was chosen to be the setting place to film the besieged Leningrad for the film "Once there was a girl" (1944) directed by Victor Eismont. In this film the real Leningrad was shown, without any embellishment and hypocrisy, that are inappropriate in the tragic days of ordeal.

439 m
3
Mansion of Kschessinskaya

Mansion of Kschessinskaya

Saint Petersburg, Kuybisheva ulitza, 2-4

The mansion is an outstanding monument of architecture in Art Nouveau style, designed by A.I. von Gauguin in1904-1906. The hostess of the mansion was a famous prima ballerina of Mariinsky Theatre Mathilda Kschessinska. F. Chaliapin, A. Pavlova and S. Diaghilev often visited her house. This house has a rich revolutionary history. Here in 1917 the Petrograd Committee of the Bolshevik Party was located, and V. I. Lenin was making his speeches from the mansion`s balcony. These events were reconstructed in "October" by Sergei Eisenstein (1927). The mansion was also shown in the Soviet series about Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, the mansion was turned into a Bagatelle Card Club. Another interesting point is related to the first film adaptation of Gogol's "The Overcoat" by Kozintsev and Trauberg. The main character passes the mansion, although it is clearly inconsistent with the epoch when the novel was written.

343 m
4
Peter and Paul Fortress

Peter and Paul Fortress

St. Petersburg, Zayachy ostrov

Peter and Paul Fortress is a unique military, historical and architectural monument, its fate is closely intertwined with the fate of whole Russia. The day when it was founded is considered to be the day of the foundation of Saint Petersburg. The fortress was built by soldiers and peasants who were mobilized by order of Peter I from all over the country. Until the beginning of the 20th century, the fortress functioned as a state prison. It is a Historical and Cultural Museum-Reserve at the moment, there are different expositions and exhibitions of The Museum of the History of Saint Petersburg. A cinematic potential of the fortress defined an important place among the great decorations of the city. Films about Peter the Great, "The Captivating Star of Happiness", panoramic shooting, "passages" with views of the Peter and Paul Fortress in a broad variety of films made this view very well-known to millions of viewers.

1 km, 353 m
5

Vasilyevsky ostrov (Vasilyevsky island) is the biggest and the most famous island of Saint Petersburg. It has preserved its unique street plan and wonderful architecture since the days of Peter I. Here you may find the narrowest street in the city, the first stone building of the Menshikov Palace, the campus and untouched by time picturesque courtyards of Saint Petersburg. On the Vasilyevsky Island a number of films well-known and much loved by all Russians were filmed like "The Autumn Marathon", "Mister Designer", "The Unbelievable Adventures of Italians in Russia".

4 km, 0 m
6

Universitetskaya naberezhnaya (Universitetskaya embankment) is the place where the most ancient monuments in Saint-Petersburg may be found. These are the Sphinxes from Egypt. Their majestic appearance and amazing legends had always inspired the filmmakers. Maybe they were trying to combine the millennial antiquity of ancient statues with one of the youngest types of art, evoking an eternity in this way like it was in "The Monologue" by Ilya Averbuch.

369 m
7
Memorable sign "Spit of Vasilyevsky Island"

Memorable sign "Spit of Vasilyevsky Island"

St. Petersburg, Birzhevaya Square

The ensemble of the Spit of Vasilyevsky Island appears in the films almost as often as the Peter and Paul Fortress. The architectural masterpiece of Thomas de Thomon with its striking harmony of classical forms is perfect for filming historic movies. The characters of the film "War and Peace" by S. Bondarchuk Prince Andrey and Pierre Bezukhov leisurely stroll around the Spit and discuss the question of marriage. And in the film "The Baltic Sky" about the pilot heroes defending Leningrad during the blockade, the viewer sees the anti-aircraft guns, while he stands next to the Rostral column.

464 m
8
The State Hermitage Museum

The State Hermitage Museum

St. Petersburg, Dvorzovaya square, 2

The Winter Palace was the main imperial residence. Its facades and interiors are decorated with extraordinary magnificence. A masterpiece of the 18th century in the Baroque style, built by Rastrelli, has become a symbol of the greatness of Imperial Russia. From the very beginning of cinema history the Winter Palace became a cinema character. It is hard to say how many films show the palace and its luxurious halls. After all, it was within its walls where the most important events of Russian history took place. It may be mentioned that in the wonderful film "Russian Ark" by A.Sokurov the Winter Palace - with its collection of the Hermitage Museum - acts as a main character. the images of historical characters wearing typical for each era costumes, are passing by in front of the viewer, being reflected in the mirrors of the palace, creating an incomparable sense of the unity to what is happening on the screen.

699 m
9
Monument to Peter I on Senate Square (Bronze Horseman)

Monument to Peter I on Senate Square (Bronze Horseman)

St. Petersburg, Senate Square

One of the symbols of Saint Petersburg is the monument to its founder Peter the Great. Glorified by poets and captured on the canvases of artists, it inspired many artists and filmmakers. The rebellious officers and soldiers in the film "The Captivating Star of Happiness" by Vladimir Motyl lined up beside this monument. And much later, the character of another time from the film "Brother" – one of the brightest in the Russian cinema in 1997 – was walking around the city to the accompaniment of a rhythmic soundtrack of the Russian rock band "Nautilus Pompilius". The small-town guy, who came to Saint Petersburg, gave a look at the royal rider.

1 km, 217 m
10
Saint Isaac's Cathedral

Saint Isaac's Cathedral

St.Petersburg, Isaakiyevskaya square, 4

Saint Isaac’s Cathedral is an outstanding architectural monument of the 19th century, the former main cathedral of Saint Petersburg. The cathedral is decorated with 112 huge granite columns, by hundreds of great sculptures, paintings and mosaic works. The cathedral makes a deep impression both outside and inside. There is a wonderful view over the city from the colonnade of St. Isaac's Cathedral. In a film "The Baltic Sky" by V. Vengerov St. Isaac's Cathedral becomes an embodiment of resistance of Leningrad citizens. The old men in the hospital asked: "Is Isaac alive?" There were rumors that the cathedral was bombed by the Germans. However the cathedral and the city survived. And a young heroine Sonya gets her shoes and beautiful dress out of the closet.

358 m
11
Nevsky Prospect

Nevsky Prospect

St. Petersburg, Nevsky Prospect

Nevsky Prospect is the main and very special street of Saint Petersburg, the most refined and elegant. Here the brilliant palaces coexist with the temples of various religions, here luxury hotels and reputable banks lined up. The entire history of Saint Petersburg is connected with Nevsky Prospect. A vast variety of film characters from cinema classic to contemporary cinema pass by Nevsky prospect. After all, there were the first movie theaters of the city - "Parisiana" and "Piccadilly". 

978 m
12
Tolstoy's house

Tolstoy's house

Saint Petersburg, Fontanka embankment, 54

An architectural monument in late Art Nouveau style, a sixth-floor apartment house, built by the order of count M. P. Tolstoy, a Russian major general. The project was completed by architect Lidval, who was a creator of the famous hotel "Astoria". Three courtyards of the house form a complex configuration - a kind of "street" with a very picturesque and cinematic view. This house has become extremely popular. In the Soviet time artists and writers lived here in this house. The courtyards of Tolstoy’s house constantly appear in the film, representing not only Saint-Petersburg in the Soviet series "The Winter Cherry" and a Soviet drama "You Could Only Dream of That", but also imitating the streets of London, like in "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson".

592 m
13
Vitebsky railway station

Vitebsky railway station

St.Petersburg, Zagorodny prospekt, 52

Vitebsky  is the first Russian railway station, which was opened in 1837 when the first railway that connected the cities of Saint Petersburg and Tsarskoye Selo started to function. In those times it was wooden. The current building was built in the Art Nouveau style in 1904. In the Russian series "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson" the main characters often use the railroad. Therefore, Vitebsky railway station plays the role of two London stations – London Victoria station and London Paddington station. As for the famous Soviet film "Station for Two", many scenes were shot here in at the station.

1 km, 720 m
14

Город и кино. Санкт-Петербург в объективе кинокамеры

Маршрут проведет Вас по местам Санкт-Петербурга, которые наиболее часто встречались на экране полюбившихся зрителям кинокартин

  • храмы и соборы 1 ,
  • интересные места 6 ,
  • ж/д вокзалы 1 ,
  • улицы 2 ,
  • дворцы 1 ,
  • музеи 1 ,
  • памятники 2
18 км, 792 м
Киностудия «Ленфильм»

Киностудия «Ленфильм»

Санкт-Петербург, Каменноостровский пр., 10-12

Старейшая кинокомпания России, основанная в 1914 году. Здесь снимались самые известные ленты советского и российского кинематографа. Достаточно вспомнить названия фильмов – «Чапаев». «Полосатый рейс», «Человек-амфибия», «Ярославна – королева Франции» и многие другие. В самом начале на месте киностудии находился сад «Аквариум», где демонстрировались первые фильмы того времени, в том числе и «Прибытие поезда» братьев Люмьер. Основой для создания кинокомпании послужил военно-кинематографический отдел Скобелевского комитета и несколько мелких частных киномастерских. Название же «Ленфильм» компания получила в 1934 году.

1
Выборгская сторона

Выборгская сторона

Россия, Санкт-Петербург, Петроградская набережная, 8

Исторический район Санкт-Петербурга, в котором преобладает индустриальная архитектура. Так сложилась история петербургского кинематографа, что в игровое кино город попал только после революции 1917 года. До этого времени на городских улицах снималась главным образом хроника. Даже «Пиковая дама» Протазанова была снята в 1916 году полностью при искусственном освещении в павильоне. Но когда наступили времена нового героя, он органично вышел прямо с городских улиц рабочей окраины. Таковы персонажи фильма «Обломок империи» Ф. Эрмлера и, конечно, трилогии о Максиме – «Юность Максима», «Возвращение Максима» и «Выборгская сторона» Г. Козинцева и Л. Трауберга.

1 км, 464 м
2
Петровская набережная

Петровская набережная

Санкт-Петербург, Петровская набережная

Интереснейший симбиоз архитектурных решений, отражающий историю Санкт-Петербурга от основания до наших дней. Самое первое жилое здание города, знаменитый домик Петра I, соседствует с монументальным Домом адмиралов Балтфлота, построенном в 1940 году, и Домом политкаторжан, являющимся образцом стиля ленинградского конструктивизма. Ансамбль набережной украшен дворцом Великого князя Николая Николаевича, загадочными китайскими львами Ши-Цза и скульптурой Наяды работы знаменитого Аникушина. Набережная словно отражает всю правду жизни города в его постоянном развитии. Поэтому именно здесь проходили съёмки блокадного города для фильма режиссёра Виктора Эйсмонта «Жила-была девочка» (1944 год). Ленинград показан в фильме таким, как он есть, без прикрас и лицедейства, неуместных в дни трагических испытаний.

439 м
3
Особняк Кшесинской

Особняк Кшесинской

Санкт-Петербург, улица Куйбышева, 2-4

Выдающийся памятник архитектуры в стиле модерн, построенный по проекту А.И. фон Гогена в 1904-1906 годах. Хозяйкой особняка была знаменитая балерина, прима Мариинского театра Матильда Кшесинская. В гостях часто бывали Ф.Шаляпин, А. Павлова и С. Дягилев. Дом имеет и богатую революционную историю. Здесь в 1917 году размещался Петроградский комитет партии большевиков, с балкона особняка произносил речи В.И. Ленин. Конечно, в фильме «Октябрь» С. Эйзенштейна 1927 года всё это можно увидеть. А в знаменитом фильме о Шерлоке Холмсе и докторе Ватсоне особняк Кшесинской превратился в карточный клуб «Багатель». Ещё один интересный момент связан с первой экранизацией гоголевской «Шинели» Козинцевым и Траубергом. Герой проходит мимо особняка, хотя он явно не соответствует эпохе написания повести.

343 м
4
Петропавловская крепость

Петропавловская крепость

Санкт-Петербург, Заячий остров

Уникальный военный, исторический и архитектурный памятник, судьба которого тесно переплелась с судьбой всей России. День, когда она была заложена, и есть - день основания Санкт-Петербурга. Строили крепость солдаты и крестьяне, мобилизованные по приказу Петра I со всех концов страны. До начала XX века крепость выполняла и функции государственной тюрьмы. Сейчас она является историко-культурным заповедником, на её территории находятся различные экспозиции и выставки Музея истории Санкт-Петербурга. Кинематографический потенциал крепости определил ей важнейшее место среди великих декораций города. Фильмы о Петре Великом, «Звезда пленительного счастья», панорамные съёмки, «проходы» и «проезды» с видом на Петропавловку во множестве кинокартин сделали этот вид известным для миллионов зрителей.

1 км, 353 м
5
Васильевский остров

Васильевский остров

Санкт-Петербург, Университетская набережная, 7

Самый большой и самый известный остров Санкт-Петербурга сохранил уникальную планировку и замечательную архитектуру петровского времени. Здесь находится самая узкая улица города, первое каменное здание – Меншиковский дворец, университетский квартал и, словно не тронутые временем, живописные петербургские дворы. На Васильевском острове проходили съёмки таких известных фильмов, как «Осенний марафон», «Господин оформитель», «Невероятные приключения итальянцев в России» и многих других.

4 км, 0 м
6
Университетская набережная

Университетская набережная

Россия, Санкт-Петербург, Университетская набережная, 9

Самый древний памятник Санкт-Петербурга – сфинксы из Египта. Их величественная наружность и удивительные легенды не раз вдохновляли кинорежиссёров. Может быть, они пытались соединить тысячелетнюю древность изваяний с самым молодым из искусств, таким образом воззвав к вечности. Таков «Монолог» Ильи Авербаха.

369 м
7
Памятный знак "Стрелка Васильевского острова"

Памятный знак "Стрелка Васильевского острова"

Санкт-Петербург, Биржевая площадь

Ансамбль Стрелки Васильевского острова появляется в фильмах практически так же часто, как и Петропавловская крепость. Архитектурный шедевр Тома де Томона, поражающий гармонией классических форм, идеально подходит для съёмок исторического кино. Герои фильма С. Бондарчука «Война и мир» князь Андрей и Пьер Безухов неторопливо прогуливаются по Стрелке и обсуждают вопрос женитьбы. А в картине «Балтийское небо» о героях-лётчиках, защищавших Ленинград в дни блокады, зритель видит зенитки, стоящие рядом с Ростральными Колоннами.

464 м
8
Эрмитаж. Зимний дворец

Эрмитаж. Зимний дворец

Санкт-Петербург, Дворцовая площадь, 2

Зимний дворец – главная императорская резиденция. Его фасады и интерьеры отделаны с необычайной пышностью. Шедевр XVIII века в стиле барокко, воздвигнутый Растрелли, стал символом величия императорской России. С самого начала истории кинематографа Зимний дворец стал его героем. Трудно сказать, во скольких фильмах можно увидеть дворец и его роскошные залы. Ведь в его стенах проходили важнейшие события русской истории. Можно упомянуть замечательный фильм А.Сокурова «Русский ковчег», в котором Зимний дворец - Эрмитаж является главным действующим лицом. Отражённые в дворцовых зеркалах, перед кинозрителем проплывают образы исторических персонажей в характерных для каждой эпохи костюмах, создавая ни с чем несравнимое ощущение единения с происходящим на экране.

699 м
9
Медный всадник

Медный всадник

Санкт-Петербург, Сенатская Площадь

Самый известный монумент Санкт-Петербурга – памятник его основателю Петру Великому. Воспетый поэтами и запечатлённый на полотнах художников, он вдохновлял и мастеров киноискусства. Возле него строились восставшие офицеры и солдаты из кинофильма «Звезда пленительного счастья» В. Мотыля. А много позже, герой уже другого времени из культового «Брата», проходя по городу под ритмичный саундтрек «Наутилуса», остановил заинтересованный взгляд провинциала на царственном наезднике.

1 км, 217 м
10
Исаакиевский Собор

Исаакиевский Собор

Санкт-Петербург, Исаакиевская площадь, 4

Выдающийся памятник архитектуры XIX века, бывший главный кафедральный собор Санкт-Петербурга, украшен 112 огромными гранитными колоннами, сотнями замечательных скульптур, живописных и мозаичных произведений. Собор производит колоссальное впечатление как снаружи, так и изнутри. С колоннады Исаакиевского собора открывается прекрасный вид на город. В фильме В.Венгерова «Балтийское небо» Исаакиевский собор становится воплощением стойкости ленинградцев. Тарики в госпитале спрашивают - «Жив ли Исаакий?» Ходили слухи, что собор разбомбили немцы. Но собор и город выстояли. И юная героиня Соня достаёт из шкафа туфли и нарядное платье.

358 м
11
Невский проспект

Невский проспект

Санкт-Петербург, Невский проспект

Невский проспект – главная и совершенно особенная улица Санкт-Петербурга, самая нарядная, изысканная и элегантная. Здесь блестящие дворцы соседствуют с храмами разных религий, здесь выстроились в ряд дорогие гостиницы и солидные банки. Вся история Санкт-Петербурга связана с Невским проспектом. По Невскому проспекту проходят чередой герои кинематографа от классиков до современности. Ведь здесь находились первые кинотеатры города – «Паризиана» и «Пикадилли»

978 м
12
Толстовский дом

Толстовский дом

Санкт-Петербург, набережная реки Фонтанки, 54

Памятник архитектуры позднего модерна, шестиэтажный доходный дом, сооружённый по заказу графа М.П. Толстого. Выполнил проект архитектор Лидваль, автор знаменитой гостиницы «Астория». Три внутренних двора этого дома образуют сложную конфигурацию – своего рода «улицу», очень живописную и киногеничную. Дом приобрёл характер «культового». В советское время здесь жили художники и писатели. Дворы Толстовского дома постоянно появляются в фильмах, изображая не только Петербург в «Зимней вишне» и «Вам и не снилось», но и лондонские улицы в «Приключениях Шерлока Холмса и доктора Ватсона».

592 м
13
Витебский вокзал

Витебский вокзал

Санкт-Петербург, Загородный проспект, 52

Самый первый железнодорожный вокзал России, открытый в 1837 году и соединивший Санкт-Петербург и Царское Село. В то время он был деревянным. Современное здание вокзала построено в стиле модерн в 1904 году. В «Приключениях Шерлока Холмса и доктора Ватсона» герои часто пользуются железной дорогой. Поэтому Витебский вокзал играет роль сразу двух лондонских вокзалов – вокзала Виктория и Паддингтон. Да и в известном «Вокзале для двоих» многие сцены снимались именно здесь.

1 км, 720 м
14