Armenians on the banks of the Neva

  • points of interest 6 ,
  • monuments 1
Military Medical Academy named after S.M. Kirov

Military Medical Academy named after S.M. Kirov

Saint Petersburg, Academician Lebedev street, 6

Military Medical Academy named after S.M. Kirov

Saint Petersburg, Academician Lebedev street, 6

The architectural ensemble of the Academy is of great historical and cultural value. Of the 112 capital buildings, 25 have, according to the decision of UNESCO, the status of architectural monuments and are under state protection.

The construction of the academy building was started in 1799 according to the project of Antonio Porto (until 1803) and was completed in 1809 under the leadership of A.N. Voronikhin. The walls of the main hall are decorated with the famous frescoes by the Italian artist Piero di Angeli, he also made the decoration of the dome and the images of the goddesses of medicine, pharmacy and science in the "sails" bordering the dome.

There are monuments of the work of famous masters on the territory of the Academy (A.I. Stakenshneider, D.I. Jensen, M.K. Anikushin, etc.): «Military doctors who died in wars», «Cadets and students of the Stalingrad course of the Naval Medical Academy in commemoration of the 30th anniversary of the Great Victory on the Volga», the famous medical scientists Ya.V. Willie, N.I. Pirogov and S.P. Botkin. In front of the facade of the main building of the academy there is a bronze figure of the goddess of health Hygieia. In clinics and departments, busts of I.M. Balinsky, E.I. Bogdanovsky, N.N. Zinina, N.I. Pirogova, M.M. Rudnev, S.P. Fedorov. On the facades of the buildings of clinics and departments, 29 marble plaques dedicated to the famous scientists who worked in the academy and constitute its honor and glory are fortified. The names of professors, teachers, cadets, students and other employees of the academy who did not return from the fields of the Great Patriotic War and other wars are immortalized on memorial plaques in the hall of the main building of the academy.

Confirmation of the recognition of the Academy as an institution of world importance was the awarding of the title of Honorary Member of the Military Medical Academy to more than 300 outstanding scientists in the field of natural science and medicine in Russia and foreign countries, as well as to prominent statesmen.

The Military Medical Academy stood at the origins of the Academy of Medical Sciences, created in December 1944. The authority of the Military Medical Academy was created by its professors, doctors and teachers, many of whom became the founders of famous scientific schools. Among them N.I. Pirogov, who created the school of military field surgeons, S.P. Botkin is the founder of the school of military field therapists, I.M. Sechenov and I.P. Pavlov founded the school of Russian physiologists, I.M. Arinkin founded the school of hematology, E.N. Pavlovsky - school of parasitologists and infectious disease specialists, N.P. Simanovsky - school of otolaryngology, biophysics - V.V. Petrov (the first Russian electrical engineer), V.M. Bekhterev - neurology and psychoneurology, K.M. Figurnov - military gynecologists, V.A. Khilko - neurosurgery.

By Decree of the President of the Russian Federation No. 1595 of December 17, 1998, the Academy was included in the State Code of Especially Valuable Cultural Heritage Sites of the Peoples of the Russian Federation.

Marks of Excellence:

Honorary title - Imperial (1808)

Honorary title - named after S.M. Kirov (1935)

Order of the Red Banner (1968)

Combat Order «For Services to the People and the Fatherland» in gold (German Democratic Republic) (1974)

Order of the «Battle Red Banner» (Mongolian People's Republic) (1978)

Commander's Cross of the Order of Merit (Polish People's Republic) (1986)

Order of Military Merit, Highest Degree (Socialist Republic of Vietnam) (1988)

Order of Friendship of Peoples, 1st degree (Democratic Republic of Afghanistan) (1989)

Order «Antonio Maceo» (Republic of Cuba) (1992)

1

Imperial Institute of Experimental Medicine (IEM)

Saint Petersburg, Akademika Pavlova Str., 12

On December 8 (20), 1890 the first Russian research medical and biological center, the Imperial Institute of Experimental Medicine (IEM) was opened in Saint Petersburg. The founder and trustee of the institute was Prince A.P. Oldenburgsky, who invited the best specialists of that time to the IEM. By the summer of 1891, the institute's specialists formed the departments of physiology (I.P. Pavlov), chemistry (M.V. Nentsky), bacteriology (S.N. Vinogradsky), pathological anatomy (N.V. Uskov), syphilology (E F. Shperk) and epizootology (K. Ya. Gelman). In 1904 I.P. Pavlov received the Nobel Prize for his classical work on the physiology of digestion, which he had completed within the walls of the institute, and in 1913 he became the honorary director of the institute.

In 1908 Orbeli defended his doctoral dissertation on the topic: "Conditioned Reflexes from the Eye of a Dog." The scientist presented the results of studying the formation of conditioned reflexes from the visual analyzer in a dog, where he showed that the conditioned stimulus acts most strongly in the first seconds of its presentation, and discovered the fact of almost complete absence of color vision in dogs. It should be noted that Leon Orbeli received the topic of his thesis from I.P. Pavlov. In 1911 L.A. Orbeli officially became Pavlov's assistant in the Physiological Department of the Institute of Experimental Medicine (IEM) and received the title of assistant professor, and then assistant professor of the Department of Physiology of the Military Medical Academy. In July 1917 L.A. Orbeli was elected a member of the IEM council, and at the 1st All-Russian Congress of Physiologists in Petrograd in 1917 - a member of the board and secretary of the I.MSechenov Society of Russian Physiologists.

and successor of I.P. Pavlov. In 1936, after the death of I.P. Pavlov, he headed the institute.

2

I.P. Pavlov Institute of Physiology of Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS)

Saint Petersburg, Makarova Emb., 6,

IP RAS conducts fundamental and applied research aimed at revealing the mechanisms of higher nervous activity, functioning of the sensory and visceral systems of the body. The mechanisms of adaptive behavior in humans and animals are studied at the molecular-cellular, genetic, ontogenetic and neurohumoral levels.  The research of the basic principles of perception and processing of information by the sense organs and its implementation, mechanisms of adaptive reactions of visceral systems is also conducted. The Institute of Physiology traces its origins to the Physiological Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences, organized on the basis of the Physiological Laboratory of S.E. Mints in 1925. The first director of the Institute until 1936 was an outstanding scientist, the first Nobel Prize winner in the field of physiology and medicine, Academician I.P. Pavlov. L.A. Orbeli was a Russian and Soviet physiologist, one of the founders of evolutionary physiology, academician and vice-president of the USSR Academy of Sciences, colonel general of the medical service, author of more than 130 original scientific papers. The brother of Ruben and Joseph Orbeli, he was a student and then assistant and successor of I.P. Pavlov. In 1936, after the death of I.P. Pavlov, he headed the institute.

 

3
The Twelve Collegia

The Twelve Collegia

St. Petersburg, Universitetskaya nab.,7

The Twelve Colleges Building

Saint Petersburg, University Embankment, 7

On December 8 (20), 1890, the first Russian research medical and biological center, the Imperial Institute of Experimental Medicine (IEM), was opened in Saint Petersburg. The founder and trustee of the Institute was Prince A.P. Oldenburgsky, who invited the best specialists of that time. By the summer of 1891, the institute's specialists had organized several departments: Department of Physiology (I.P. Pavlov), Department of Chemistry (M.V. Nentsky), Department of Bacteriology (S.N. Vinogradsky), Department of Pathological Anatomy (N.V. Uskov), Department of Syphilology (E. F. Shperk) and Department of Epizootiology (K. Ya. Gelman). In 1904, I.P. Pavlov won the Nobel Prize for his classical work dedicated to digestive physiology, in 1913 he became the honorary director of the institute.

In 1908, Orbeli defended his doctoral dissertation named «Conditioned Reflexes of the Eye in Dogs». The scientist presented the results of  his studying of the formation of conditioned reflexes of visual analyzers in dogs, where he showed that the conditioned stimulus is maximally strong during the first seconds of its presentation, and discovered the fact that dogs almost completely lack colour vision. It should be noted that Leon Orbeli got the topic of his dissertation from I.P. Pavlov. In 1911 L.A. Orbeli officially became Pavlov's assistant in the Physiological Department of the Institute of Experimental Medicine and obtained the title of Privatdozent, and later Dozent of the Department of Physiology of the Military Medical Academy. L.A. Orbeli was elected a member of the Institute's council in July 1917 and a member of the directorate and secretary of the Society of Russian Physiologists named after I.M. Sechenov at the 1st All-Russian Congress of Physiologists in Petrograd in 1917.

4
Russian Academy of Arts

Russian Academy of Arts

St. Petersburg, Universitetskaya nab., 17

Academy of Arts

Saint Petersburg, University embankment, 17

Tamanyan (Tamanov) Alexander Ivanovich, a talented Armenian architect, graduated from the Academy of Artsin1914. His first work, which made him a famous architect, was there construction of the Armenian Church on Nevsky Prospect. One of his early works was the mansion of V.P. Kochubei in Tsarskoe Selo (1911-1912). From 1923 Tamanyan lived in Yerevan, where he presented the first main plan of the city, and drafts of plans for other towns of Armenia. The architect combined the ancient traditions of Armenian architecture with modern achievements in the construction art of that time. I.K. Aivazovsky, a graduate of the Tamanyan Academy in Saint Petersburg and also a famous artist from an Armenian family, played an important role in our culture and history.

5

Khachkar "St. Petersburg from Yerevan"

St. Petersburg, Kamsky garden, 13-ya lin. Vasilyevsky Island, 80/1

Khachkar is a type of Armenian architectural monument, which is a stone stele with a carved image of a cross. The Khachkar in the Kamsky Garden was opened as part of the implementation of the " Program of trade, economic, scientific, technical and humanitarian cooperation between the Government of St. Petersburg and the Yerevan Municipality for 2011-2014, which indicates the importance of Russian-Armenian relations at the present time.

6

Smolensk Armenian Cemetery

Saint Petersburg, Smolenka river Embankment, 29

Smolensk Armenian Cemetery-the Empress Catherine II by her decree ordered to allocate a place on the bank of the Smolenka River next to the Lutheran cemetery for a separate Armenian cemetery and allowed to build a stone church.

The story of the construction of the church of St. Nicholas. The resurrection on the Smolenka River is connected with the personal grief that befell Count I. L. Lazarev in 1791, when his only son and heir, Prince Potemkin's aide-de-camp, 23-year-old Artemiy, was killed in the Russian-Turkish war, and his remains were transported to Russia and buried in the Armenian Smolensk cemetery. The Church of the Holy Resurrection was built as a family tomb. The members of his family were to be buried here. So bequeathed the Count. It was built in 1791-1794 and was consecrated by Archbishop Joseph Argutinsky-Dolgoruky in 1794.

In 1901 according to the project of architect Alexander Kochetov, a church house was built nearby, the facades of which are decorated with carved ornaments with motifs of Armenian architecture.

In the 1930s, the church was closed and used as a sculpture workshop. The return of the church to the faithful took place only in 1988.

In 1994, a carved khachkar by the Yerevan sculptor A. Hovsepyan was installed in front of the facade of the church.

Buried in the cemetery:

Avsharov A.A. - Russian military leader, general of the cavalry

Stroganov V.V. (1857-1938) - Professor of the Central Scientific Research Institute of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in Leningrad

Takhtadzhyan A. L. (1910-2009) - botanist, biologist-evolutionist; Academician of RAS.

Ulezko-Stroganova K.P. (1858-1943) - obstetrician-gynecologist, professor, Honored Scientist

Firalov Z. (1787-1820) —Labe-Guard Staff Captain, participant in the Patriotic War of 1812

Khastatov A. V. (1756-1809) - major general, great-uncle of M. Yu. Lermontov

7

Армяне на берегах Невы

  • интересные места 6 ,
  • памятники 1
Военно-медицинская Академия имени С. М. Кирова

Военно-медицинская Академия имени С. М. Кирова

Санкт-Петербург, ул. Академика Лебедева, 6

Архитектурный ансамбль академии имеет огромную историческую и культурную ценность. Из 112 капитальных зданий 25 имеют по решению ЮНЕСКО статус памятников архитектуры и находятся под охраной государства

Строительство здания академии было начато в 1799 г. по проекту Антонио Порто (до 1803 г.) и закончено в 1809 г. под руководством А.Н. Воронихина. Стены главного зала украшены знаменитыми фресками итальянского художника Пьеро ди Анжели, им же выполнены художественное оформление купола и изображения богинь врачевания, фармации и науки в «парусах», окаймляющих купол.

На территории академии размещены памятники работы известных мастеров (А.И. Штакеншнейдера, Д.И. Иенсена, М.К. Аникушина и др.): «Военным медикам, павшим в войнах», «Курсантам и слушателям Сталинградского курса Военно-морской медицинской академии в ознаменование 30-летия Великой победы на Волге», знаменитым ученым-медикам Я.В. Виллие, Н.И. Пирогову и С.П. Боткину. Перед фасадом главного здания академии установлена бронзовая фигура богини здоровья Гигиеи. В клиниках и на кафедрах установлены бюсты И.М. Балинского, Е.И. Богдановского, Н.Н. Зинина, Н.И. Пирогова, М.М. Руднева, С.П. Федорова. На фасадах зданий клиник и кафедр укреплены 29 мраморных досок, посвященных знаменитым ученым, работавшим в академии и составляющих ее честь и славу. Имена профессоров, преподавателей, курсантов, слушателей и других сотрудников академии, не вернувшихся полей Великой Отечественной и других войн, увековечены на мемориальных досках в зале главного здания академии.

Подтверждением признания Академии как учреждения мирового значения стало присвоение звания Почетного члена Военно-Медицинской академии более 300 выдающимся ученым в области естествознания и медицины России и зарубежных стран, а также крупным государственным деятелям.

Военно-Медицинская академия стояла у истоков Академии медицинских наук, созданной в декабре 1944 г. Авторитет Военно-медицинской академии создали ее профессора, врачи и педагоги, многие из которых стали основателями знаменитых научных школ. Среди них Н.И. Пирогов, создавший школу военно-полевых хирургов, С.П. Боткин – основатель школы военно-полевых терапевтов, И.М. Сеченов и И.П. Павлов основали школу русских физиологов, И.М. Аринкин основал школу гематологии, Е.Н. Павловский – школу паразитологов и инфекционистов, Н.П. Симановский – школу отоларингологии, биофизики – В.В. Петров (первый российский электротехник), В.М. Бехтерев – неврологии и психоневрологии, К.М. Фигурнов – военных гинекологов, В.А. Хилько – нейрохирургии.

Указом Президента Российской Федерации от 17 декабря 1998 года №1595 академия включена в Государственный свод особо ценных объектов культурного наследия народов Российской Федерации.

Знаки отличия:

Почётное наименование — Императорская (1808)

Почётное наименование — имени С. М. Кирова (1935)

Орден Красного Знамени (1968)

Боевой орден «За заслуги перед народом и Отечеством» в золоте (Германская Демократическая Республика) (1974)

Орден «Боевого Красного Знамени» (Монгольская Народная Республика) (1978)

Командорский Крест ордена Заслуги (Польская Народная Республика) (1986)

Орден «За боевые заслуги» высшей степени (Социалистическая Республика Вьетнам) (1988)

Орден «Дружбы народов» 1-й степени (Демократическая Республика Афганистан) (1989)

Орден «Антонио Масео» (Республика Куба) (1992)

1
Императорский Институт экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ)

Императорский Институт экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ)

Санкт-Петербург, улица Академика Павлова, 12

8 (20) декабря 1890 года в Санкт-Петербурге был открыт первый в России научно-исследовательский медико-биологический центр — Императорский Институт экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ). Основателем и попечителем института был принц А. П. Ольденбургский, который пригласил в ИЭМ лучших специалистов того времени. К лету 1891 г. специалисты института организовали отделы: физиологии (И. П. Павлов), химии (М. В. Ненцкий), бактериологии (С. Н. Виноградский), патологической анатомии (Н. В. Усков), сифилидологии (Э. Ф. Шперк) и эпизоотологии (К. Я. Гельман). В 1904 году за классические работы в стенах института по физиологии пищеварения И. П. Павлов получил Нобелевскую премию, в 1913 году став почётным директором института.

В 1908 году Орбели защитил докторскую диссертацию на тему: "Условные рефлексы с глаза у собаки". Ученый представил результаты изучения образования условных рефлексов со зрительного анализатора у собаки, где показал, что условный раздражитель действует наиболее сильно в первые секунды своего предъявления, и обнаружил факт почти полного отсутствия у собак цветового зрения. Нужно заметить, что тему диссертации Леон Орбели получил от И.П. Павлова.  В  1911 году Л.А. Орбели официально становится помощником Павлова по Физиологическому отделу Института экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ) и получает звание приват-доцента, а затем доцента кафедры физиологии Военно-медицинской Академии. В июле 1917 года Л.А. Орбели избран членом совета ИЭМ, а на 1-м Всероссийском съезде физиологов в Петрограде в 1917 году - членом правления и секретарем Общества русских физиологов им. И.М. Сеченова.

2
Институт физиологии имени И. П. Павлова РАН

Институт физиологии имени И. П. Павлова РАН

Санкт-Петербург, наб. Макарова, д.6,

ИФ РАН ведет фундаментальные и прикладные исследования, направленные на раскрытие механизмов высшей нервной деятельности, функционирования сенсорных и висцеральных систем организма. На молекулярно-клеточном, генетическом, онтогенетическом и нейрогуморальном уровнях изучаются механизмы адаптивного поведения человека и животных. Исследуются основные принципы восприятия и обработки информации органами чувств и ее реализация, механизмы адаптивных реакций висцеральных систем. Институт физиологии ведет свое начало от Физиологического института Академии наук СССР, организованного на базе Физиологической лаборатории С. Е. Минца в 1925 г. Первым директором института до 1936 г. был выдающийся ученый, первый лауреат Нобелевской премии в области физиологии и медицины академик И. П. Павлов. Л.А. Орбели российский и советский физиолог, один из создателей эволюционной физиологии, академик и вице-президент Академии наук СССР, генерал-полковник медицинской службы, автор более 130 оригинальных научных работ. Брат Рубена иИосифа Орбели. был студентом, а затем помощником и приемником И.П.Павлова. В 1936 г., после кончины И. П. Павлова, возглавил институт.

3
Здание 12 коллегий

Здание 12 коллегий

Санкт-Петербург, Университетская наб., 7

8 (20) декабря 1890 года в Санкт-Петербурге был открыт первый в России научно-исследовательский медико-биологический центр — Императорский Институт экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ). Основателем и попечителем института был принц А. П. Ольденбургский, который пригласил в ИЭМ лучших специалистов того времени. К лету 1891 г. специалисты института организовали отделы: физиологии (И. П. Павлов), химии (М. В. Ненцкий), бактериологии (С. Н. Виноградский), патологической анатомии (Н. В. Усков), сифилидологии (Э. Ф. Шперк) и эпизоотологии (К. Я. Гельман). В 1904 году за классические работы в стенах института по физиологии пищеварения И. П. Павлов получил Нобелевскую премию, в 1913 году став почётным директором института.

В 1908 году Орбели защитил докторскую диссертацию на тему: "Условные рефлексы с глаза у собаки". Ученый представил результаты изучения образования условных рефлексов со зрительного анализатора у собаки, где показал, что условный раздражитель действует наиболее сильно в первые секунды своего предъявления, и обнаружил факт почти полного отсутствия у собак цветового зрения. Нужно заметить, что тему диссертации Леон Орбели получил от И.П. Павлова.  В  1911 году Л.А. Орбели официально становится помощником Павлова по Физиологическому отделу Института экспериментальной медицины (ИЭМ) и получает звание приват-доцента, а затем доцента кафедры физиологии Военно-медицинской Академии. В июле 1917 года Л.А. Орбели избран членом совета ИЭМ, а на 1-м Всероссийском съезде физиологов в Петрограде в 1917 году - членом правления и секретарем Общества русских физиологов им. И.М. Сеченова.

4
Академия Художеств

Академия Художеств

Санкт-Петербург, Университетская наб., 17

Академия Художеств – в 1904 г. из её стен выпустился талантливый армянский архитектор - Таманян (Таманов) Александр Иванович. Его первой работой, принесшей ему  профессиональное признание, стала реконструкция Армянской церкви на Невском проспекте. Примером  ранних работ – особняк В. П. Кочубея в Царском Селе (1911-1912). С 1923 г. Таманян жил в Ереване, где им был представлен первый главный план города Еревана, а также разработки планов других городов Армении. Архитектор совместил древние традиции армянской архитектуры с современными достижениями в области строительства. Не только выпускник академии Таманян Санкт-Петербурга, но и известный художник, выходец из армянской семьи – И.К. Айвазовский оставили след в культуре и истории.

5
Хачкар "Санкт-Петербургу от Еревана"

Хачкар "Санкт-Петербургу от Еревана"

Санкт-Петербург, Камский сад, 13-я лин. Васильевского Острова, 80/1

Хачкар – это вид армянских архитектурных памятников, представляющий собой каменную стелу с резным изображением креста. Установленный в Камском саду Хачкар был открыт в рамках реализации «Программы торгово-экономического, научно-технического и гуманитарного сотрудничества между Правительством Санкт-Петербурга и мэрией Еревана на 2011-2014 годов, что говорит о значимости российско-армянских отношений и в настоящее время.

6
Смоленское армянское кладбище

Смоленское армянское кладбище

Санкт-Петербург, наб. реки Смоленки, д. 29

Смоленское Армянское кладбище – императрица Екатерина II своим указом повелела выделить место на берегу реки Смоленки рядом с лютеранским кладбищем для отдельного армянского кладбища и разрешила построить каменную церковь. История возведения церкви Св. Воскресения на реке Смоленке связана с личным горем, постигшим графа И. Л. Лазарева в 1791 г., когда на русско-турецкой войне погиб его единственный сын и наследник, адъютант князя Потемкина 23-летний Артемий, чьи останки перевезли в Россию и погребли на армянском Смоленском кладбище. Церковь Св. Воскресения была построена как фамильная усыпальница, где, согласно завещанию графа, надлежало хоронить членов его фамилии. Возводилась она в 1791–1794 гг. и была освящена архиепископом Иосифом Аргутинским-Долгоруким в 1794 г.

В 1901 году по проекту архитектора Александра Кочетова рядом был построен церковный дом, фасады которого украшены резными орнаментами с мотивами армянского зодчества.

В 1930-х годах церковь была закрыта и использовалась как скульптурная мастерская. Возвращение церкви верующим состоялось лишь в 1988 году.

Перед фасадом церкви в 1994 году установлен резной хачкар работы ереванского скульптора А. Овсепяна.

На кладбище захоронены:

Авшаров А. А.- российский военачальник, генерал от кавалерии

Строганов В. В. (1857—1938)— профессор центрального научно-исследовательского института акушеров и гинекологов в Ленинграда

Тахтаджян А. Л.(1910—2009)— ботаник, биолог-эволюционист; академик РАН.

Улезко-Строганова К. П.(1858—1943)— акушер-гинеколог, профессор, Заслуженный деятель науки

Фиралов З. (1787—1820)—лейб-гвардии штабс-капитан, участник Отечественной войны 1812 года

Хастатов А. В.(1756—1809)— генерал-майор, двоюродный дед М. Ю.Лермонтова

7