Alexander Nevsky - the heavenly patron of St. Petersburg

The route introduces the main places in the center of St. Petersburg, reminiscent of Alexander Nevsky

According to the Christian tradition, each city, regardless of its status and population, has its own heavenly patrons – saints whose earthly life was associated specifically with this area.

Prince Alexander Yaroslavovich went down in the history of Russia as the greatest guardian of the Russian land. Throughout his life, he remained faithful to the Orthodox Church, which was the guarantor of the national independence of Russia in that difficult time, when it simultaneously resisted the Mongol Khan Batu and repelled the onslaught of the crusaders from the West. The great victory of the Russian army under the leadership of the holy prince took place on the western borders of Russia, on the site of the Ust-Izhora village of the Kolpinsky district of St. Petersburg ... Therefore, it is no coincidence that one of the first acts of Peter I in the newly founded city was the creation of a monastery in the name of the good prince Alexander Nevsky and transfer of his relics there from Vladimir. From that moment, Alexander Nevsky became the patron saint of St. Petersburg.

  • temples and cathedrals 2 ,
  • museums 1
5 km, 649 m
Saint Alexander Nevsky Lavra

Saint Alexander Nevsky Lavra

St. Petersburg, Monastyrka river embankment, 1

One of the most important spiritual centers of Orthodoxy, a unique cultural, historical and architectural complex. It was founded by decree of Peter the Great on the site of the victory of the Russian army over the Swedes in the Nevskaya Battle in 1240, supposed at that time.  The dedication of the monastery to the Holy Right-Believing Grand Duke Alexander Nevsky marked the continuity of Russian statehood on the Neva lands, conquered during the Northern War. The solemn transfer of the relics of St. Prince Alexander Nevsky from ancient Vladimir to St. Petersburg in 1724 had a truly historic significance for the new capital of Russia.

1
Feodorovsky Cathedral

Feodorovsky Cathedral

St. Petersburg, Mirgorodskaya ul., 1B

The Cathedral of the Feodorovskaya Icon of the Mother of God, built to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the Romanov family, is firmly connected with the name of the holy Prince Alexander Nevsky by its historical roots. The icon was miraculously found by Alexander's younger brother Vasily Yaroslavich after the Batu invasion. Before this icon, the first representative of the Romanov dynasty, Mikhail Fedorovich, received a blessing for the kingdom. The lower church of the cathedral, consecrated in the name of the holy blessed prince Alexander Nevsky, is an unusual structure in the style of ancient Christian churches, unique for St. Petersburg.

1 km, 243 m
2
Kazan Cathedral

Kazan Cathedral

St. Petersburg, Kazanskaya square, 2

The Kazan Cathedral of St. Petersburg is recognized throughout the world as one of the brightest masterpieces of classicism. The cathedral is an outstanding monument of the military glory of Russia, the resting place of Field Marshal M.I. Kutuzov. And on the northern facade of the building there is a statue of Prince Alexander Nevsky, made by the sculptor Pimenov. The image of the holy prince on the facade of the cathedral is adjacent to the apostle Andrew the First-Called, John the Baptist and the holy prince Vladimir - the most revered saints in Orthodoxy. Grand Duke Alexander is considered the patron saint of all representatives of the military profession.

2 km, 926 m
3
Church of the Resurrection (Savior on the Spilled Blood)

Church of the Resurrection (Savior on the Spilled Blood)

St. Petersburg, nab. kanala Griboedova, 2, lit. B

An outstanding memorial church, the Cathedral of the Resurrection of Christ (Savior on the Blood), erected in 1907 on the site of the fatal wound of Emperor Alexander II, has a unique collection of artistic mosaics and is known all over the world. The image of Alexander Nevsky rises on the facade of the cathedral under the bell tower. And inside the temple, in the northern icon case, there is an icon of the Holy Blessed Prince Alexander Nevsky - the heavenly patron saint of Emperor Alexander II, recruited from a painting original by Mikhail Nesterov. The artist created a heartfelt image of a praying prince, bowing before the icon of the Mother of God, over which the words from Scripture are laid out "God is not in power, but in truth." This is one of the most delicate icons in terms of technique, assembled in the mosaic workshop of the Academy of Arts.

1 km, 44 m
4

Александр Невский – небесный покровитель Петербурга

Маршрут знакомит с основными местами в центре Санкт-Петербурга, напоминающими об Александре Невском

Согласно христианской традиции у каждого города, вне зависимости от его статуса и численности населения, существуют свои небесные покровители – святые, чья земная жизнь была связана конкретно с этой местностью.

Князь Александр Ярославович вошел в историю России, как величайший радетель о Русской земле. На всем протяжении своей жизни он сохранял верность православной церкви, что явилось гарантом национальной независимости Руси в то тяжкое время, когда она одновременно оказывала сопротивление монгольскому хану Батыю и отражала натиск крестоносцев с Запада. Великая победа русского воинства под предводительством святого князя произошла на западных рубежах Руси, на месте поселка Усть-Ижора Колпинского района Санкт-Петербурга… Поэтому не случайно одним из первых деяний Петра I в только что основанном городе стало создание монастыря во имя благоверного князя Александра Невского и перенесение туда из Владимира его мощей. С этого момента Александр Невский стал покровителем Санкт-Петербурга.

  • религиозные места 2 ,
  • музеи 1
5 км, 649 м
Свято-Троицкая Александро-Невская лавра

Свято-Троицкая Александро-Невская лавра

Санкт-Петербург, набережная реки Монастырки, 1

Один из важнейших духовных центров Православия, уникальный культурно-исторический и архитектурный комплекс. Он был основан по указу Петра Великого на полагаемом в то время месте победы русского воинства над шведами в Невской битве 1240 года. Посвящение монастыря Святому благоверному Великому князю Александру Невскому ознаменовало преемственность российской государственности на Невских землях, отвоёванных в ходе Северной войны. Торжественный перенос мощей святого князя Александра Невского из древнего Владимира в Петербург в 1724 году имел поистине историческое значение для новой столицы России.

1
Феодоровский собор

Феодоровский собор

Санкт-Петербург, Миргородская ул., 1В

Собор Феодоровской иконы Божией Матери, построенный в ознаменование 300-летия рода Романовых, историческими корнями прочно связан с именем святого князя Александра Невского. Икона была чудесным образом обретена младшим братом Александра Василием Ярославичем после Батыева нашествия. Перед этой иконой получил благословение на царство первый представитель династии Романовых Михаил Фёдорович. Нижний храм собора, освященный во имя святого благоверного князя Александра Невского, представляет собой необычное сооружение в стиле древних христианских церквей, уникальное для Петербурга.

1 км, 243 м
2
Казанский Кафедральный Собор

Казанский Кафедральный Собор

Санкт-Петербург, Казанская площадь, 2

Казанский кафедральный собор Санкт-Петербурга признан во всём мире одним из ярчайших шедевров классицизма. Собор является выдающимся памятником воинской славы России, местом упокоения фельдмаршала М.И. Кутузова. А на северном фасаде здания возвышается статуя князя Александра Невского, выполненная скульптором Пименовым. Образ святого князя на фасаде собора соседствует с апостолом Андреем Первозванным, Иоанном Предтечей и святым князем Владимиром – самыми почитаемыми в православии святыми. Великий князь Александр считается покровителем всех представителей военных профессий.

2 км, 926 м
3
Собор Воскресения Христова (Спас-на-крови)

Собор Воскресения Христова (Спас-на-крови)

Санкт-Петербург, набережная канала Грибоедова, 2б

Выдающийся храм-памятник, Собор Воскресения Христова (Спас-на-Крови), воздвигнутый в 1907 году на месте смертельного ранения императора Александра II, обладает уникальным собранием художественной мозаики и известен во всём мире. Образ Александра Невского возвышается на фасаде собора под колокольней. А внутри храма, в северном киоте — икона Святого благоверного князя Александра Невского — небесного покровителя императора Александра II, набранная по живописному оригиналу Михаила Нестерова. Художник создал проникновенный образ молящегося князя, склонившегося перед иконой Богоматери, над которой выложены слова из Писания «Не в силе Бог, а в правде». Это одна из самых филигранных по технике исполнения икон, набранная в мозаичной мастерской Академии художеств.

1 км, 44 м
4