04 January, Sunday, 19:00
0

First performance using the period instruments by The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment 

Vladimir Jurowski, Principal Conductor of the Svetlanov State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia, Principal Guest Conductor of the London Philharmonic Orchestra, and a member of a celebrated musical dynasty, is bringing his own original interpretation of the legendary Russian opera to the Mikhailovsky Theatre. His musical and literary presentation, titled Tsar Boris, which he will conduct himself, will be performed for the first time in St. Petersburg on authentic instruments by the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. The literary and theatrical composition, featuring the original text of the first version of Boris Godunov and including material from Nikolay Karamzin’s History of the Russian State, is directed by Vitaly Fialkovsky. Along with the Mikhailovsky Theatre Chorus and the company’s leading opera soloists, the production will also feature Maly Drama Theatre actress Elena Kalinina.

Modest Mussorgsky’s great opera Boris Godunov has a unique history. Almost no other Russian opera has been subjected to so many persistent attempts to replace the original with various new versions and just as many endeavours to return to the original source.

When Mussorgsky first presented his completed score for Boris Godunov to the Imperial Theatres Board in 1869, the opera was not approved for staging. The official reason given by the Board to justify its decision was the absence of a prominent female character — a mandatory requirement in nineteenth-century theatrical tradition.

In 1872, Mussorgsky completed the second, revised version (including the ‘Polish’ act with the False Dmitry’s love interest, Marina Mnishek, as well as a new finale, featuring the popular mass uprising at Kromi). The opera was first performed at the Mariinsky Theatre on 8 February 1874.

It was a long time before Boris Godunov finally garnered the interest of the world’s musical community. In fact, up until the appearance of Rimsky-Korsakov’s new orchestration in 1896 (after the composer’s death) and its triumphant performance during Diaghilev’s Russian Seasons in Paris in 1908, with the legendary Feodor Chaliapin in the title role, Mussorgsky’s masterpiece remained unrecognized and unappreciated by his contemporaries.

The existence of the composer’s first draft of Boris Godunov remained virtually unknown to the general public for more than fifty years. Its long and tortuous stage history was due to the need to explore the original 1869 score as an original work in its own right, embodying Mussorgsky’s rather idiosyncratic artistic and philosophical conception. This conception is quite different not only from his own later version and Rimsky-Korsakov’s orchestration, which is the most frequently performed, but also from all the later twentieth-century orchestral versions by Pavel Lamm, Dmitri Shostakovich, John Gutmann, and Karol Rathaus.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Опера "Царь Борис"

04 января, Воскресенье, 19:00
0

Впервые исполняется на аутентичных инструментах «Оркестром эпохи Просвещения»

Собственное оригинальное прочтение легендарной русской оперы в Михайловском театре представляет главный дирижёр Государственного академического симфонического оркестра России имени Светланова (ГАСО), главный приглашённый дирижёр Лондонского филармонического оркестра, представитель знаменитой музыкальной династии — маэстро Владимир Юровский. Музыкально-литературное представление «Царь Борис» впервые прозвучит в Петербурге под его управлением в исполнении «Оркестра эпохи Просвещения» на аутентичных инструментах. Литературно-сценическую композицию, вместе с оригинальным текстом первой редакции «Бориса Годунова» включающую материалы «Истории государства Российского» Николая Карамзина, готовит режиссёр Виталий Фиалковский. Наряду с артистами хора и ведущими солистами оперы Михайловского тетра, в постановке примет участие актриса Малого драматического театра Елена Калинина.

Сценическая судьба великой оперы Модеста Петровича Мусоргского «Борис Годунов» уникальна. В истории русского музыкального театра вряд ли найдётся произведение, которое вызывало бы столько упорных, настойчивых попыток заменить оригинал разнообразными версиями и вместе с тем столько усилий вернуться к его первоистокам.

Мусоргскому, впервые представившему законченную партитуру «Бориса Годунова» на суд петербургской Дирекции Императорских театров в 1869 году, было отказано в постановке. Официальной причиной такого решения чиновников театрального комитета было отсутствие выигрышного женского образа — обязательного требования устойчивой театральной традиции XIX века.

Вторую, исправленную, редакцию партитуры (включающую «польский» акт с любовной линией Лжедмитрий — Марина Мнишек, а также новый финал — масштабную сцену народного восстания под Кромами) Мусоргский завершил в 1872 году. 8 февраля 1874 года опера впервые прозвучала на сцене Мариинского театра.

«Борис Годунов» долгое время оставался за пределами внимания мировой музыкальной общественности. Фактически вплоть до появления новой оркестровой редакции оперы, созданной Римским-Корсаковым уже после смерти композитора в 1896 году и триумфально исполненной на «Русских сезонах» Дягилева в Париже 1908 года (в заглавной партии тогда выступил легендарный Фёдор Шаляпин), шедевр Мусоргского оставался не познанным и не понятым современниками.

О существовании первой авторской редакции «Бориса Годунова» было практически неизвестно широкому слушателю более полувека. Её долгий и трудный путь на театральную сцену был связан с осмыслением оригинальной композиторской партитуры «Бориса Годунова» 1869 года как самостоятельного, самоценного произведения, воплотившего совершенно определённую художественную и философскую концепцию Мусоргского. Концепцию, отличную не только от его собственной более поздней редакции и наиболее часто исполняемой редакции Римского-Корсакова, но и от всех последующих оркестровых версий оперы, созданных в XX веке Павлом Ламмом, Дмитрием Шостаковичем, Джоном Гутманом и Каролем Ратгаузом.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще

Похожие события