Andrei Baskakov. Photographs 1970s — 1990s

21 April, Saturday
opened:
10 April — 27 May 2018
Useful information
0

In the history of Russian photography, Andrei Baskakov’s name is primarily associated with his successful and diverse career as a curator, organizer, teacher, and publisher. Main Building, 3rd floor

From the late 1970s on, Andrei Baskakov, as a board member of the All-Russian photography club “Kadr,” coordinated the activities of rural and urban amateur photographers on the basis of the USSR Ministry of Culture National House of Folk Arts and Amateur Creativity. Furthermore, he taught Cinematography at the Moscow State Institute of Culture. In 1986, he was appointed the head of the Photography Department of the National House of Folk Arts and Amateur Creativity. In 1989 and 1990, he led a group of activists to lay the foundation of the Union of Art Photographers of Russia, whereof he was elected the Chairman at the very first congress. He remained in this position until 2014. His achievements in the development and popularization of Russian photography were recognized in 1996 with a title “Honored Worker of Culture of the Russian Federation.”

For many years, his work as an organizer has overshadowed his art, practically unknown to the broad audience. It was not until Baskakov’s death in 2014 that the first attempts at reflecting on his legacy were made. The present exhibition offers viewers to see 88 hand-crafted photographic prints made by Andrei Baskakov between the 1970s and late 1990s.

Andrei Baskakov’s career in photography begins in the early 1970s. In 1974, he takes part in Smena — ORWO-74 International Exhibition in Kyiv and is awarded diplomas for the series Khotyn and single photograph Sad Woman. Over the decade, Baskakov perfects his professional skills and enriches his portfolio, regularly presenting his works at exhibitions and contests both within the country and abroad. It was then that he created such series as Russian Field and Summer is the Haying Time, as well as single works Memory, Portrait of Sculptor, and Early Spring. Often distinguished by competition juries, these photographs reflected the creative pursuits in the Soviet photography of the 1970s.

Like most young photographers of his time, Andrei Baskakov was interested both in art and documentary photography. He shoots landscapes of the Moscow Region and portraits, in which he constantly searches for bold compositional solutions and tries various artistic devices. In genre photography, he experiments actively, capturing ‘real life’ with precise and brutal honesty. One of the best examples of the documentary approach in Baskakov’s work is a series devoted to an animal market in Odessa (1976), the aesthetics whereof is still relevant today.

In the 1980s, due to involvement with the activities of amateur clubs, Andrei Baskakov travels a lot across the country, adding new photographs to his personal archive taken in Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Middle Asia, the Krasnodar Krai, Kaliningrad Region, Far East, Caucasus, and Russian North.

Some of these photographs he would later juxtapose with documentary photographs taken in Europe to create diptychs reflecting his impressions of trips to the West in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

The exhibition of works by Andrei Baskakov at ROSPHOTO encompasses a span of twenty years, presenting a retrospective view of the little-known oeuvre of Andrei Baskakov, the first Chairman of the Union Art Photographers.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Выставка Андрей Баскаков. Фотографии 1970-х — 1990-х годов

27 мая, Воскресенье
0

Государственный музейно-выставочный центр РОСФОТО представляет выставку «Андрей Баскаков. Фотографии 1970-х – 1990-х годов», которая расположена в Парадном корпусе, на 3 этаже

В истории российской фотографии имя Андрея Ивановича Баскакова прежде всего связано с успешной и разнообразной организаторской, кураторской, преподавательской и издательской деятельностью.  

С конца 1970-х годов Андрей Баскаков, войдя в состав правления всероссийского фотоклуба «Кадр», занимался координацией деятельности сельских и городских фотолюбителей при Центральном доме народного творчества Министерства культуры РСФСР и преподавал на кафедре кинофотомастерства Московского государственного института культуры. В 1986 году назначен заведующим отдела фотоискусства государственного дома народного творчества Минкультуры РСФСР. В 1989–1990 годах руководил инициативной группой по созданию Союза фотохудожников РСФСР, а затем России, и на первом съезде Союза был избран его председателем.  На этом посту он оставался до 2014 года. Заслуги в развитии и популяризации российской фотографии были отмечены в 1996 году присвоением звания «Заслуженный работник культуры РФ».

Организаторская работа на долгое время заслонила от широкого зрителя творческие работы Андрея Баскакова. Только после смерти Баскакова в 2014 году были предприняты первые попытки осмысления его наследия. Настоящая выставка представляет петербургскому зрителю 88 лучших авторских работ, выполненных в 1970-х — 1990-х годах.

Творческий путь Андрея Баскакова начинается в первой половине 1970-х годов, и уже в 1974 году на международной выставке в Киеве «Смена — ORWO-74» cерия «Хатынь» и снимок «Печальная» удостаиваются дипломов. На протяжении десятилетия Баскаков оттачивает профессиональное мастерство и активно формирует творческую коллекцию, регулярно демонстрируя ее на союзных, российских и международных выставках и конкурсах. В это время созданы серии «Русское поле», «Лето — пора сенокосная» и отдельные работы: «Память», «Портрет скульптора», «Начало весны». Многократно отмеченные жюри, эти работы отражали творческие поиски в советской художественной фотографии 1970-х годов.

Как большинство молодых фотографов этого периода, Андрей Баскаков параллельно интересуется художественной и репортажной фотографией. Он снимает пейзажи Подмосковья и портреты, в которых ищет яркие композиционные решения и пробует разнообразные художественные приемы. В жанровой фотографии он активно экспериментирует, документально и честно запечатлевая настоящую жизнь без вымыслов и прикрас. Хороший пример репортажного подхода в творчестве Баскакова представляет серия, посвященная одесскому птичьему рынку (1976), эстетика которой и сейчас остается современной.

В 1980-х годах благодаря работе с любительскими объединениями России Андрей Баскаков много путешествует по стране, не прекращая фотографировать. Снимки, сделанные в Литве, Латвии, Эстонии, Средней Азии, Краснодарском крае, Калининградской области, Приморском крае, на Кавказе, Русском Севере, постоянно пополняют творческий архив фотографа.

 Часть этих фотографий он позднее сопоставит в парных авторских коллажах со снимками зарубежной действительности, сделанными в конце 1980-х — начале 1990-х годов в поездках по странам Европы.

Выставка Андрея Баскакова в РОСФОТО охватывает двадцать лет и представляет ретроспективный взгляд на малоизвестную творческую часть жизни Андрея Баскакова — первого председателя Союза фотохудожников. 

10 апреля — 27 мая 2018 года
  • Адрес: Санкт-Петербург, Большая Морская улица, 35
  • Телефон: +7 (812) 314-12-14
  • Факс: +7 (812) 314-61-84
  • Сайт: http://www.rosphoto.org/
  • Email: office@rosphoto.org
Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще

Похожие события