18 June, Monday
0

Book as a cultural phenomenon in sculpture

The exhibition project “Sculptor’s Book” is devoted to a medium of artistic expression widely spread and developed in the 20th and 21st centuries, artist’s book, and particularly those of sculptors.

The exhibition investigates the ways sculptors tackle book as a cultural phenomenon. Contemporary sculptors do this in a variety of ways: by producing unique or limited edition art objects within their publishing practice, by finding inspiration in literary works, including the Russian avant-garde, by creating ‘sculptural illustrations’ to the most famous books, and so on.

The image of a book is one of the most topical and productive subjects for artists to reflect on. A book as a plastic object expresses both imaginal and substantial diversity of the world, our private memory and common historical past. Artists and sculptors create their works in various media, including paper, wood, ceramics, porcelain, bronze, metal, and mixed media. The viewers will see not only traditional sculpture, but also installations and objects. The exhibition includes 60 works by 40 artists: V. Tsivin, M. Kopylkov, A. Krasulin, V. Remishevsky, V. Lukin, B. Vorobyov, A. Kaplan, V. Soskiev, V. Petrovichev, and others.

The exhibition will also feature two projects for a monument to Joseph Brodsky by V. Tsivin. Both of them are connected to the images of Brodsky’s poetry rather than his personality, which is quite unusual for monumental sculpture but nevertheless important for the cultural landscape of Saint Petersburg.

2

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

20 апреля, Пятница
открыто:
с 12 апреля 2018
по 18 июня 2018
полная афиша
0

Изображение книги в скульптуре

Выставочный проект «Книга скульптора» посвящен одному из аспектов обширного и развитого в XX–XXI веках художественного направления книги художника — опытам скульпторов, отражающим интерес к культурному феномену книги.

Современные скульпторы часто обращаются в своем творчестве к образу книги. Это и малотиражные или уникальные арт-объекты в рамках издательской практики, и произведения, вдохновленные литературными текстами, в том числе и русским авангардом, и «скульптурные иллюстрации» — работы, исполненные в традиционной фигуративной пластике на сюжеты известных произведений литературы — и многое другое.

Образ книги — одна из самых актуальных и продуктивных художественных рефлексий современности. Книга, как пластический объект, выражает образное и содержательное многообразие мира, нашу личную память и общее историческое прошлое. Художники и скульпторы создают свои произведения из самых разных материалов: традиционной для книги бумаги, а так же дерева, керамики, фарфора, бронзы, металла, композитных материалов. На выставке перед зрителем предстанет не только скульптура в ее традиционном понимании, но также инсталляции и объекты. В выставку вошли 60 произведений 40 авторов: В. Цивина, М. Копылкова, А. Красулина, В. Ремишевского, В. Лукина, Б. Воробьева, А. Каплана, В. Соскиева, В. Петровичева и др.

На выставке будут показаны два проекта памятника И. Бродскому работы В. Цивина. Оба проекта напрямую связаны не с образом нобелевского лауреата, а с образами его поэзии, что очень необычно для монументальной скульптуры, но важно для петербургского духовного ландшафта.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще