Edward Bekkerman

12 February, Monday
0

The unseen universe full of spirits and dreams

Edward Bekkerman was born in Sochi in 1958. He was originally trained as a dancer at the Bolshoi theater school, and, after his parents emigrated to America in 1974, at George Balanchine’s American School of Ballet. Later he studied at the New York Art Student League.

From the 1990s on, Bekkerman works as an artist. He focuses on spirits, dreams, and on the unseen universe all around us. This is a place populated by ephemeral angels and guardians; its gardens planted with spectral flowers that could have sprung up on Mars. This soil, symbolistic in its essence, nourishes Bekkerman’s form, which clearly demonstrates his interest in the European painting traditions of the postwar decades, the era of late modernism—the aggressive imagery of Art Brut, primarily Jean Dubuffet.

Bekkerman’s flowers are spellbinding, drawing the viewer “into themselves” in almost the literal sense of the word. These images combine optical, metaphorical, and psychoenergetic aspects. Bekkerman’s angels are the result of the artist’s attempt to find his own place within the diverse practice of representation of these heavenly creatures in modern art. They represent some very simple, traditional things, behind which, however, there are some very personal life experiences. Gauzy but tough, these beings are nothing like Raphael’s dimpled cherubs; rather, they are rendered in the art brut style merging the material and coloristic, and the ethereal and spiritual.

Edward Bekkerman’s work can be found in the permanent collection of the State Russian Museum, St. Petersburg; Museum of Miniature Art in Amsterdam, Moscow MOMA, and in many prominent private and corporate collections worldwide.

Ticket cost 
300 roubles – full ticket
150 roubles – discount ticket (schoolchildren, students and persons of retirement age)

4

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Выставка «Эдвард Беккерман»

12 февраля, Понедельник
0

Невидимая взору вселенная грез и сновидений

Эдвард Беккерман родился в городе Сочи в 1958 году. Он обучался искусству танца в школе Большого театра, а затем, когда в 1974 году его родители эмигрировали в Соединенные Штаты, поступил в Американскую школу балета Джорджа Баланчина. Позже учился в Лиге студентов-художников Нью-Йорка.

С 1990-х годов Беккерман работает как художник. Его занимает невидимая взору вселенная, дающая о себе знать в грезах и сновидениях. Ее населяют эфирные ангелы-хранители, в ее садах расцветают инопланетные, фантастические цветы. На этой символистской, по существу, почве, вырастает беккермановская форма, в которой явно прослеживается увлечение художника европейской живописной традицией послевоенных десятилетий, эпохой позднего модернизма — агрессивной образностью art brut и прежде всего Жана Дюбюффе.

 Цветы Беккермана завораживают, «затягивают» зрителя внутрь себя. В этих изображениях сочетаются три аспекта: оптический, метафорический и психоэнергетический. «Ангелы» Беккермана — это попытка художника найти свое место в многообразнейшей практике репрезентации вестников в модернистском искусстве. Это простые, традиционные вещи, за которыми, однако, стоит личное переживание. Плотные, и в то же время словно светящиеся изнутри, они совсем не похожи на миловидных херувимчиков Рафаэля, напоминая, скорее, «грубый стиль», в котором сплавлено материально-колористическое и бесплотно-спиритуальное.

Работы Эдварда Беккермана можно найти в постоянной коллекции Государственного Русского музея, Санкт-Петербург; в Музее миниатюрного искусства в Амстердаме, Московского музея современного искусства и во многих известных частных и корпоративных коллекциях по всему миру.

Стоимость билетов:

300 рублей – полный билет
150 рублей – льготный билет (школьники, студенты и пенсионеры)

Для граждан РФ:

200 рублей.– полный билет
100 рублей – льготный билет (школьники, студенты и пенсионеры)

 

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще

Похожие события