The Swan Lake ballet (Opera and Ballet Theatre of the Rimsky-Korsakov St. Petersburg State Conservatory)

25 January, Wednesday, 19:30
0

The 3-act ballet, music by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, will be performed on the main stage of the Alexandrinsky Theatre

The Swan Lake is the first ballet in the works of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and the latest romantic ballet of the XIX century, that is based on the ancient legend of a beautiful princess, who was turned into a swan by an evil sorcerer. 
Today, when the "Swan Lake" has long become a symbol of all the ballet art, it's hard to believe that a lot of critics after the Moscow premiere at the Bolshoi Theatre (February 20, 1877) declared that the ballet was unsustainable. They criticized not only unfortunate choreographic solution (the first stage director was the ballet master Julius Reisinger), but also criticized the «melodic poverty and excessive scholarism» of the magical music by Tchaikovsky! However, it did not prevent the capital's public to appreciate immediately the charm of an unusual ballet score. 
In January,1895 (after the composer's death) took place a triumphal St. Petersburg premiere of The Swan Lake, which was presented by outstanding masters of Russian ballet: Marius Petipa and Lev Ivanov. Since then, the Swan Lake has become the most famous ballet around the world, the main performance of the world theater. 
Celebrating his coming of age, a carefree Prince Siegfried has fun among his friends, but he is carried away by a flock of swans flown over the park. Lost in the woods, the Prince appears on the shores of a magic lake and sees how the white swans are turning into young ladies. The most beautiful of them is Odette, a queen of the bewitched flock. Captivated by her beauty and impressed by the story about intrigues of the evil magician von Rothbart, Siegfried swears eternal love to Odette. Realizing that this love can deprive him of of power over Odette, von Rothbart decided to deceive Siegfried by appearing at the ball in the castle of Prince, together with his daughter Odile, who took the appearance of Odette. Bewitched by evil spell, Siegfried calls her his bride, breaking the oath of allegiance, that was given to Odette. After realizing that he had made a fatal mistake, he runs towards the lake and asks Odette for forgiveness. He throw himself into an unequal battle with von Rothbart, and then he emerges a winner. The spell is destroyed, a true love turns out to be stronger than devil's spell. 

Running time — 2 hours 25 minutes
Ticket cost — 900-10000 roubles

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Балет «Лебединое озеро» (Театр оперы и балета Санкт-Петербургской консерватории)

25 января, Среда, 19:30
0

Балет Петра Ильича Чайковского в 3-х действиях на основной сцене Александринского театра

«Лебединое озеро» — первый балет в творчестве Петра Ильича Чайковского и последний романтический балет XIX века, основанный на старинной легенде о прекрасной принцессе, превращённой злым волшебником в лебедя. 
Сегодня, когда «Лебединое озеро» давно стало символом всего балетного искусства, трудно поверить, что многие критики после московской премьеры в Большом театре (20 февраля 1877 года) объявили балет нежизнеспособным. Они критиковали не только неудачное хореографическое решение (первым постановщиком был балетмейстер Юлиус Рейзингер), но и упрекали в «мелодической бедности и излишней учёности» волшебную музыку Чайковского! Правда, это не помешало столичной публике сразу высоко оценить прелесть необычной балетной партитуры. 
В январе 1895 года (уже после смерти композитора) состоялась триумфальная петербургская премьера «Лебединого озера», которую представили выдающиеся мастера русского классического балета Мариус Петипа и Лев Иванов. С тех пор «Лебединое озеро» стало самым известным балетом мира, главным спектаклем мировых театров. 

Празднуя свое совершеннолетие, беспечный принц Зигфрид веселится среди друзей, однако его увлекает за собой пролетевшая над парком стая лебедей. Заблудившись в лесу, принц оказывается на берегу волшебного озера и видит, как белоснежные лебеди превращаются в девушек. Самая прекрасная из них — Одетта, королева заколдованной стаи. Покорённый её красотой и потрясённый рассказом о кознях злого волшебника Ротбарта, Зигфрид клянётся Одетте в вечной любви. Понимая, что эта любовь может лишить его власти над Одеттой, Ротбарт решает обмануть Зигфрида, появившись на балу в замке принца вместе со своей дочерью Одиллией, принявшей облик Одетты. Околдованный злыми чарами Зигфрид называет её своей невестой, нарушая клятву верности, данную Одетте. Поняв, что совершил роковую ошибку, он бежит к озеру и молит Одетту о прощении. Вступив в неравную схватку с Ротбартом, он выходит из неё победителем. Заклятье разрушено, настоящая любовь оказывается сильнее дьявольских чар. 

Продолжительность — 2 часа 25 минут
Стоимость билетов — 900-10000 рублей

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще

Похожие события