Hansel und Gretel. Оpera in three acts (semi-staged performance)

15 January, Sunday, 12:00
0

PERFORMERS

Conductor: Christian Knapp

Vanya: Evelina Agabalaeva 
Masha: Margarita Ivanova 
The Father: Dmitry Fyodorov 
The Mother: Olga Bobrovskaya 
The Witch: Regina Rustamova 
The Sandman: Emilia Ablaeva 
The Good Fairy: Yekaterina Latysheva

Chorus of Angels – ensemble of soloists of the Mariinsky Academy of Young Opera Singers

The enchanting musical fairy-tale by Engelbert Humperdinck (1854 – 1921) is well known throughout Europe – it is a standard repertoire piece at Christmas-time. The idea of making a children’s production to be performed at home based on the horror fairy-tale by the Brothers Grimm belonged to the composer’s sister Adelheid Wette who also wrote the libretto. Having evolved into a full-scale adult romantic opera, Humperdinck’s spicy fairy-tale was popular not just in Germany (where it was premiered in 1893 in Weimar under the baton of Richard Strauss) but in Russia too. 
In Russia Hänsel und Gretel was first staged in St Petersburg at the Panayev Theatre (1896) and later in Moscow, at the Bolshoi Theatre (under the title of The Gingerbread House) as well as at the Mamontov Opera. At the Mariinsky Theatre Hänsel und Gretel was first performed on 24 October 1897. Then the opera was performed in Russian albeit using the original title, the translation having been produced by Yekaterina Kletnova. 
“The music of this opera is an unusual combination of colours – music intended for children together with a very late layering representing the quintessence of the Wagnerian style, assimilated by all German composers of the age”, noted the critic Mikhail Ivanov of The New Age. “As a brilliant theoretician and Wagnerian, Humperdinck created a complex polyphonic fabric, in particular when indicating the stage positions. But the demands of the plot forced him to turn to children’s songs (even including the famous Ach, du lieber Augustin), waltzes and so on, which imbued his opus with the character of a short operetta. For children and admirers who do not make any particular demands, this lightness of Humperdinck’s music, despite the heavy artillery he has developed, will guarantee success.” 

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Гензель и Гретель. Опера в трех действиях (полусценическое исполнение)

15 января, Воскресенье, 12:00
0

Очаровательная музыкальная сказка Энгельберта Хумпердинка (1854 – 1921) хорошо известна в Европе – это одно из самых репертуарных сочинений в рождественские праздники. Идея сделать из детского ужастика братьев Гримм домашний спектакль принадлежала сестре композитора Адельхайд Ветте, которая и написала либретто. Разросшуюся до размеров взрослой романтической оперы пряничную сказку Хумпердинка горячо приняли не только в Германии (премьерой 1893 года в Веймаре дирижировал Рихард Штраус), но и в России. 
На русской сцене «Гензель и Гретель» впервые была поставлена в Петербурге на сцене Панаевского театра (1896), чуть позже в Москве – на сцене Большого театра (под названием «Пряничный домик»), а затем в Мамонтовской опере. В Мариинском театре «Гензеля и Гретель» впервые показали 24 октября 1897 года. Оперу тогда исполняли на русском языке, но под оригинальным названием, перевод был сделан Екатериной Клетновой. 
«В музыке этой оперы замечается странное смешение красок – музыки, назначенной для детей, вместе с позднейшим наслоением, представляющим квинтэссенцию вагнеровской манеры, усвоенной теперь всеми немецкими композиторами, – отмечал критик Михаил Иванов из «Нового времени». – Как отличный теоретик и вагнерист, Хумпердинк создал сложную полифоническую ткань, в особенности при обрисовке сценических положений. Но требования сюжета заставили его взяться за детские песенки (включая даже знаменитого «Милого Августина»), за вальсы и т.п., что придало его произведению характер оперетки. У детей и любителей, не предъявляющих особых требований, эта легкость музыки Хумпердинка, несмотря на тяжесть развернутой им артиллерии, должна обеспечить успех». 

 

Продолжительность спектакля 2 часа 15 минут 
Спектакль идет с одним антрактом. Возрастная категория 6+

 

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще