Eugene Onegin opera

23 March, Thursday, 19:00
0

Lyric opera in three acts, seven scenes. Performed in Russian (the performance will have synchronised English supertitles)

The garden on the Larins’ estate. In the distance, Tatiana and Olga can be heard singing. Listening to them, Mrs Larina and Filippievna the nanny recall their own younger days. Visitors appear unexpectedly: Vladimir Lensky, the Larins’ neighbour and Olga’s fiancé, has brought with him his friend Onegin - a young man recently come down to the country from the capital. While Lensky declares his love to Olga, the new visitor chats with Tatiana. The nanny notes how excited Tatiana is at the meeting.

Tatiana’s bedroom. Tatiana cannot sleep. Filippievna tries to dispel her anxiety with the tale of her own maidenly status. Once alone, Tatiana writes a letter to Onegin. With the arrival of dawn, she asks the nanny to deliver the letter.

The Larins’ garden. Tatiana anxiously awaits a reply. Eugene appears - he is touched by her declaration but is unable to return her love.

The Larins’ house. A ball in honour of Tatiana’s name day. Lensky has convinced his friend to visit the Larins, but the party and the guests serve to irritate Onegin. In revenge, he begins to play court to Olga. The readiness with which the young woman accepts his attentions drives Lensky to despair. He starts a quarrel with Onegin and challenges him to a duel.

An abandoned mill. Lensky and his second await the arrival of Onegin. Lensky mournfully and nostalgically contemplates the former “golden days” of his youth. At last the rival comes. The former friends are willing to forget any offence caused, but ideals of honour gain the upper hand. A shot rings out and Lensky drops down dead.

A room in a luxurious mansion in St Petersburg. Following a lengthy absence, Onegin returns to live in the capital. He finds Tatiana a married woman, now at the centre of attention having taken her place in high society. Her husband Prince Gremin speaks to Onegin of his happiness. The transformation of the young woman he knew awakens feelings of love in Onegin’s heart.

The drawing-room in Gremin’s house. Weeping, Tatiana reads Onegin’s letter. Suddenly he himself appears. With passionate prayer, Onegin succeeds in extracting a confession that she still loves him. But Tatiana’s decision is resolute: she will remain faithful to her husband.

 

Running time: 3 hours 50 minutes. The performance has two intervals.
Tickets cost from 1800 to 4000 roubles.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Опера «Евгений Онегин»

23 марта, Четверг, 19:00
0

Лирические сцены в трех действиях, семи картинах. Спектакль сопровождается синхронными титрами на английском языке

Сад в усадьбе Лариных. Издали доносится пение Татьяны и Ольги. Ларина и няня Филиппьевна, слушая их, вспоминают свою молодость. Неожиданно появляются гости: Ленский, сосед Лариных и жених Ольги, привозит своего друга Онегина - молодого человека, недавно приехавшего из столицы. Пока Ленский объясняется с Ольгой, новый знакомый беседует с Татьяной. Няня замечает, как она взволнована встречей.

Комната Татьяны. Татьяна не может заснуть. Филиппьевна старается унять ее волнение рассказом о своей девичьей доле. Оставшись одна, Татьяна пишет письмо Онегину. С рассветом она просит няню передать его.

Сад Лариных. Татьяна в тревоге ждет ответа. Появляется Евгений: он тронут признанием, но не может ответить взаимностью.

Дом Лариных. Бал в честь именин Татьяны. Ленский уговорил друга приехать к Лариным, однако праздник и гости вызывают у Онегина раздражение. В отместку он начинает ухаживать за Ольгой. Готовность, с которой девушка принимает знаки внимания, повергает Ленского в отчаяние. Он затевает ссору с Евгением и вызывает того на дуэль.

Заброшенная мельница. Ленский с секундантом Зарецким ждут Онегина. Владимир с болью и тоской думает об ушедших «златых днях» своей юности. Наконец появляется соперник. Бывшие друзья готовы забыть обиды, но соображения чести берут верх. Раздается выстрел - Ленский убит.

Зал богатого дома в Петербурге. После долгого отсутствия Онегин возвращается к столичной жизни и встречает Татьяну замужней дамой. Теперь она в центре внимания светского общества. Муж Татьяны, князь Гремин, рассказывает Евгению о своем счастье. Преображение давней знакомой воспламеняет в Онегине чувства.

Гостиная в доме Гремина. Татьяна в слезах читает письмо Онегина. Неожиданно он является сам и страстной мольбой вырывает ответное признание. Но решение Татьяны бесповоротно: она останется верна мужу.

 

Продолжительность спектакля 3 часа 50 минут. Спектакль идет с двумя антрактами.
Стоимость билетов от 1800 до 4000 руб.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще