BY ME. ROBERT WHITMAN Photoexhibition

31 July, Sunday
0

At the photo exhibition rare and unexpected photographs of the famous ballet dancer Mikhail Baryshnikov will be represented for the first time

A few bright series, filmed by American photographer Robert Whitman for the last twenty years, show a vivid image of the artist from a surprisingly unusual quarter. The exhibition is a part of the official cultural program of St. Petersburg International Economic Forum.

The legendary ballet dancer, choreographer, actor, photographer, Oscar nominee, collector of Russian art, Mikhail Baryshnikov pointedly has not been coming to Russia for more than 30 years, that definitely frustrates his fans. Through the pictures of Whitman now we all have the opportunity to come close to the idol of millions.

Over the years, American photographer Robert Whitman shot Baryshnikov for a number of American media and "for himself". Long-term fellowship and friendship resulted in the series of photos, which will be first presented to the public at the exhibition.

Baryshnikov is shown at rehearsals and on vacation, very focused at work and fooling around in the swimming pool - on the numerous photographs there is a multi-faceted personality of our talented contemporary revealed. Particular attention should be given to a series of documentary photos from the rehearsals of the short performance Occasion Piece, delivered by a great choreographer Merce Cunningham in 1999. In another fresh and expressive fashion story made for the American AS IF Magazine in the Baryshnikov Arts Center in New York in 2015, we see the incredible energy that shows no longer a young dancer. Each shot is a powerful personality, power of movement, sensuality. He almost never poses, and if he does, then with great self-irony.

Robert Whitman is considered as one of the best visual chroniclers of New York. He regularly takes pictures for Departures, New York, Cosmopolitan, Shape, Glamour, GQ, Men's Health, Self and etc. At different times he shot for the Canadian Club of advertising campaigns, Dewar's, Parliament, Marlboro, Colgate, Coca-Cola and many others. In 2014 KGallery with great success hold the first Russian exhibition of Robert Whitman AT WORK AND AT PLAY, where among others were presented debut photos of recently deceased musician Prince. Within two weeks about three thousand people visited the exhibition.

In 2016 KGallery celebrates 10th anniversary and this project is included in a series of exhibitions dedicated to the anniversary of the gallery. The exhibition BARYSHNIKOV BY ME. ROBERT WHITMAN promises to be the one of the major cultural events not only in St. Petersburg, but also at the international art scene.

4

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

Фотовыставка «BARYSHNIKOV BY ME. ROBERT WHITMAN»

31 июля, Воскресенье
0

На выставке впервые будут представлены редкие и неожиданные фотографии знаменитого артиста балета Михаила Барышникова

В нескольких ярких сериях, снятых американским фотографом Робертом Уитменом в течение двадцати лет, яркий образ артиста раскрывается с совершенно неожиданной стороны. Выставка входит в официальную культурную программу Петербургского Международного экономического форума.

Легендарный артист балета, балетмейстер, актёр, фотограф, номинант премии Оскар, коллекционер русского искусства, Михаил Барышников уже более 30 лет демонстративно не приезжает в Россию, чем безусловно расстраивает своих поклонников. Благодаря снимкам Уитмена теперь мы все имеем возможность максимально приблизится к кумиру миллионов.

На протяжении этих лет американский фотограф Роберт Уитмен снимал Барышникова для множества американских изданий и «для себя». Многолетнее общение и дружба вылились в серии фотографий, которые впервые будут представлены широкой публике.

Барышников на репетициях и на отдыхе, предельно сосредоточенный на работе и дурачащийся в бассейне – на многочисленных снимках раскрывается многогранная личность талантливейшего из наших современников.Особенного внимания заслуживает документальная серия фотографий с репетиций короткого спектакля Occasion Piece, поставленного великим хореографом Мерсом Каннингемом в 1999 году. В другой свежей и экспрессивной fashion story, сделанной в 2015 году для американского журнала AS IF Magazine в нью-йоркском Центре искусств Барышникова, мы видим невероятную энергию, которую демонстрирует уже немолодой танцовщик. В каждом кадре – мощная личность, сила движения, чувственность. Он практически нигде не позирует, а если и делает это, то с великолепной самоиронией.

Роберт Уитмен по праву считается одним из лучших визуальных летописцев Нью- Йорка. Он регулярно фотографировует для Departures, New York, Cosmopolitan, Shape, Glamour, GQ, Men’s Health, Self и т. д. В разное время выполнял съёмки для рекламных кампаний Canadian Club, Dewar’s, Parliament, Marlboro, Colgate, Coca-Cola и многих других. В 2014 году в KGallery с большим успехом прошла первая российская выставка Роберта Уитмена AT WORK AND AT PLAY, на которой в числе прочих были представлены дебютные фотографии недавно скончавшегося музыканта Принца. В течение двух недель выставку посетили около трёх тысяч человек.

В 2016 году KGallery отмечает 10-летие своей деятельности и этот проект включён в серию выставок, приуроченных к юбилею галереи. Выставка BARYSHNIKOV BY ME. ROBERT WHITMAN обещает стать одним из главных культурных событий не только в Санкт-Петербурге, но и на международном уровне.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще

Похожие события