Overnight visit and excursion to the closed Peter and Paul Fortress and drawbridges boat tour

Unique tour:

  • night walking tour of the Peter and Paul Fortress
  •  boat trip from the Neva Gate of the fortress under drawbridges
  • you will see the breeding of 2 bridges
  • professional guide

This is an unparalleled naval-pedestrian excursion. Not only you’ll see the drawn bridges above Neva river but you’ll be able go on adventure into Peter and Paul fortress at night, when the gates are sealed and the entrance to the perimeter is forbidden. This program is unmatched by our competitors – you’ll visit the heart of Saint Petersburg when everything around is deserted, quite, and that’s when the legends come to live.

“Overnight visit to the fortress” is a 2-hour journey for children and adults, that will open the doors into the unforgettable world of nocturnal Saint Petersburg.

Unique overnight excursion into Peter and Paul fortress

In the beginning our guide will meet you at Kronverkskiy embankment besides St. John’s bridge that will lead you to the sleeping fortress. Those ancient stones remember Peter the Great, Tsarevich Alexei, Princess Tarakanova, The Decemberists, Chernyshevskiy and Dostoevskiy…They’ll reveal their mysteries at night.

You’ll see the famous ravelins, bulwarks and Peter and Paul cathedral, where all the Russian emperors are buried. Make a wish upon the most unconventional monument of Peter the Great made by Mikhail Shemyakin. The sculptor used Peter’s death-mask, looking upon it it doesn’t take much effort to imagine what he was like. Especially at night…

The pedestrian excursion lasts 30 minutes and then…

The journey across the water will begin in an unusual location

Having visited the fortress you will continue to get acquainted with the city overnight from the deck of our comfortable cruise ship that will embark from the main quay of Peter and Paul fortress next to the Neva gates. No other cruise ships make their stops here, we are the one ones. The quay is overlooking the nightly aquatorium of Neva river, you’ll be able to take unique photos from this perspective.

The Neva gates are a unique place. More than a 100 years ago the prisoners of the fortress were taken from there to the place of their execution. If you can hear – you’ll hear history coming to life.

Grand show – the drawn bridges

Our cruise ship will sail from the quay under the drawn bridges of Grand Neva river and will reach the destination through Malaya Neva river. You will see Palace, trinity and Annunciation bridges drawn, the splendor on the embankments at night: Winter palace, Old Saint Petersburg Stock Exchange and Rostral Columns, Kunstkamera, Twelve Collegia, Arts Academy, Admiralty building, Bronze Horseman, Aurora cruiser and plenty of other spectacular sights.

Pedestrian and naval journeys are accompanied with a fascinating excursion. Our professional guide will get you acquainted with Saint Petersburg’s history and legends.

For your convenience, the cruise ship will make two stops at the two banks of Neva river in the end of our journey: “Lions’ quay”, Admiralty embankment 2 and at the public quay at Kronverskiy embankment. You will be able to use either night buses or taxi.

Join us on the unforgettable adventure – spectacular drawn bridges and a visit to the oldest part of Saint Petersburg under the cover of night.

 

  

  • temples and cathedrals 1 ,
  • museums 3 ,
  • palaces 1 ,
  • points of interest 4 ,
  • parks 1 ,
  • berths 3 ,
  • monuments 1
The Central Naval Museum, Cruiser "Aurora"

The Central Naval Museum, Cruiser "Aurora"

St. Petersburg, Petrogradskaya embankment

21.09.2014 the ship was transferred to the Kronstadt shipyard`s dockage facility till 2016

The ship is a 1900 Russian protected cruiser, currently preserved as a museum ship. In the same time Aurora stands today as the oldest commissioned ship of the Russian Navy. The Cruiser  Aurora is a legendary 1st rank Cruiser. The Aurora's keel was laid down at the "New Admiralty" shipyard in St.Petersburg on 23 May 1897. The cruiser was launched on 11 May 1900 and joined the Navy of Russia in July1903.
During the Russian-Japanese War the cruiser, being included in the second Pacific Ocean squadron, sailed to the Far East (October 1904 - May 1905). The cruiser Aurora had her baptism of fire in the Tsushima battle on 14-15 May 1905. When she returned to the Baltic sea, the Aurora for a long time was used as a ship for training naval cadets of the Naval College. In 1917 the Aurora's crew took an active part in the February and October revolutionary activities and the Civil War repulsing international intervention. On 25 October 1917 a blank shot from her forecastle gun signaled the start of the assault on the Winter Palace, which was to be the beginning of the October Revolution. For the whole period of the Leningrad siege from 1941 to 1944 the Aurora was moored at a pier in the Oranienbaum port (the town of Lomonosov) and was constantly shelled and bombed. The hull was holed, got many leakages and sank aground, but the small crew courageously fought for the life of their ship. In July 1944 the ship was raised and taken into a dock for repair.
In 1948 the cruiser Aurora was moored at the Petrogradskaya embankment of Leningrad and till 1956 was used as a naval training ship by the Leningrad Nakhimov College. In 1956 the cruiser Aurora was made a museum (a branch of the Central Naval Museum). 
The Cruiser Aurora is often mentioned in various art works - songs, poems and movies. So in 1945 was made a film about the legendary cruiser Varyag. The role of the Variag fell to Aurora's lot. 
1
Saint Isaac's Cathedral

Saint Isaac's Cathedral

Saint Petersburg, Isaakiyevskaya square, 4

The largest Russian Orthodox cathedral in the city

St. Isaac's Cathedral - is a unique monument of domestic architecture and is one of the best cathedrals of Europe. It is an outstanding model of the Russian cult art. Decorating of a cathedral includes the largest collection of the Russian monumental painting of the middle of the XIX century, numbering more than 150 works. Works of well-known artists Vasily Shebuyev, Karl Bryullov, Fyodor Bruni are among them. More than 300 statues, sculptural groups and reliefs are created by Ivan Vitali. More than 60 mosaic works of Russian masters play an important role in art and decorative furniture. One of the largest in Russia stained-glass windows of 28,5 sq.m. represents a real interest.

St. Isaac's Cathedral's height is 101,5 m. The cathedral is the fourth in the world by its size. It concedes only to St. Peter's Cathedral in Rome, St. Paul's Cathedral in London and Saint Maria's cathedral in Florence. It can contain to 12 000 having the area of 4000 square meter.

48 granite pillars of Finnish granite were mined from Pyterlahti quarry.

2
St.Petersburg Academy of Science

St.Petersburg Academy of Science

St. Petersburg, Universitetskaya nab., 5
None
5
Russian Academy of Arts

Russian Academy of Arts

St. Petersburg, Universitetskaya nab., 17

Museum of the Russian Academy of Arts is a unique art collection not only in Russia, but throughout the world

The Russian Academy of Arts in Saint Petersburg, informally known as the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts, was founded in 1757 by Ivan Shuvalov under the name Academy of the Three Noblest Arts. Catherine the Great renamed it the Imperial Academy of Arts and commissioned a new building, completed 25 years later in 1789 by the Neva River. The academy promoted the neoclassical style and technique, and sent its promising students to European capitals for further study. Training at the academy was virtually required for artists to make successful careers.

Formally abolished in 1918 after the Russian Revolution, the academy was renamed several times. It introduced free tuition; students from across the country competed fiercely for its few places annually. In 1947 the national institution was moved to Moscow, and much of its art collection was moved to the Hermitage. The building in Leningrad was devoted to the Ilya Repin Leningrad Institute for Painting, Sculpture and Architecture, named in honor of one of Russia's foremost realist artists. Since 1991 it has been called the St. Petersburg Institute for Painting, Sculpture and Architecture.

6
Old Saint Petersburg Stock Exchange

Old Saint Petersburg Stock Exchange

The Spit of Vasilyevsky Island

The main building in the architectural complex of The Spit of Vasilyevsky Island

The building, which is situated at Birzhevaya Ploschad 4, is a significant example of the Greek Revival architecture. Designed by French architect Thomas de Thomon and inspired by the Greek Temple of Hera at Paestum, the stock exchange was constructed between 1805 and 1810. It was built for the St. Petersburg Stock Exchange, but was subsequently used for a different purpose. As of 2011 the building houses the exposition of the Central Naval Museum.

The Old Stock Exchange is sited to fill the majestic sweep of the Spit (in Russian Strelka) of Vasilievsky Island, just opposite the Winter Palace. Thomon's design called for a peristyle of forty four Doric columns resting upon a massive stylobate of red granite and supporting an entablature of triglyphs and slotted metopes. A monumental sculptural group similar in form to aquadriga featuring Neptune, and symbolizing maritime commerce, is mounted above the portico. Both inside and outside the Bourse, a motif of the semicircle is recurrent. The interior features a large colonnaded trading hall, now divided into eight exhibition halls. The central rooms are illuminated by an oblong skylight. The surrounding ceiling features double-sunk coffers.

7
Berth «Bronze Horseman»

Berth «Bronze Horseman»

St. Petersburg, Admiralteyskaya embankment

Situated near cultural and leisure sights of St.Petersburg such as Palace square, Building of the Main Admiralty, Bronze Horseman etc.

None
8
Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (the Kunstkamera) RAS

Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography (the Kunstkamera) RAS

Saint Petersburg, Universitetskaya naberezhnaya, 3

One of the largest ethnographic museums in the world is the successor of the Kunstkamera, museum established by Peter The Great in 1714.

Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography is one of the largest and oldest ethnographic museums in the world. It is the successor to the first Russian state public museum, the famous Kunstkamera, established by Peter The Great in 1714.

The Kunstkamera was dedicated to collecting and researching natural and human curiosities and rarities. Today, Peter the Great Museum of Anthropology and Ethnography RAS is not only an academic museum, but also one of the leading research centers of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Here the traditions of the great Russian ethnographers and anthropologists of the XVIII - XX centuries continue. Priceless ethnographic, anthropological and archaeological collections stored in the Museum are considered to be the most complete and interesting in the world. There are over 1.2 million exhibits, reflecting the diversity of cultures of the peoples of the Old and New Worlds, which are part of the cultural heritage of all mankind.

9
The Rostral Columns

The Rostral Columns

St. Petersburg, Vasilievsky Ostrov, Birzhevaya Ploschad

In the 18th century the columns fulfiled the role of lighthouses

The first two rostrum columns, Chesmenskaya and Moreiskaya, were built in the 1770s at Tsarskoe Selo (near Pushkin) in memory of the victories of the Russian fleet (see Russian Naval Memorials). In St. Petersburg there are two rostral columns erected from granite and pudost stone in 1805-10 (architect Jean-Francois Thomas de Thomon) on the spit of Vasilyevsky Island (see also Stock Market Square). From the very start they served as beacons for the trading port. Inside the rostral columns are spiral staircases, leading to the squares are chalice shaped lamps on tripods (since 1957 the gas beacons of the columns have been lit for celebrations). At the pedestal of the columns are sculptures (the craftsman S. Sukhanov, the sculptors J. Camberlain and J. Thibaud), they are traditionally considered allegories for the Volga and Dnepr rivers (the northern column), the Neva and Volkhov (the southern column). In 1999-2000, they were restored.

10
Senate and Synod building

Senate and Synod building

St. Petersburg, Senatskaya ploshad, 3

Historical building in the Empire style which originally was built to house the two main governance bodies of the Russian Empire - Directing Senate and the Holy Synod. It was built in 1829-1834 under the project of Carlo Rossi and A.E. Shtaubert.

The Senate and the Synod originally settled down in the building of Twelve boards. The fakhverkovy house of the lightest prince Menshikov stood the first construction on a place of present buildings of the Senate and the Synod. After its disgrace the house on Neva Embankment carried over the vice-chancellor A. I. Osterman, and in 1744 was granted by Elizabeth Petrovna to the chancellor A. P. Bestuzhevu-Ryumin for whom built construction in Baroque style. In 1763, after accession to the throne of Catherine II, Bestuzheva-Ryumin's house passed into treasury, and into this building reconstructed by the architect of A. F. by whist, the Senate moved. In the 1780-1790th years Bestuzheva-Ryumin's baroque house was again reconstructed, and his facades received the new architectural processing typical for the Russian classicism. The name of the author of the project of reorganization of the building remains to unknown. Judging by saved in a collection of the museum of Academy of Arts to the drawing of the western facade of the building, the project was developed by the architect I. E. Starov.

On a place of the present building of the Synod in the XVIII century there was a house купчихи Kusovnikova.

Senate and Synod are two separate buildings, united by a triumphal arch. Arch symbolized the unity of church and state, it is decorated with the sculptural group "Justice and Godliness." Bas-reliefs and high reliefs around the triumphal arch show the history of Russian legislation: bas-relief "Civil Law", busts of Peter I and Catherine II, bas-relief "The Law of the Lord", bas-relief "Natural Law."

The Russian State Historical Archive is located in these buildings from 1925 till 2006. The Russian Constitutional Court is housed in the former Senate building since May 2008, and the Presidential Library named by B.N. Yeltsin is placed in Synod building since 2009, in which the Patriarch private quarters and the head of state apartments are located. 

The Senate Square which is situated in front of the building of Senate and Synod changed its name for three times. The first name of the square was Senate Square but when The Bronze Horseman monument was established in the middle of the square in 1782 it was renamed and became Peter’s Square. In 1925 it was renamed Decembrists Square to commemorate the Decembrist Revolt, which took place there in 1825. The first name Senate Square was given back to the square in 2008.

For visiting The Presidential Library named by B. N. Yeltsin it is necessary to sign up at its official website.

11
 Winter Palace of Peter the Great, The State Hermitage Museum

Winter Palace of Peter the Great, The State Hermitage Museum

Saint Petersburg, Dvortsovaya naberezhnaya, 32

The Winter Palace of Peter the Great is a unique architectural monument of the first quarter of the 18th century

The Winter Palace of Peter the Great is a unique architectural monument of the first quarter of the 18th century. The official residence of Peter I was located on the territory now occupied by the Hermitage Theatre. In the part of the palace which has been preserved, there is a memorial exhibition dedicated to Peter the Great and his time. In his rooms - the study, the dining room and the turnery - decoration has been recreated using genuine items that belonged to the Emperor. So-called 'Wax effigy,' a posthumous sculptural portrait of Peter I, has been also put on display.

Ticket cost — 300 roubles (Winter Palace of Peter the Great only)

The Main Museum Complex, Winter Palace of Peter the Great and other branches — 600 roubles

12
Marble Palace

Marble Palace

St. Petersburg, Millionnaya ul., 5/1

The palace is a prime example of early classicism architecture

The palace was designed by architect Antonio Rinaldi, whose portrait can be found on a marble bas-relief installed on a sidewall of the main staircase at the palace’s entrance. The portrait’s existence resulted from the request by the original owner of the palace, Count Orlov, who wanted to express his admiration for the talent of the architect. In the middle of the XIX century, the palace was rebuilt according to the project of architect Alexander Bryullov.

The three-storey stone building stands out in the panoramic view of the Palace Embankment with its massiveness and magnificence. The strict beauty of its architectural style is emphasised by the diverse texture and colourfulness of natural stone used in the decoration of its façades and interiors. Pilasters and columns evenly alternate with windows, and thanks to the selection of different types of stone, the whole composition is filled with calm grace.

Different varieties of marble were used during the construction of the palace, mainly from domestic deposits discovered in the 1760s along the shores of Ladoga and Onega lakes. Pink Tivdian marble is used to decorate the clock tower, attic and pilasters, uniting the two upper floors of the building. The window frames are made of grey Ruskeala marble, and the decorative wreaths between the windows of the second and third floors are made of white Ural marble. The plinth part of the building, made of Vyborg pink rapakivi granite, has a beautiful rough texture thanks to special surface treatment.

In front of the eastern façade, there’s a monument to Alexander III by P. P. Trubetskoy, which was mounted on Vosstaniya Square in 1909-1937. To the east of the building there is a monument to A.V. Suvorov by M. I. Kozlovsky on Suvorovskaya Ploshchad'.

A new stage in the life of Marble Palace began in 1992, when it was transferred to the State Russian Museum. Since then, systematic examination and scientific restoration of the unique monument have been carried out.

13
Summer Garden

Summer Garden

Saint Petersburg, nab. Kutuzova, 2

The Summer Garden is one of the places where one can feel the atmosphere of Peter's times

The garden with a collection of sculptures and the Summer Palace that was the first Emperor's residence constitute a single museum complex. 

The Summer Garden is a pearl in the garden necklace of Petersburg. Peter I really liked this garden. It was laid out in 1704. Time has changed the garden a lot. However, its original planning still remains. 

Peter I wanted the garden of his residence to be as beautiful as the famous gardens of European monarchs. To decorate the Summer Garden he commissioned marble busts and statues from Italy. This purchase laid the foundation of the collection of sculpture of European level.

The fence on the Neva side of the Summer Garden is an architectural masterpiece of universal fame. The impressive monumentality merges miraculously with lightness, simplicity, and grace.

14

Useful information

Dates: 12 May - 15 September

Теl: +7 (812) 2400518

e-mail: info@boattour.ru

https://boattour.ru/ru/catalog/visit-v-nochnyu-krepost