Was opened in 1928 at the Leningrad circus
t is unique museum, the only one in Russia. It tells people the history of circus art.
It was opened in August of 1928 at the initiative of P. Y. Andreev. The museum’s holdings are based on collections of P. Y. Andreev, E. M. Kuznetsov, and E. P. Gershuni. Circus performers who donated the museum their family heirloom: photos, posters and costumes, played an important role in acquisition of the materials.
Nowadays, the museum’s holdings have more than 80 thousand of items, reflecting the development of Russian and foreign circus art. These are: graphic materials, unique books on circus in different languages (more than 5000 volumes), relics connected with the masters of circus art, costumes, property including pre-revolutionary items. The museum’s collection also has engravings (XVIII – XIX centuries), pictures, images, posters, sculptures and other. The collection of iconographic material numbers about 30 thousand items. In the handwritten section there are kept the scripts of programs, acts and attractions.
The museum’s materials are very attractive for workers of culture: producers, art critics – and are the source of books and researches for the history and theory of the circus art. The museum’s material is also very attractive for circus performers by the reason of working perspectives. Exhibitions in the exhibition hall of the museum are organized for visitors, but it is also possible to make an excursion by prior booking.
The museum holds an international correspondence and materials’ exchange with foreign circus performers and collectors.